We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really familiar!”
Review of Cafe Ra'a

Cafe Ra'a
Ranked #28 of 51 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really familiar!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

lovely food, lovely staff and really friendly. Like being at your own house! Quality vs price of the food was really good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    57
    22
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Food was not spectacular, but nice. I guess if one does not eat seafood or fish when one comes to an island, the meat and poultry specialties are not that special, :) Nice and friendly service though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Early breakfast choice on Sundays”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We ended up in Cafe Ra'a after our flight came in very early on Sunday morning. At 9 am it turned out to be the only place open, with a friendly face that seemed very welcoming.

We picked up a simple breakfast - scrambled eggs, toast, butter, jam, coffee. Portions were generous. Also available was some interesting fruit juice combinations. Coffee was freshly prepared.

The dining area is a deck overlooking the main road but well shaded by the trees in front of the place. The building itself has some character and charm - compared to some of the other choices along the road that are more "contemporary", i.e. large glass panels and simple enclosed layouts.

Prices are high like most of the island. So if you are using dollars, ask for the exchange rate upfront to avoid any unpleasant surprises.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nigeltrini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I ate here twice, both seafood dishes. The service was prompt and the food was very good. Alcohol is available, and I had Rapa Nui beer, yes, there is a brewery on Easter Island, and I enjoyed it with my meals. There is outdoor seating. Great place to watch the sunset. One of few places open on Sunday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice food”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We spent 12 more hours in Hanga Roa due to a plane delay. We got a ticket from the airline to eat here. We had two options of food. Both were good. Service was really great and the location is very nice!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Ra'a also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Cafe Ra'a? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing