We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staying at this *** hotel!”
Review of Tupa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tupa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 34 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The hotel is not particularly exciting: it's being renovated right now, rooms are very big but spartan, the ocean view is not the best you can get on the island. However: (1) the staff is very friendly; (2) the place is clean, comfortable enough and safe; (3) Sergio, a native who run the hotel, is one of the world leading expert in Easter Island history and archeology. Sergio is also very helpful: he picked us up at the airport for free; we wanted a car, and he arranged everything with the car rental (good car and cheap price); we needed equipment for visiting the island caves, and he provided all we needed (for free); we needed the check out late, and indeed he allowed us (for free).

To avoid confusion or misunderstanding with the room payment (you cannot do it online), just decide in advance whether you want to pay in USD or CLP, and confirm the price with the staff. I did it in this way and everything was perfect.

Thanks Sergio for the nice staying and for the great time on this wonderful island!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geppe1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 200 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

Considering the high prices of Easter Island, this is a very good hotel to stay. I choose a budget room with no ocean view, but at the end I just need to sleep there and in any case the ocean view is nothing spcial...
Segio, the owner, is very helpful and gives you good recommendations for your visit of the island.
Fantastic and abundant the breakfast that allows you to save some money at lunch time...
The only little defect (not of the hotel)? A cock in the surrounding area giving the wake up call early in the morning...
Good location that would even allow to get to/from the airport by foot (exactely 1 km, but it is generally not needed as hotel staff pick you up or bring you to the airport on arrival/departure) and aroun 500 m from the center (if so can be called considering the small size of Hanga Roa)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We just recently returned from a 7 day trip to Easter Island. We stayed in the Ocean View Room at the Tupa Hotel and highly recommend it. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from the airport, and a 5 minute walk to the main street, where you'll find lots of restaurants, souvenir shops, and everything else. Our room was large, spacious, and clean, with a huge outdoor patio. There is free Wifi in the lobby. We were served a healthy breakfast every morning. The hotel is in the process of being upgraded and expanded so I anticipate that it will be even more fantastic in the future.

The owner of the hotel, Sergio Rapu, is a famous archeologist from the island. He restored and excavated many of the Moai. He personally picked us up from the airport and greeted us with leis. He took us on a brief tour around the island, explaining to us some of the history as well as making some restaurant recommendations, before driving us to the hotel. We were originally going to book a tour, but upon his recommendation, we ended up renting a car for 4 days and drove around the island, stopping off to see practically every major archeological site there is. He offered to answer any questions we had and indeed, one night, he sat with us for a few hours chatting and giving us details about the island and the Moai. It was one of the highlights of our trip. We would definitely stay at the Tupa Hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Everything started out well. We were picked up from the airport (although Sergio was a little late even though it was the off season) nothing to complain about. We were not "lei-ed" like all other hotel guests, mild disappointment, nothing too serious. We arrived at the hotel (it is located down a long dirt path off the main road so bring a flashlight if you wish to walk to or exit the hotel at night). Upon arrival, the hotel was completely empty, but nice.

Our 'ocean view room' was NOT facing the west coast and did not have an ocean view unless you walked out onto someone else's patio. Also, no moai in sight (like the website claims). Explains why there's no pics of the ocean view on the website. We were ripped off when we wanted to pay in pesos versus dollars because the hotel insisted on converting the rate 500-1 (instead of the accurate 470-1).

We were STILL happy at this point and were just excited to be on an island after spending weeks in Santiago! We saw Sergio out for dinner that night, he did not say one word to us (not the friendly island feel you hear about where islanders make visitors feel at home). Our first morning the entire bathroom flooded with sewage water from the base of the toilet, which I stepped into when getting out of the shower. It smelled RANCID! We had tours booked for the day which we were late for because we had to switch rooms. My friends did not have time to shower, and we also missed breakfast. Sergio did not even offer an apology for the inconvenience. We spent the whole day on our tours and agreed we would look for another hotel because Tupa is not what we signed up for. We booked another place and went back to Tupa around 8PM to remove our belongings that we simply placed in the other room before heading out for the day. We handed Sergio the key and told him we would pay for one night because we were leaving due to the fact that the hotel was not what we expected and the inconvenience of the experience. Sergio was not happy. He blamed us for the plumbing issues, said we were acting like kids in the room, that we flushed plastic down the toilet, and that we must pay for two nights. He was yelling at our group and threatening to call the police. We paid for a day and a half (fair) but left to Hotel Orongo which is right on the main street and we had an AMAZING rest of our trip.

Overall, the owner at Tupa has a bad attitude, is not customer service friendly, and is in it for the $$$, NOT THE EASTER ISLAND EXPERIENCE.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank osquadprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tupahotel, Director of Sales at Tupa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2011

Thank you osquadprez for your review and comments, we always greatly appreciate it as it helps us understand and address any problems with our family business.

The standard ocean view room you were given does face the West Coast of the island where you can see the town of Hanga Roa and the Tahai Complex in the distance. You can see all of this by standing on your patio and also when walking into the hotel. The map on our website shows that we are located inland and on a hill overlooking the coast. I’m sorry if you misunderstood that we were perhaps located next to the coast or next to the Tahai Complex. I will try and clarify this more on our website.

500 Pesos to 1 US dollar is a standard exchange rate at most hotels and restaurants on the island since a majority of the passengers come from afar and pay in US dollars.

We are confused about you saying that you did not sense a friendly island feel from our staff. Your party was very happy and expressed much gratitude when our manager took you on an extensive city tour of Hanga Roa after picking you up at the airport. Our manager also showed you several of the local restaurants in town, including the one that you went to eat at that same night. He even stopped at the local market on the request of one of the people in your party that wanted to try one of the shish-cabobs for sale.

The night before the bathroom flooding, our staff reported a lot of noise coming from your room. Though it was disturbing to other guests, we allowed it to pass since it was your first night. In the morning, we discovered that the back of the toilet had been cracked the night before and was what caused the water leak during the night. This was not sewer water, as toilets only hold fresh water in these tanks. The hotel manager was apologetic and gave you a second ocean view room for the time being. Additionally, the manager offered to give you 2 ocean view rooms for the price of 1 so that your party of three would have more space. This offer was refused by you and your party.

That morning, nothing was mentioned to the management or any of the staff about wanting to change hotels or checking out. There was some time either before or after your morning tour, and before you set out to look for another hotel, in which you could have alerted the staff of your intentions. In addition, your comment pertaining to only having stored your bags in the second room is incorrect. Our cleaning staff reports that the second room had been used; the towels were wet, the soap had been opened and used, and there was trash in the room. Because you notified the hotel of your intent to check out at 9pm that evening, way past normal checkout at 11am, you were assessed a half day rate fee for only the one room. This is standard practice in all hotels around the world.

After our manager calmly explained to you the late check out fee, and gave you a bill for the bar consumption of the night before, he reports that you became very upset and threatened to ruin the hotel by writing a bad review if you were not give the half night and bar tab for free. The police were called in order to act as mediators during this dispute and because the manager was feeling harassed. The manager reports that instead of waiting for the police, and pleading your case, you angrily payed the fee and left the hotel.

We are willing to be flexible and accommodating if you decide to cancel your reservation and go elsewhere. However, threatening our staff or refusing to pay standard fees for services already rendered are unjust and will not be allowed.

We hope these comments are helpful to you so as to understand our side of the story. Iorana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

The hotel is located at the heart of the town centre and is very easily accessible.
Simple facilities but very great service. Relaxing environment.
Highly informative customised tour. I understand so much more about the history, people and places than I could have gained in any other ways. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leeyikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

At the time we were there the hotel was not finished and there were also almost no other guest so we felt a bit alone. But other than that we had a great stay! The hotel owner himself is a retired archeologist and in what other place in the world would this be more helpful than at Easter Island? He helped us out with every POI's on the island and also with a car rental. The maid and breakfast staff was also very friendly.
The room was large and had what we needed; two beds, a table, some chairs and a bathroom.
One thing I didn't like was that it cost extra to pay with a credit card.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed in the new section which is not completely finished as of this date. The beds were new and very comfortable, room and bath very clean, very good breakfast included. Owners are exceptionally friendly and accommodating. About a 10 minute walk to town, this is a very nice place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.2 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
349 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tupa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tupa Hotel

Address: Sebastian Engler s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island n/a, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range: $117 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tupa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tupa Hotel sits atop a small hill looking out over the West coast of the island and the town of Hanga Roa. Free WIFI is available in the lobby of the hotel. A free polynesian breakfast buffet is offered daily in the ocean view dining room. The hotel is located in a quiet area, one block from the main street and within 5 minutes walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the coast. Please provide flight information in order to receive a FREE transport to the hotel from the airport Mataveri. Tours, car rentals, and other activities can be arranged at the reception desk. Mataveri airport (IPC) and Pea Beach are less than 1km away. Sebastian Englert Museum and the Tahai Archeological Complex are about 2 km away. Tupa Hotel offers 3 types of rooms: Ocean View, Garden View, or Budget. All guest rooms come with private bathroom, free daily breakfast, and daily room service. Ocean View and Garden View rooms have ceramic floors and include a patio. The most affordable option is the Budget Rooms, which are somewhat smaller than the others and have restricted views. For a real treat, book one of the ocean view rooms.Double occupancy rooms can be arranged with 2 twin beds or 1 matrimonial bed. Please indicate which bed type you would prefer at the time of reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Tupa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tupa Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing