We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful host, good value”
Review of Cabanas Christophe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas Christophe
Ranked #1 of 33 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antarctica
Level Contributor
225 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Helpful host, good value”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week and had an incredible time. Firstly, Easter Island warrants at least a week of your travel time. There is so much to do and see besides the famed moais. Our booking experience started with very efficient replies from Christophe. He picked us up at the airport as planned and gave us a quick orientation of Hanga Roa before brining us to his place just outside the core. We had a spacious and very clean cabin with a view to the ocean and the start of the Orongo hiking trail. The first day we walked into town and it was pleasant enough but we would not have wanted to do it every day as the weather can be variable. So, a rental car is recommended not only to avoid this walk but also to provide the freedom to get to all of the incredible sights on the island. Christophe rented us a jeep at a cheaper price than we would have gotten elsewhere. The breakfast provided is pretty standard but adequate and there is coffee and tea at your disposal. We found the guidebook "A companion guide to Easter Island" that Christophe generously provided to be indispensable. Follow the advice in this guide for a great overview of the sights on the island. A tip would be do not miss the short hike to Vai Atare. It was simply one of the most spectacular views we have ever seen. The hike starts from either the Rano Kau viewpoint (go left around the crater until you reach the sea) or leave your car parked half way up the road to the crater next to the "no cars permitted" sign and walk up to the crater rim (~ 45 min.). You will not regret it! Christophe Cabanas is conveniently located at the start of the road that leads to the crater. Christophe has a good handle on the operation of his cabanas. He is always around and very approachable should you require any help. The wifi is painfully slow so don't count on using it for important correspondence but with all the sights on the island to explore you won't feel a need to be constantly plugged in. This is a very comfortable and convenient base headed by a helpful and unobtrusive host.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    39
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
74
160
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Itabirito, MG
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Fantastic! The Cabanas are very comfortable, clean and welcoming! Christophe is great buddy, kind, helpful and pleasant. Rents cars 4x4 no paperwork, essential to explore the whole island. Also provides tips on how to explore.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a beautiful view of the volcano and the Pacific Ocean. And always book a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glauber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was basically very good. Breakfast was very simple. Your milk, juice etc is in the fridge in the room and the bread, cheese etc was brought over by Christophe when you opened your curtains. The room is roomy and the location is fab. Your next to one of the national parks (one of the two you pay $60 to see). The rest is free. Christophe also arranged a hire car for us, which was outside the rooms when we got up. He also gives you a whistle stop tour of the main part of the island tourist area on arrival. The only draw back.....the Internet is so slow. FaceTime etc impossible to connect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FK66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a gracious host and wonderful place to stay. Nothing was too much trouble and given our limited skills in anything but "aussie" he was so very patient and understanding. After a weather delayed flight from Santiago we were 9 hours late, it was dark, wet and windy. Christophe picked us up at the airport after 11pm and helped us into the room. The sound of waves on the rocks made for a wonderful nights rest and this quality, clean and very comfortable accommodation made for a great stay. Thanks Christophe.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This review is little overdue as we stayed at the Cabanas back in May. We had a great time and the accommodations and the host were just wonderful. The location is great near the airport and close to town. Christophe picked us up at the airport and gave us a nice orientation tour on the way from the airport to the Cabanas. He was very helpful with any questions we had during our stay. From the Cabanas you can walk into town in about 20-30mins. We took advantage of the car rental his brother-in-law offers and the car was in great condition and took us all over the island. The roads were not the best when you weren’t going to the main tourist sites and the 4 wheel drive came in very handy as we visited a lot of the secondary sites. The Cabanas has wi-fi but it was a little slow. We were able to use it to make VoIP phone calls back to the states. The rooms don’t have TV reception but there are TVs in the rooms with a DVD player. We travel all over the planet and Doris and I would highly recommend using Cabanas Christophe when staying on Easter Island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed_Mack_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our trip started out on a bad note when our LAN flight was delayed over 14 hours due to a mechanical issue. We missed the connecting flight to Easter Island. I emailed Christohe and he was wonderful. He met us the next day. He did not charge us the $250 for the missed night. I thought that was very gracious of him. We rented a vechile from him. It was in great condition. I would highly recommend this property

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upgraded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Christophe met us at the airport with a lei and then drove us around town to point out the main sites and restaurant recommendations. He also arranged a rental car for us, during two of our days on the island. The Cabanas are an easy walk to town. Christophe is a very nice guy that has lived on the island for 20 years. He provided a guidebook written by a local to assist during our visit. The room was clean and spacious with a double bed and a set of bunk beds. He provided ham, cheese, bread and juice for breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joezed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
278 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
438 reviews
5.3 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Christophe

Property: Cabanas Christophe
Address: Mataveri, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabanas Christophe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Christophe Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing