We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience thanks to Tojika”
Review of Hostal Tojika

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Tojika
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Es un lugar excelente para comenzar a conocer la isla, se encuentra muy cerca del centro y permite a la llegada conocer los primeros moais que se encuentran en el lado oeste de la isla y asi poder tomar las mejores fotografias del atardecer en ahu tahai, el precio es excelente y la atención de Jimena y Kathy muy acogedora, esperamos volver!
Is an excellent place to start knowing the island, it's very near center of the city and allows at arrival to know the first moai which are in the west side of the island to take the best pictures of the sunset in the ahu tahai, the price es excellent too and Jimena and Kathy are the best in making feel comfortable, we hope come back soon!
Rodrigo y Yolanda

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicent E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 128 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you want to stay in Hanga Roa, pay a good price for sleeping and make friends from all over the world, Tojika is a good option if you like to share a room.. Jimena and Mauricio are very kind. They pick up you at the airport in and off without cost
The Hostal is in front of the sea with a great view to see the sunset sitting from the galery of the Hostal drinking a beer or reading a good book.
Its almost 10 blocks from the main street
You can cook your self at the apartment, you got fridge and nice bathrooms. It is near the camping Minoha. Important there is no breakfast included.
I went with mi bike and i recommend to visit the island by bike if you have a good training because of the climbing ans rocks.
I recommend a little restaurant for eating ceviche next to the Hostal, 50 meters in direction to Orongo, very good fresh fish and ceviche.
The only thing i don't recommend its the internet service, i paid 5000 pesos chilenos for it, and really i coudnt use it, its very slow. May be for the wind or the rain . Later everybady told me it is the same all around the island. So you can send a mail, but you can not use internet, very slow for facebook or others web pages.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicolasOjeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hostal Tojika is a great place to call home while visiting Rapa Nui. We stayed in a double room with a queen bed and private bathroom for 5 nights. The room was a good size, clean, comfortable and decorated with an island motif; the shower had great pressure and hot water. There is a shared kitchen with all the amenities, including fresh juice and fruit (bananas picked from a plant just out side the door). If you don't feel like cooking there are plenty of restaurants, but there is also a small cafe by the road where they make the best empanadas on the island (also eggs, coffee, fresh juice). Tojika has an amazing location next to the ocean; great sunsets from the front patio and a reasonably short walk to town (about 20min). When you head out to explore the island there is a 4x4 Jimny available to rent for a better price than any of the rental places, and if you take it for 2 or more days they offer a further discount. The owner Jimena is a lovely lady, and while she does not stay at the hostal 24/7, she usually stops by twice a day. She will also pick you up and drop you off at the airport. Overall, we feel that Jimena offers her guests high-quality lodging for a great price. Definitely consider Hostal Tojika for your visit to Easter Island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wvp325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a private queen bed room with en-suite bathroom and with access to a shared kitchen. Paid Chile$40,000 (around $80 per night). This place is also next to the sea - you can hear the waves lapping while having breakfast outside. Overall, I feel this place offers great value. Remember that Easter Island is a very expensive place as it is an island in the middle of the ocean. Look around in Tripadvisor and see how much other places cost and you'll quickly see why this place offers amazing value. Room is spacious and we had no problems whatsoever. Although there's no air-conditioning and we came during summer, we didn't need one because this place is next to the sea and the sea breeze kept us cool.

More than happy to recommend this place.

PROs:
1. Spacious, clean room.

2. Comfortable beds and pillows.

3. Plenty of hot water.

4. Room is cool in the middle of summer even without air-conditioning, thanks to the sea breeze.

5. Location is GREAT - seaside location where you can see and hear the waves lapping against the shore when you sit outside having breakfast. The Main Street is also around 10-15 mins casual walk away.

6. Airport pickup came as standard, which was nice (but I think all hotels / hostels offer this).

7. Shared kitchen complete with utensils help keep costs down - you can bring your own provisions and cook if you want to.

8. Plenty of space in the fridge and food cupboard to store our stuff.

9. Hanging space outside for wet clothes is a nice touch.

10. Free local fruits (mainly pineapples and bananas) are refreshed every day in the kitchen.

11. Although there's no breakfast, there's a stall outside that does amazing Empanadas for breakfast. Have it while listening and watching the waves lapping. Bliss.

12. Good value car hire offered - they offered a very basic car (manual transmission and you have to be very good with the gears) for Chile$30,000 a day (US$63). Very good value I think compared to the official car hire at the centre. Note it's a very BASIC 4X4 (Suzuki Jimny) - don't expect too much and you'll be fine.

13. Friendly owners - Katy and Jimena were very helpful and gave us tips on where to eat cheaply etc.

CONs:
1. No breakfast - but the empanadas in the stall in front of the hotel is AMAZING.

2. Katy & Jimena are friendly and will help if they can, but there is no one at the accommodation (although) they visit daily. Therefore, if you like a place where the owner or reception is always around to answer your questions or help, then perhaps this is something to consider. Or get their cellphone number.

3. No wifi - although the camping hostel next door (family of the owner too) offers wifi for Chile$10,000 if you want it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We were thrilled with these accommodations in the limited Easter Island accommodations market.....clean, comfortable, short walk to town, and fantastic ocean view! We took all of our food along and used the nice kitchen facilities, which is a great savings. The owners even provided fresh fruit and avocados, which complemented our backpacker-type food.

I had so much trouble with the name of this place--Tojika--until I learned that it is the combination of the first 2 letters of the names of the family that runs it (Tomas, Jimena, and Kati). Then it was easy to remember!

Kati was at the airport to pick us up at 6 AM. I'm sure you couldn't always count on this extra bonus we received: since our room was available, she let us in at that time, which was MUCH appreciated after being in airplanes for so many hours (plus it was still dark out!). Later, she and her mother helped us arrange a rental car for one day at a reasonable rate. The car was conveniently delivered to and picked up from the hostal. Together, Jimena and Kati made us feel very welcome!

I have no hesitation in recommending this property to other adventurous travelers to Easter Island. It seemed perfect for the location---not upscale, but very comfortable. Wish I was sitting on the front porch right now, enjoying the ocean view!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank joyfulcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I traveled with a friend and made some research regarding where to stay before I came to the island. I am very glad I chose this little hostel..Nice, clean, well run and maintained place, with hot showers, very comfy matrasses, well equipped kitchen and unlimited internet for a small fee! The owner, Jimena and her daughter Katy took good care of us, also the lady ( forgot her name) who cleaned our room was very nice to chat with. The service is very unintrusive and friendly, they are not there all the time, but there is always somebody to ask for anything when you need it. The location is on the cliffs few meters from the cost and you can hear the ocean and enjoy beautiful sunsets just from the table on the patio! Very reasonably priced, just 15-20 min. walk form the main street of this little town, free transfer from/to the airport and definitely the BEST deal for the budget traveler! Iorana!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Egoetrexmeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

This place is really nice. Its clean, there is a great view of the ocean, Jimena and Katarina is so friendly and the kitchen is fully equiped. Its a quit place but so nice. I walked around in most of the city and finaly I found this hostel next to the camping - best view and the best price in town. The beds are really good and I felt I stayed in a small apartment.
I totally recommend hostal Tojika

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cykelmyggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.4 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
403 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kahina Lodge
Kahina Lodge
#8 of 34 in Hanga Roa
75 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cabanas Tokerau
Cabanas Tokerau
#4 of 56 in Hanga Roa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tojika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tojika

Address: Caleta Hanga Piko, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Hanga Roa
Price Range: $85 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family hostel was born seven years ago to give you a place of rest and learning of a living culture. Good combination of rustic and natural, is an environment that brings creativity and desire to learn even more our mysterious culture. Here you can enjoy the most beautiful sunsets in addition to surprise you with the blanket of stars that dazzle anyone. The hostel is located on the seafront (there is a mini coffee, which sells breakfast and lunches) walk along the coast, in 10 minutes you reach the center and in 2 minutes you get to a fishing village called Hanga Piko, diving center, restaurant and an imposing platform called moai Ahu Riata. We also offer services of local guides Tour, massages, car rental, scooters and bicycles. We have double, twin, triple, quadruple and single with private bath, living room, kitchen with sea view and shared refrigerator equipped or if you want to make an unforgettable trip with friends or family cabin we offer a room for 5-6 people maximum. Tojika hostel caters all your requirements and needs. Come, we are waiting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Tojika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tojika Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing