We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So delicious we went twice, but service not so friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Te Moana

Te Moana
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Polynesian, Seafood, Chilean, South American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Te Moana is a full-service restaurant that offers Polynesian cuisine of the highest quality and hospitality characteristic of the area in a sophisticated atmosphere .
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So delicious we went twice, but service not so friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Prawn curry is amazing and the restaurant has a lovely deck. Waitress was not very friendly both nights but food made up for this!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldT297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    350
    83
    21
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Te Moana doesn't care about their customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We made reservations for Christmas Day at Te Moana on Christmas Eve. Our reservations were for 7:30. We took a taxi to the restaurant and arrived a little before 7:30, only to find the restaurant completely shut, chairs on the tables, etc. We waited until 7:45 before deciding that we should try to find somewhere else to eat - not very easy on a small island on Christmas Day. We settled for a small pizza place within a short walk from Te Moana. Shame on you, Te Moana, for ruining our Christmas meal and not even caring to call us. They obviously do not care about their customers, and maybe didn't get enough reservations to make it "worth their while" to open the restaurant. I realize most customers won't be back to visit Easter Island, but perhaps this review can persuade some to not visit Te Moana!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EventRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delicious Ceviche”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had some of the best ceviche for lunch at Te Moana!

Go during lunch if you want to save some money, but definitely try their ceviche!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
152 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Delicious meal, portions and food/service. Like the rest of Easter Island, not cheap...but for a very nice meal out, this is the place to go.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phantphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Late afternoon snack”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Great service. Can't remember the young man's name. He was attentive, tall, fair haired with big blue eyes and schooled as a graphic designer. Fish and salad were tasty. Sat on the porch nestled in the front corner table and watched the locals and tourists go by....including a guy on his horse drop a large bottle of something alcoholic. (We could smell it!) Everyone had a good laugh, including the guy who lost control of the bottle. Recommend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tricia47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Te Moana also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Easter Island, Chile
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Te Moana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing