We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Altiplanico
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Mana Nui Inn(Hanga Roa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vai Moana(Hanga Roa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'tai Hotel(Easter Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Manavai(Hanga Roa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Martin y Anita Hotel(Easter Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gomero(Easter Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taura'a Hotel(Hanga Roa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveler rating
112
155
56
16
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
155
56
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin towneaster islandhot waternice hotelceiling fannice lobbypeaceful and relaxing stayreception buildingmosquito nets providedspecial buffetbar is openstunning sunsetsthe hotel staffhotel loungesmall poolthe pacific oceanchilli
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 353 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Coming to Easter Island was the fulfillment of a lifelong dream. The island's natural beauty and history were spellbinding. I would definitely recommend coming here if you have the time and resources.

Unfortunately, I have to agree with the earlier review about Altiplanico. While the staff was friendly, the quality and finishes of this hotel are of a lower, motel-like quality. If the room rate was a couple of hundred dollars lower, then this would be a perfectly fine place to stay, especially if you like being a little more isolated. To help put it into context, for a slightly lower price per night, I was able to stay at the Four Seasons in Buenos Aires. Granted, Argentina is less expensive than Chile, and Easter Island is isolated, but still. I expected more for my money. Frankly, at this price point, I would recommend staying at Explora instead of Altiplanico.

Finally, I might point out to the most recent reviewer that we're all entitled to our opinions, but I think some of the negative reviews on this site have to do with the expectations a hotel creates when it charges such a high price. A hotel that charges $350 per night should reasonably expect to be held to a very high standard.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wanderlustchyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This is a special place, with special people, on a special location. Of course there is no TV and no mini-bar, you are on Isla de Pascua! If you want that, please stay in Illinois. The hotel has loads of character, is nicely decorated and the breakfast is tasty and healthy. Of all the hotels I stayed in on the island (3 in total) this was by far the nicest one.
If you like Hilton or Sheraton, this definitely is not the place to be for you, but the criticism here below is absolutely not what Altiplanico deserves!! I am sure that many people like it and that they appreciate the special atmosphere and the kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuintenJiskoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

With the words from an earlier review ringing in our heads ("You'd be a fool to stay there), my wife and I settled on Altiplanico as a last resort option. Unfortunately, because we were coming a week before the Solstice, our top three options were completely booked. So, we hesitatingly made a reservation with Altiplanico.

Believe it or not, our expectations were still too high. This turned out to be -- by far -- the worst hotel room we have stayed in after accounting for price. Before I launch into the negatives, let me start off by saying that the hotel employees were reasonably nice. Not really competent, but nice. And the local lady serving breakfast in the morning was very kind.

The hotel got off on the wrong foot right from the get-go. They were unable to uneventfully pick up 9 passengers from our flight by not providing enough seating for everybody. One hotel employee ended up having to sit on the lap of a guest. And this fiasco took at least 45 minutes to unfold.

Next, we discovered that the hotel has a very mediocre location on the island. Not only was the location well outside of walking distance to the incredibly-underwhelming town, but it also requires driving for 5-10 minutes on bumpy, rocky, unpaved roads. Going back and forth to town to have a meal in town required a $6 cab ride each way. Hotel shuttle? Yeah right.

The hotel itself is not particularly smartly designed. While the lobby building has nice, direct ocean views, the guest room views are impeded by prominent views of the vehicles parked in the gravel parking lot and/or the lobby. In addition, if you have the misfortune of being in your room in the late afternoon, you will be greeted by a chorus of incessantly-barking dogs from a neighboring property. Awesome.

Our guestroom (cabana 8) was laughable. It was really nothing more than a glorified cabin with cheap construction and furnishings. The bed basically consisted of a mattress positioned on the floor. In addition to there being no television, stereo, in-room Internet access (Ineternet access in the lobby is spotty), mini-bar or clock, there was poor lighting. And bring your own books because the front desk won't have any to provide you. Furthermore, the moon shower in the bathroom did not have hot water. Even after two complaints to the front desk, this still wasn't resolved.

Yet, this wasn't even the worst of it. Despite promises to the contrary, the front desk staff proved unable to competently book a guided tour for us. The first guide they suggested could only speak broken English, the second was a no-show and the third required us taxiing into town to rent a car and pick up the guide from a tour agency (a process that only unfolded after I demanded the name and contact info of the general manager -- a name that the front desk refused to provide me by offering up one excuse after another) Despite promises to the contrary, the tour guide we picked up in town could not drive our rental car, thereby forcing us to waste time in finding one with automatic transmission (something we had initially requested but were told we didn't need since the tour guide would be driving).

All in all, we found this hotel to be of miserably quality. And the $350 nightly price was extortionate in relation to the sub-motel service level.

I would strongly recommend saving your money -- save $300 per night and rent an oceanfront cabin elsewhere. The quality will likely be the same or better and you will avoid the shame of foolishly subsidizing this hotel management's greed and incompetence.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ponch73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2010

I will not contest your taste, as if our hotel is badly build or awfully designed, it is a matter of taste, and it is quite obvious what you like differs sadly with what we offer.
In respect to what we don´t have, TV, air conditioning, minibar,etc, it is part of our concept and we are very clear from the start that it is not part of the package, so critizing this after is not admisible.
With respect to the problems arising with the transfer from the airport we present our excuses again, it was our responsability, the same with the hot water which was only when ariving to the hotel because it was fixed during the day. These two points we recognize and because of them our guest received a 15% discount, obviously the discount was a waste of time on our side.
The rest, we make no carge and have no second interests in booking cars, guide, tours for our guests, we do this to help, again this effort is lost on passengers who give no credit to something we give freely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Of course you can't expect to have all the luxuries of a major city hotel in a location like Easter Island (and you wouldn't want to!), but for $350/night we were still left with a feeling that quite a lot was missing at Altiplanico...

For a hotel that is a significant distance from the nearest shop/restaurant, you might expect a minibar... For $350 per night, you might think that you get a couple of complimentary bottles of water and perhaps a little plate of fruit in the room... You might think there'd be plenty of pillows, perhaps an extra blanket if required... You might think the hotel had little extras available (perhaps mountain bikes for guests to use) etc.... Perhaps WIFI in the rooms or some sort of room service.... but none of these things are there...

Altiplanico has the basics. It's nice, clean, the rooms are fine... Nothing really to complain about... but it just isn't the luxury place it pretends to be. It misses on the details and, even at the elevated prices of the island, it's not worth $350 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Hotel Altiplanico - A comfortable bed in a very remote location.

When visiting Easter Island, you need to realise how remote this place really is. Easter Island does not have it's own shipping harbour and only one or two flights land on the isand a day. You cannot expect big city 5 hotel star details and you cannot expect them to get anything you may desire.

Considering this, the Altiplanico have done a great job. The hotel is in a lovely quite location just outside the town and has stunning sunset views over the Pacific Ocean. The architecture is inspired by the traditional Rapu Nui boat shape style houses, with each rooms being a seperate cottage. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable with mosquito nets provided, bathrooms are adequate and the showers are open to the sky which is actually quite cool. I enjoyed a steaming hot shower in the rain, a wonderful experience. Each room has it's own patio with deck chair to enjoy the stunning sun sets. Bedding is not changed everyday, in an attempt to be environmentally friendly and save water on this little island. This was perfectly fine by us.

Judging by comments made by our tour guide and from what we saw ourselves this is definitely one of the better hotels on the island and fairly priced.

Having say that, we do however recommend not to eat dinner at the hotel, as it is terrible and horribly over priced. There are lovely restaurants with excellent food in town, only a $3 taxi ride from the hotel. Breakfast was fine, although eggs are the only hot food served, this was more than adequate fuel to keep us going for the day. We also recommend stocking up on a few bottles of water and juice as there is no complimentary water or minibar in the rooms. There are also no telephones in the rooms, so ordering room service is not possible, although there is a self help counter at the reception for coffee, tea & pastries, where we stocked up before going to bed at night.

There are computers to surf the internet and a pool at the main building. All in all we had a great time on Easter Island, you just need to be aware that this is a remote place, so one needs to keep an open mind and perhaps adjust ones expectations a little.
I would recommend this hotel and enjoy this amazing place in the Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CuriousD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews