We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Au bout du Monde

Au bout du Monde
Ranked #10 of 50 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive and Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

All the restaurants are expensive, this was just the poorest service and no redeeming features.Hot inside, Advertised entertainment but no one was there or setting up while we were there

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SouthAmericanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    142
    48
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food, totally unexpected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our hotel recommended we try the Au bout du Monde, and we're so glad we did. We're not crazy about French food, generally,but this was so beyond that. FIrst entry impressions were mediocre, but the gal that waited on us was prompt and nice. We had ricotta ravioli for starters, which was clearly freshly made and good. Hubby had steak with veggies and au gratin potatoes - some of the best we've ever tasted. I had prawns (or shrimp) in coconut milk, also very good. His was better though. We were so full, we could not do dinner or coffee. Highly recommend, and the price was 55,500 CP including a wine, a beer and a cocktail. Pricey but really good, esp for being way out in the middle of nowhere!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We loved this place - the food was just great and good value!

We had fish and prawns - and it was just delicious.
Eating out on Easter Island is rather costy - but it was definitely worth it in this place! (The dayly offers come at a good price.)
Yammy!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely staff and nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My window table had a lovely view of the sea and a beachside moai. Make sure to visit Ahu Tahai before and enjoy the sunset.

I had a delicious and well presented vegetable curry (although with an unnecessary and small and ordinary salad which slightly spoiled the look) with rice presented in a banana leaf cone.

The staff were welcoming, cheerful and fast.

There is an upstairs terrace but they don't use it in the evening because it gets too cold with the sea breeze.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

As a Belgian visiting a restaurant owned by belgians in the other side of the world, I was very excited to go. but at the end, I ended up dissapointed. Food is good, view is wonderful on the sunset, but service is not nice, and very slow. But please if you go, keep a little space for the chocolate mousse which is like heaven!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JP3277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au bout du Monde also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Easter Island, Chile
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Au bout du Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing