We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection.”
Review of Kotaro

Kotaro
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Price range: $35,000 - $100,000
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is open! 19:00 / 22:00 monday tuesday wednesday friday saturday Same time and same rules And remember...This restaurant work only with reservations then don't be silly make a reservation All the obligatory information of the restaurant will find it : izakayakotaro.blogspot.com instagram : kotaro_bistro Kotaro Exclusive no popular...
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

We ate dinner at Kotaro twice during our five-day stay on Easter Island. Our meals were absolutely perfect and some of the best Japanese food we have ever had. Listen to the chef and allow him to create a meal for you based on your preferences - we chose the ginger pork dish and the sushi/sashimi selection on our first trip and the curry shrimp and miso glazed fish dishes our second trip. Each meal was accompanied by miso soup along with a dish of sliced hamachi and cucumber. We cleaned our plates both nights! I would go back to Easter Island, one of the most remote places in Earth, just to eat at this restaurant again- it is that good!

Date of visit: April 2016
3  Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 62 of 458 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2016

We didn’t have high expectations for the food on Easter Island and actually cooked for ourselves most evenings during our stay. However, we made an exception for a meal at Kotaro on the advice of both our hosts and TripAdvisor. We definitely weren’t disappointed. The restaurant is quite small, located a bit out of the way on the road near the airport in the center of town. The décor, both inside and out, would perhaps best be described as eclectically Japanese – the unusual soundtrack adds to the ambiance. There’s a menu available, but we just ordered based on the recommendation of the chef, who visited our table to explain the options and take our order. They have a set menu including sashimi, soup, vegetables, and meat, which the chef called the “lunch set.” There were various preparations of chicken, pork, beef, and fish available. We chose two different options to share. The food was quite well-prepared, more similar to home-style Japanese food. The service throughout the meal was attentive; we were well looked after by both the chef and his wife, who acts as hostess/waitress. Perhaps the only disappointment would be that they do not have any sake, just wine and beer. Make sure to make a reservation in advance if you want to eat at Kotaro (easy to do via email or phone) – the restaurant is tiny and was full when we visited.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank stephandgio_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Less than a 15 minute walk from downtown, this intimate restaurant features an excellent menu. The beef teriyaki was delectable and the sushi was generous. The miso soup was the best we have eaten.

At least two of the tables are set up so you remove your shoes and sit on the floor.

With a bottle of wine and a relaxed atmosphere, this was a nice evening out.

Date of visit: June 2016
5  Thank DriveRideOrFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016

We loved our diner at Kotaro. The restaurant is really nice decorated in Japanese style and the food delicious. It felt a little bit like we where in Japan. The owner(s) and the people working in the restaurant are all really nice. Make sure to get your reservation (we didn't but were lucky enough to get a spot).

Date of visit: April 2016
2  Thank Nathiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

Dinner at Kotaro was a highlight of our visit to Easter Island. The restaurant is beautifully designed in Japanese style both inside and out. Despite the reports of eccentric rules or rudeness, we were warmly welcomed and graciously served. Everything -- food, wine, beer and service -- was flawless and excellent. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank NCtravelerWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kotaro also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Kotaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.