We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Kanahau'..... one to visit”
Review of Restaurant Kanahau

Restaurant Kanahau
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Contemporary, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: WELCOME TO KANAHAU. We are located on the main street of Hanga Roa - Easter Island. We offer a delicate and tasty food with a lot of creativity : Seafood, fishes, pastas, meat... Our bar offer the largest choice of cocktails, alcohols, and wines of all the island. Every 2 days enjoy a cocktail with local live music ! On monday, wednesday and friday happens a great show VARUA ORA with musicians, dancers and singers.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“'Kanahau'..... one to visit”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Reasonably large spot, with out door seating and an extensive menu. Portions are excellent, staff very friendly and the drinks menu has everything you would want. Also pretty good value for the prices, well situated and the ambiance is superb. There is quite a choice in the town, but this is definitely one I would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent-in-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    140
    31
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and environment”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I had fish with curry sauce and my wife had fish with veggies and rice. ($62) Each was done in its own unique style and provided us with a fine dining experience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious ceviche at Kanahau!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I ate at Kanahau (yep Kanahau, not Kamahau) twice during my visit to Easter Island. This place is great: nice ambiance, good music and a great front patio surrounded by gardens that provide privacy from the street. Kanahau has lots of dishes featuring fresh local fish (not surprising given the island location). The ceviches are fresh and amazing. I also tried the 'lomo kanahau' (steak with a housemade sauce of mushrooms and seaweed) - delicious! Beef properly cooked to order. Kanahau also has a good, if pricey (not surprising given the island location) wine list. And they make a mean pisco sour too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wvp325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious!! Great dinner!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had my birthday dinner here in easter island and wow was it amazing! I had the tuna steak served with an avocado sauce which was delicious! They also make a really great mojito! Dessert was nice- I had a chocolate mousse with berries in the bottom of the cup! Very nice. Overall fantastic meal! My friend had a vegetarian risotto which was also wonderful!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheCanuckTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, I had dinner 2 times.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good offer on local fish, with gourmet preparations and good selection of sideorders. Nice offer of drinks, wine and beers. Dessert are also very good. It's located in the main street very close to shops and hotels.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernesto V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kanahau also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Easter Island, Chile
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Restaurant Kanahau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing