We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special !”
Review of Kotaro

Kotaro
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Price range: $35,000 - $100,000
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant is open! 19:00 / 22:00 monday tuesday wednesday friday saturday Same time and same rules And remember...This restaurant work only with reservations then don't be silly make a reservation All the obligatory information of the restaurant will find it : izakayakotaro.blogspot.com instagram : kotaro_bistro Kotaro Exclusive no popular...
Reviewed May 4, 2016

Coming from California, we had lots of Japanese restaurants and all were excellent in culinary skills. In our hometown, this might just considered as food from food court. The food was mediocre, except the fish was very fresh because its caught locally. I guess because there were no good restaurant around here, so its considered #1. A little disappointed because we celebrated my husband's birthday and he was not satisfied with the food and he expected way more. Sushi had too much rice, tempura was not fluffy at all (mainly flour covering). Soup was decent in tasting but no seaweed or tofu in it. I would think twice before coming there and paid the price.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank itcheetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 69 of 458 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2016

We loved our meal here! It's no surprise that this place is rated #1. For us it was on par if not better than some of the restaurants we ate at in Japan.

The owner/chef is amazing - very friendly and welcoming (and his rules are hilarious!). We made a reservation via his website and when we arrived he made us feel like he was waiting for us. The rest of the staff and the ambiance were on point. The food was excellent - we had a mixture of sushi, beef, and tempura. And on top of it the chef's music choice is very eclectic and good - it made us want to stay at the restaurant longer and enjoy the music and drinks.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2016

I can only asume that this place is number one because all other are so bad (exceptions are Neptune Island and the Hanga Roa Hotel Restaurant). This is an Izakaya which serves comfort food Japanese style. Nothing really special. Service is friendly and quick (they only serve 3 different entrees with the same side) is overshadowed by and owner whose only diversion is to demonstrate who is the boss there. This is something we already knew in advance by reading here and the restaurant website (the set of rules is a joke), so we only played our role his ridiculous game.
There is no restaurant I know that if you arrive 10 minutes late will not keep your reservation, and that's what happened to a group that arrived when we were dinning.

Date of visit: March 2016
4  Thank dexxxtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2016

We chose this place since it was number 1 on trip advisor. The restaurant is run by a husband/wife, and is Japanese food. The owner lived in Japan, US, and Italy and speaks several languages including english. He built the building himself, and is an interesting guy to talk to. You must have a reservation, but the restaurant was never full when we were there. You can make a reservation by email if you do not have cell access. There is a full menu, but the chef talks to you about what you like, and makes recommendations. I recommend just going with what he suggests. Nothing that was ordered was bad. Overall, it is a good experience, and the food is good.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ybselgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016

Kotaro is close to Puku Vai hotel near the airport and what a find. It really is a one man show. Kotaro is so enthusiastic and happy to explain his menu. The food was delicious. Stronjgly recommended

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kotaro also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Kotaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.