We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly and fun hotel”
Review of Hotel Puku Vai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Puku Vai
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Really friendly and fun hotel”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August, and had a fantastic time. The staff were really welcoming and friendly, and rooms were a good size with sliding doors onto the pool area.
Being close to the airport (the fence is about 100 yards away!) is a bonus one one hand in you wont have a long transfer time, although it did seem to mean we were last to be picked up on most of our tours.
Although a bit further out of the centre than some places (20-30 mins walk), there are loads of taxis which can take you back for a fixed $2000 (about USD 4), so it was nice to wander in and then take a lift back when needed.
The pool was great, and I guess although it was winter when we went, it was a lot better weather than the UK, so we were delighted to basically have it to ourselves to relax after day trips.
Some reviews describe this as a B&B, but it is a proper hotel, although I am sure most people would want to eat in the centre if only in for a few days.
Breakfast was also better than most other places we stayed at during our time in Chile, with decent eggs cooked to order, and nice fresh juices. There was only about 5 other couples staying whilst we were there due to low season, so there was not too much elbowing each other for room as you sometimes get!
Overall we would happily stay here again if we are fortunate enough to visit this fantastic island again, and thank you for helping make it so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate your review!

Actually, thanks to our location, you might be the last ones who'll get to join a group and the first ones who'll return afterwards (if you did book Guided Tours since Private Tours have a fixed pick-up times and guide arrives with a private vehicle).

That means you'll just spend a bit less time in a bus and - while waiting your tour to arrive - you might relax using our Free Wi-Fi internet or plan the rest of your vacation.

Our reception can book you in for a horseback riding, Polynesian dance show, give advices regarding scuba diving etc. or simply recommend souvenir shops and restaurants - we never charge any commission fees so do not hesitate asking for help!

It's true that most people head out to Hanga Roa for sightseeing and Polynesian dance shows and, thus, our restaurant works on based on reservations (meaning we have certain limitations, depending the season).

However, like you noted, moving around in Hanga Roa is not a challenge at all and if you're not real hungry we'll prepare you a sandwich, salad or something similar even when the restaurant is not open. Naturally, we can also reserve you a table in a good restaurant or simply recommend some simple but delicious alternative that's close.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    100
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
144
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Like most of the hotels on this island this was more like a small B&B. The room was nice enough with double and single bed and a view of the pool. The gardens were lovely BUT the water was cold in the morning until after 8am. Breakfasts were ok with a buffet of one sort of fruit, toast, limited cakes and fruit juice freshly made that arrived at about 8.30. The hot element was a scrambled egg or olette that was so small that I ordered mine as well for my husband to have.Considering the price was $240 a night I would have expected more. They also charged $10 for an airport transfer which you could walk to as it was across the road. They did lend beach towels to take on trips and offered a packed lunch for about $25 which we declined.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about us!

We apologize since the water heater had a malfunction during your stay. Actually, it occurred a few times in the end of May even it was properly maintained. The maintenance was able to fix it and to avoid that to happen ever again, we did buy a whole heating unit so we might just completely replace it if it ever occurs again.

However, we'd like to straighten out that Hotel Puku Vai is a peaceful 3 star "boutique" style hotel and certainly far above the level of the any B&B of the island, especially when it comes to services and equipments of the rooms.

Please, note that one of the photos is not from our hotel (the concrete building is one of the constructions on the main road), our hotel is painted white and decorated with art of stone.

Since eggs and omelets are provided free based on request during breakfast, you might as well inform the staff that you're hungry or, alternatively, specify how much you wish to eat. Additionally, you might also ask for more if you're still feeling hungry after the first plate.

Airport Transfer is part of the Tour Program we provide on our websites. When requested separately, we'll inform the price of the local tour operators and charge according to it if you wish to have it.

Generally speaking, Airport Transfer might be very important to families, seniors, travelers with heavy luggage or people who have any restrictions to move around.

Naturally, Airport Transfer is also requested for pure convenience since it adds a nice touch when you're greeted with a collar of flowers and assisted safely to the hotel.

Additionally, Airport Transfer is a guaranteed service so you can relax even the flight is delayed: there will always be a person waiting for you even in the middle of the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Easter Island and absolutely enjoyed our stay. It's just a basic little B&B so don't expect much (but it is pretty much the same with all of the lodging facilities available on the island), but it is nice and clean, the rooms are very spacious (we had a queen bed and a twin) with good size bathroom, the place is well situated, and staffed with just absolutely nice and friendly people. It is also super close to the airport, we took a cab there when we first arrived because it was cheaper than arranging pick up from the hotel and it literally took us two minutes (if not one) to get there. We decided to just walk to the airport for our flight home..it was maybe a 10 minute walk. It is also fairly close to city center (which is not much more than one main road leading to the pier/dock with a bunch restaurants and coffee shops and minimarts). Our room rate included a daily breakfast, which consisted of a buffet of local fruits, bread, coffee/tea, cake, ham, cheese and made to order eggs..it's pretty good actually :-) And the staff are just really nice and friendly and really accommodating. Really nice little place overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cuteicecube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your effort!

We'd like to straighten out that Hotel Puku Vai is a 3 star hotel to avoid any confusion amongst our future guests.

The concept of our hotel is "boutique" meaning that we focus on providing a friendly atmosphere and quality services.

Our services fairly exceed the standard level of Easter Island and we provide services that even the some of the high-end hotels on the island are not able to. The rooms include Air Conditioning and Free Wi-Fi internet, just to mention the most important ones.

Our speciality are Tour Programs by Kia Koe Tour seen on our website. Airport Transfer include a nice touch when you're greeted with a collar of flowers and assisted safely to the hotel. The greatest thing, however, is that the service is guaranteed: in case there's some last minute flight schedule change, you can relax since (as long as your flight number does not change) there will be a person waiting for you even in the middle of the night.

Please, note that we confirm Airport Transfer separately via email that includes instructions how to locate your tour operator at the airport.

In case airport transfer is requested separately (without a program), we point out that there are other alternatives, as well. However, when you'll take taxi, always remember to verify the price to avoid any surprises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Firstly, don't be put off by the fact that this hotel is opposite the airport - a number of hotels are (this is one of the 3 main roads on Easter Island) - and theres barely one or two flights a day (which you will never hear). It's actually set back from the main road, and all the rooms overlook the pool area and have uninterrupted views of the island landscape.

The hotel has a large open plan reception area, lounge and breakfast room. Off this, in a separate building (connected by a covered walkway) is an L-shaped building which houses the 12 hotel rooms.

The room was decorated simply and in a traditional style. It had 2 beds, air conditioning, sofa, coffee table, wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. It had a set of french windows that opened to a small outdoor seating area that overlooked the communal gardens and pool.

The pool is smaller than it appears in the photos, but is still decent size and proves much needed relaxation after a day roaming around the island.

The property was very comfortable, very clean and the staff exceptionally friendly and welcoming. It's also only 10 minutes from 'down-town' Hanga Roa - where the main restaurants and shops are.

If returning to the Island, I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be the same, with the exception of the types of beds included (twin, double etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sonnywaheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for writing a review!

All the rooms really are the same when it comes to Air Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi internet etc. However, each room also contains a unique piece of art made of stone designed and implemented by a local artesan.

This artesan, who also crafted the amazing statues we have near the pool, decorated the walls of the hotel with the same delicate design so you might walk around the hotel if you're curious to know all the themes the other rooms have.

Please, visit our website for details of the rooms and check all the different room types we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you plan to be one of the 70,000 visitors to easter island per year or 1 of an average of only 200 visitors per day you need to be sure you are going to be looked after well, and see the main sights on offer easily and comfortably.
Puku vai offer an extremely comfortable bedroom and e suite bathroom with a sitting area. The strong wifi signal throughout the property is excellent.
There are 2 full days needed to see the main attractions on the island as a minimum and these are offered as 1 full day tour and two half day tours which can be taken on the same day with lunch in town scheduled between.
With 90% of the economy being derived from the 70,000 visitors annually easter island is a relatively small economy and some of the infrastructure like roads pay testimony to that.
Puku vai arranged our trips . They arrived on time and the guide was excellent.
We had left the arrangements to the hotel who delivered.
The amenities at he hotel are very good. The breakfast ample and fresh with hot cooked options.
The reception area bar and restaurant are spacious and comfortable. The pool area is a bonus.
The hotel is clean and the staff willing to help and always with a smile.
Highly recommended for your special trip to this special island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alqueria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate the effort of sharing the great experience you had with us and Kia Koe Tour. Thank you!

Your advises are valuable for our future quests and we recommend them to take the same approach than you did - and simply let us take care of the arrangements.

When you let us to organize a Complete Program (Tour program with Airport Transfer) before arriving to the island you will save a lot of time and effort but you will not pay anything extra. We are specialists of Easter Island and our connection with Kia Koe Tour, its main Tour Operator, will save you from any kind of headache when visiting this unique location.

We have all the information on our website and when you'll contact us, we'll respond by sending an email in which we'll point out some important details. When you have selected the option that best suit your needs, we'll confirm your reservation by email and instruct how to locate Kia Koe Tour at the airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
176 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Close to the Airport, a nice walk into the village, or a short taxi ride if you don't want the excercise. Great little pool out the back, quiet and secluded, very clean and great service. a special mention to the manager who helped enormously when our tour company went off the radar and our flight out was cancelled. Also his partner who came to rescue when I burst the button on my shorts !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspector2Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for the review!

Generally, our guests choose Kia Koe Tour since it's the main Tour Operator on Easter Island but in your case, things were a bit more complicated since your tour operator was another company.

Luckily, things turned out well but we'd like to recommend our future guests to arrange their visit on Easter Island directly with us or, if you prefer staying with another hotel, to organize your tours with Kia Koe Tour. They will take care of everything from the moment you will arrive to the island until it's time to get back to the airport.

However, any passenger visiting Easter Island should protect himself/herself with a travel insurance. If the flight is canceled due to weather conditions, additional accommodation costs are not covered. Additionally, tight connection flights should be avoided because of the same reason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This fairly new hotel is every bit as attractive as the photos make it look. A beautiful garden, with a small pool, surrounded by 14 well-equipped and comfortable cabins. The breakfast provided was the best we have had in Chile, in spite of the distance from any supplies. Just about our favourite place of seven hotels visited last month.

Room Tip: All cabins are fine, and I think all are essentially similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are delighted to hear that our breakfast made such an impression - our chef was smiling all day long!

To avoid confusion amongst our future guests, there is just a minor detail we'd like to correct: we offer only quality hotel accommodation, not cabins.

However, our architecture reminds our quests of Scandinavian style. The natural materials, art made of stone and Oregon Pine, create a warm atmosphere that might make you feel just like in Scandinavia. Naturally, our rooms are well above of any cabins Easter Island has to offer.

We'd like to add a few more words about the architecture: the main building is connected to a building that include rooms with a wooden bridge. There are papaya trees on both sides of it and whenever ripe, we serve those fruits for breakfast, as well. To get an idea of how it looks, check our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.5 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#9 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puku Vai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puku Vai

Property: Hotel Puku Vai
Address: Hotu Matua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puku Vai 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puku Vai invites you to explore the mysteries of Easter Island and enjoy the harmony of nature. Our services include Accommodation, Airport Transfer, Tours and Complete Programs. We offer Superior level rooms with all the modern comforts - including Air Conditioning and Free Wi-Fi Internet - a peaceful location close to the main attractions of Hanga Roa, and a pool surrounded by a garden full of tropical flowers and plants. Our Service Provider is Kia Koe Tour, the first and leading Tour Operator on Easter Island, founded 1984. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Puku Vai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puku Vai Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing