We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Altiplanico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altiplanico
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Nice, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This hotel is really beautiful and in front of the ocean. Our bungalow was incredible, overlooking the ocean: waking up in the morning and look at the ocean staying in bed was an incredible experience. We did not try the restaurant but we did have delicious breakfast: everything was available, eggs with ham and cheese, different kinds of breads, cakes and fruits.
It is far from the city but we rent a car and in 5 minutes you can join the city and then visit the entire island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaetstephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    142
    53
    15
    13
See reviews for
52
182
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This place is a dream! The entire island is amazing! But don't visit Easter Island if you think you'll get the Four Seasons!
This island is meant for those that like adventure and seeing cultures that have not be over-McDonald-ized by society. You won't find a Starbucks, but you will find a great breakfast where they make you your own omelet. The hotel restaurant is not cheap, but the food is AMAZING. Our first night they made us fresh tuna steaks and risotto and fabulous Pisco Sours made with Basil - something we hadn't tried yet!

Make sure you speak some Spanish, but the hotel staff spoke great English too!
I would recommend getting a tour guide and buying a package deal to avoid the $350/night stays that people say it costs - or go in August.
It was sunny every day and 70-80 degrees Fahrenheit. We hiked, swam in the ocean, and watched the sunset over the Pacific.
This hotel is meant for sleeping and the bed was AMAZING. The shower was open air and great for our romantic honeymoon!
I can't wait to go back, and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slawebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Coming to Easter Island was the fulfillment of a lifelong dream. The island's natural beauty and history were spellbinding. I would definitely recommend coming here if you have the time and resources.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with the earlier review about Altiplanico. While the staff was friendly, the quality and finishes of this hotel are of a lower, motel-like quality. If the room rate was a couple of hundred dollars lower, then this would be a perfectly fine place to stay, especially if you like being a little more isolated. To help put it into context, for a slightly lower price per night, I was able to stay at the Four Seasons in Buenos Aires. Granted, Argentina is less expensive than Chile, and Easter Island is isolated, but still. I expected more for my money. Frankly, at this price point, I would recommend staying at Explora instead of Altiplanico.

Finally, I might point out to the most recent reviewer that we're all entitled to our opinions, but I think some of the negative reviews on this site have to do with the expectations a hotel creates when it charges such a high price. A hotel that charges $350 per night should reasonably expect to be held to a very high standard.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderlustchyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is a special place, with special people, on a special location. Of course there is no TV and no mini-bar, you are on Isla de Pascua! If you want that, please stay in Illinois. The hotel has loads of character, is nicely decorated and the breakfast is tasty and healthy. Of all the hotels I stayed in on the island (3 in total) this was by far the nicest one.
If you like Hilton or Sheraton, this definitely is not the place to be for you, but the criticism here below is absolutely not what Altiplanico deserves!! I am sure that many people like it and that they appreciate the special atmosphere and the kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuintenJiskoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

With the words from an earlier review ringing in our heads ("You'd be a fool to stay there), my wife and I settled on Altiplanico as a last resort option. Unfortunately, because we were coming a week before the Solstice, our top three options were completely booked. So, we hesitatingly made a reservation with Altiplanico.

Believe it or not, our expectations were still too high. This turned out to be -- by far -- the worst hotel room we have stayed in after accounting for price. Before I launch into the negatives, let me start off by saying that the hotel employees were reasonably nice. Not really competent, but nice. And the local lady serving breakfast in the morning was very kind.

The hotel got off on the wrong foot right from the get-go. They were unable to uneventfully pick up 9 passengers from our flight by not providing enough seating for everybody. One hotel employee ended up having to sit on the lap of a guest. And this fiasco took at least 45 minutes to unfold.

Next, we discovered that the hotel has a very mediocre location on the island. Not only was the location well outside of walking distance to the incredibly-underwhelming town, but it also requires driving for 5-10 minutes on bumpy, rocky, unpaved roads. Going back and forth to town to have a meal in town required a $6 cab ride each way. Hotel shuttle? Yeah right.

The hotel itself is not particularly smartly designed. While the lobby building has nice, direct ocean views, the guest room views are impeded by prominent views of the vehicles parked in the gravel parking lot and/or the lobby. In addition, if you have the misfortune of being in your room in the late afternoon, you will be greeted by a chorus of incessantly-barking dogs from a neighboring property. Awesome.

Our guestroom (cabana 8) was laughable. It was really nothing more than a glorified cabin with cheap construction and furnishings. The bed basically consisted of a mattress positioned on the floor. In addition to there being no television, stereo, in-room Internet access (Ineternet access in the lobby is spotty), mini-bar or clock, there was poor lighting. And bring your own books because the front desk won't have any to provide you. Furthermore, the moon shower in the bathroom did not have hot water. Even after two complaints to the front desk, this still wasn't resolved.

Yet, this wasn't even the worst of it. Despite promises to the contrary, the front desk staff proved unable to competently book a guided tour for us. The first guide they suggested could only speak broken English, the second was a no-show and the third required us taxiing into town to rent a car and pick up the guide from a tour agency (a process that only unfolded after I demanded the name and contact info of the general manager -- a name that the front desk refused to provide me by offering up one excuse after another) Despite promises to the contrary, the tour guide we picked up in town could not drive our rental car, thereby forcing us to waste time in finding one with automatic transmission (something we had initially requested but were told we didn't need since the tour guide would be driving).

All in all, we found this hotel to be of miserably quality. And the $350 nightly price was extortionate in relation to the sub-motel service level.

I would strongly recommend saving your money -- save $300 per night and rent an oceanfront cabin elsewhere. The quality will likely be the same or better and you will avoid the shame of foolishly subsidizing this hotel management's greed and incompetence.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ponch73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Altiplanico, responded to this review, July 10, 2010
I will not contest your taste, as if our hotel is badly build or awfully designed, it is a matter of taste, and it is quite obvious what you like differs sadly with what we offer.
In respect to what we don´t have, TV, air conditioning, minibar,etc, it is part of our concept and we are very clear from the start that it is not part of the package, so critizing this after is not admisible.
With respect to the problems arising with the transfer from the airport we present our excuses again, it was our responsability, the same with the hot water which was only when ariving to the hotel because it was fixed during the day. These two points we recognize and because of them our guest received a 15% discount, obviously the discount was a waste of time on our side.
The rest, we make no carge and have no second interests in booking cars, guide, tours for our guests, we do this to help, again this effort is lost on passengers who give no credit to something we give freely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Of course you can't expect to have all the luxuries of a major city hotel in a location like Easter Island (and you wouldn't want to!), but for $350/night we were still left with a feeling that quite a lot was missing at Altiplanico...

For a hotel that is a significant distance from the nearest shop/restaurant, you might expect a minibar... For $350 per night, you might think that you get a couple of complimentary bottles of water and perhaps a little plate of fruit in the room... You might think there'd be plenty of pillows, perhaps an extra blanket if required... You might think the hotel had little extras available (perhaps mountain bikes for guests to use) etc.... Perhaps WIFI in the rooms or some sort of room service.... but none of these things are there...

Altiplanico has the basics. It's nice, clean, the rooms are fine... Nothing really to complain about... but it just isn't the luxury place it pretends to be. It misses on the details and, even at the elevated prices of the island, it's not worth $350 a night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Hotel Altiplanico - A comfortable bed in a very remote location.

When visiting Easter Island, you need to realise how remote this place really is. Easter Island does not have it's own shipping harbour and only one or two flights land on the isand a day. You cannot expect big city 5 hotel star details and you cannot expect them to get anything you may desire.

Considering this, the Altiplanico have done a great job. The hotel is in a lovely quite location just outside the town and has stunning sunset views over the Pacific Ocean. The architecture is inspired by the traditional Rapu Nui boat shape style houses, with each rooms being a seperate cottage. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable with mosquito nets provided, bathrooms are adequate and the showers are open to the sky which is actually quite cool. I enjoyed a steaming hot shower in the rain, a wonderful experience. Each room has it's own patio with deck chair to enjoy the stunning sun sets. Bedding is not changed everyday, in an attempt to be environmentally friendly and save water on this little island. This was perfectly fine by us.

Judging by comments made by our tour guide and from what we saw ourselves this is definitely one of the better hotels on the island and fairly priced.

Having say that, we do however recommend not to eat dinner at the hotel, as it is terrible and horribly over priced. There are lovely restaurants with excellent food in town, only a $3 taxi ride from the hotel. Breakfast was fine, although eggs are the only hot food served, this was more than adequate fuel to keep us going for the day. We also recommend stocking up on a few bottles of water and juice as there is no complimentary water or minibar in the rooms. There are also no telephones in the rooms, so ordering room service is not possible, although there is a self help counter at the reception for coffee, tea & pastries, where we stocked up before going to bed at night.

There are computers to surf the internet and a pool at the main building. All in all we had a great time on Easter Island, you just need to be aware that this is a remote place, so one needs to keep an open mind and perhaps adjust ones expectations a little.
I would recommend this hotel and enjoy this amazing place in the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CuriousD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altiplanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altiplanico

Property: Hotel Altiplanico
Address: Lote E, sector Hinere, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Altiplanico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a property of 1.5 ha the hotel has a panoramic view of the shoreline on one of the world’s most unique destinations, Altiplanico Rapanui is designed in the style of the traditional Rapanui boathouse, with luxurious gardens, a beautiful swimming pool viewing the sea and large open spaces to relax after encountering the seductive mysteries of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Altiplanico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altiplanico Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing