We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit cheesy and repetitive... but still perhaps a must see during an Easter Island visit”
Review of Ballet Kari Kari

Ballet Kari Kari
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Finland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“a bit cheesy and repetitive... but still perhaps a must see during an Easter Island visit”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Despite of what all the guide books try to say about this show - how genuine, traditional and non-touristy it is - it still is a show for tourists... I mean - a *banjo* playing in a traditional Rapa Nui band? Somehow I doubt it.

But it is fun to look at - after all, the stage is full of nice, scantily dressed girls (and boys - preferences depend on your gender and tastes)... and it even gets interactive when the dancers pick volunteers from the audience and invite them to dance on the stage between the performances.

While it may feel a bit too much of the same towards the end, perhaps you should not miss this show during your Easter Island visit - I never-ever go to "traditional dance shows" during my trips, this was the only exception I can think of - and it was an interesting experience, no regrets.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    231
    61
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great show”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Energetic dancers, one hour of tradicional dance from easter island. It was a very good experience to see a local dance. Absolutely recommendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdam_8978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great show, well worth your time”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Kari Kari is a solid 90 minutes of great dancing. There is little filler, just one dance after another. The dancers and musicians are first rate. We had a great evening... the "pub" restaurant just down the block was an outstanding spot for an excellent seafood dinner before the show.

You want to show up at least 15 minutes before show time because the open seating is first come, first served and there are some posts holding up the roof that you want to avoid to have a good view of the show.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave3401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“a treat”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This traditional dance show takes place three times a week: on Tuesday, Thursday
and Saturday in Hanga Roa. It is an hour of interesting costumes, music and dance.

The performers are excellent: very energetic and clearly enjoy what they are doing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only good”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Interesting, but after 20 minutes I was tired to see the same thing. I was expecting more history related to the dancing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ballet Kari Kari also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Easter Island, Chile
 
Easter Island, Chile
 

Been to Ballet Kari Kari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing