We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altiplanico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Altiplanico
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable and authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at Altiplanico for four days, we were a group of 8 (four married couples). The rooms are actually separated small villas. The bed was good, they had a walk in closet, indoor and outdoor showers. Breakfast was fine, it even had home made pies. It was served at the main building, which had nice resting areas with great views of the Pacific Ocean. The pool was OK, but we didnt´n feel like diving as the temperature in this time of the year is not more than 25 degrees celsius. But we enjoyed the hot tub! It is a better idea to book in Booking.com or Expedia because you get better prices. We booked directly trough the Hotel web page and it was 20% more expensive than our friends who did via Booking!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 3 are very near the main building. the higher the number, it gets further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    139
    52
    15
    12
See reviews for
51
180
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,415 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 658 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

One of the best hotels in the island, with some two dozens of small huts/bungalows, with nice ocean view from most of them (small drawback so, as they are really packed together instead of being spread over whole property). Rooms are nice but simple, sometimes with some trouble to get a hot water in the shower but then, it is the price of being too ecologically conscious and having most of your water sun-heated. Common areas are very nice (and very prominently exposed on the hotel web site), hotel restaurant very decent and with outstanding ocean view and location makes for a nice 20mins walk to the city. Great & helpful staff with good advice on horse riding, car rental, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
234 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great place, nice hotel, clean comfortable rooms, thank goodness NO TVs in the rooms! Big room comfy bed with mosquito netting just in case. Two showers one indoors and one outdoors.
Only drawback of the room is that there is no air conditioner. But there is a ceiling fan and other portable fans available.
Need to be careful with the door locks on the rooms, they don't lock just by closing them. You need to actually put the key in and lock it when you leave.
Shower hot water levels unsteady in the mornings.
Helpful friendly staff.

Room Tip: Kind of need to rent a car if you are staying here. You can walk into town in under 30 but its a dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent!
This hotel is well designed, rooms are separated each other, which makes all the confort of home.
The food is home made and is excellent, especially breakfasts.
The view on the see and moais is breathtaking.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Pierreg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
222 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I recently stayed at Hotel Altiplanico on my dream trip to Easter Island with a close friend of mine. We had been in search of a nice, clean, private hotel to stay at while we explored a place we had only ever hoped to visit. Hotel Altiplanico, though nicely situated near the shore just on the outskirts of Hanga Roa, was unbelievably pricey for what you got. I realize that tourism is the main driver for Easter Island's economy, but this was outrageous. For roughly $330USD/night I would expect luxury accommodations almost anywhere, but this was far from that. The individual hut-style buildings that you stay in were quaint enough, and private, but the beds were far from comfortable, the bathroom (bizarre shower room set up) was spacious yet the counter where the sink is was extremely high up. Plus, we never had hot water! They have solar panels on the roof of the hut, but for whatever reason the water never made it past room temperature. On one cool, rainy day during our visit this was really uncomfortable as there was no way to "warm up" from our day of wet, cold hiking. You couldn't really keep the windows open since the bugs would come in and sleeping with mosquito netting is far from what I think of as luxurious. The breakfast that is included is nothing extravagant - some bread for toast, some sweet cakes, sliced meats and fruit. The wi-fi only worked in the lobby (not even the breakfast area) of the hotel which was rather inconvenient. The place was fine, but certainly not worth the exorbitant price. I would suggest saving your money and staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

My son & I stayed at this hotel at end of April. Chimu Adventures organized this hotel, tours & transfers which was as usual amazing (best travel agent for SA). First impressions...lovely staff, breezy & gorgeous views! I loved this hotel not as flash as some of the other places we stayed while in Chile but still good. Rooms where comfy at first I thought the beds would be uncomfortable as low to ground but I had good sleeps. Bungalows spread out so don't hear any noise. Bathrooms a bit cold as concrete floors in shower & I think the hot water only comes on after a certain time in the morn. No minibar in room so you have to go to bar/restaurant for drinks. My one downfall no Internet in rooms & often we would be up late in communal Lounge with others on the net. I think some poor staff member would be up waiting for us all to go to bed. Bit of a hike to town so it's about $3000-4000 peso taxi fare. Didn't eat at restaurant but had a quick scan of menu looked ok but not cheap. Lovely helpful staff. Breakfasts typical SA fare yummy omelettes. Overall I liked the island vibe at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbybee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

For the price I paid, I expected a lot more. Rooms do not exactly resemble website pictures. They are in far worse condition and there's a reason why they don't post pictures of the bathroom and shower. The water for the shower is heated by a solar panel on the roof, but we had a few days of overcast so had lukewarm water to shower for 2 nights. There are no screens for the windows so you cannot open them at night unless you use the mosquito net which only covers the upper half of your body. There is no air conditioner; just a ceiling fan and desk fan so it got really hot and stuffy. There is no WIFI in rooms and you are lucky if u get 2 bars of reception in the lobby or bar area, not even the dining area. Breakfast was sloppy with bad service. Food was lying around and not properly covered so lots of flies and mosquitos while you dine. The hotel is pretty far, but along the water. However, be careful when you come back at night. The walkway into the hotel and huts are very poorly lit so you never know what you are stepping on. I would NOT come back to this hotel and do not recommend it unless they slashed their rates in half.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kplzheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
4.0 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altiplanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altiplanico

Property: Hotel Altiplanico
Address: Lote E, sector Hinere, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Altiplanico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a property of 1.5 ha the hotel has a panoramic view of the shoreline on one of the world’s most unique destinations, Altiplanico Rapanui is designed in the style of the traditional Rapanui boathouse, with luxurious gardens, a beautiful swimming pool viewing the sea and large open spaces to relax after encountering the seductive mysteries of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Altiplanico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altiplanico Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing