We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabanas Tautira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabanas Tautira
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We highly recommend Cabanas Tautira! We had a wonderful and relaxing time staying here.

Jorge picked us up at the airport and again took us to the airport with lei greetings both times, it was a nice touch. He gave us a tour around town, showing us where everything was before taking us to the cabin. It was a nice place with two bedrooms, everything was clean and roomy for our family of 5. With fully equipped kitchen, we were able to prepare many wonderful meals there after exploring the island. Location was perfect, it was only a block in from Main street so it was quiet but at the same time close to everything. Supermarket is right next door so you don't need to go far in case you need milk or something.

Jorge's brother Juan who is equally wonderful helped arranged car rental and tours. He compared the prices, called around and made sure we got great value and we appreciated that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
31
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed in one of Juan`s bungalows for almost three weeks and I really enjoyed every day. I especially appreciated the very spacious terrace. Also the bungalow was very spacious for only one person, and it provided everything I needed to feel home. The interior is simple but everything worked fine. I found a clothes drying rack as well as a flat iron and an ironing board - important if you want to stay for a longer time. The kitchen was equipped with everything that was necessary to prepare your own meals, and especially the shower was perfect. There was hot water all the time. The cabanas are located very centrally in Hanga Roa. Main street is in very short walking distance, and there is a small "supermarket" just next door. Juan and his family were very friendly and they really cared for me so that I felt comfortable. I will definitely stay there again when I will come back to Rapa Nui next time! It is an absolutely recommendable place and worth the money. Everything is quite expensive on the island and you can save a lot of money if you prepare your own meals. It was my third visit to the island and I had spent much more money when I had stayed in hotels and had to go out for dinner every night.
PS: If you want to stay there please bring a good can opener. The one in the cabana is not very good and I couldn`t find a place to buy one in Hanga Roa.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Cabanas Tautira
My wife and I stayed at Tautira for four nights in March and would highly recommend it. I was expecting a rustic “cabin” but instead it’s more like a modern two bedroom apartment with plenty of space, patio with furniture, etc. It was very clean and the property is well maintained. We ate in almost everyday (we did some grocery shopping in Santiago before our flite) and that saved us a lot of money. And the rate Tautira charges is a bargain.

Tautira is owned by two brothers, Juan and Jorge, and they each own a house on the property so there is always someone available if both brothers are out. But despite the proximity, they respect your privacy, which I appreciated.

The brothers and their team are very helpful. Anytime we needed something (call for a taxi, extra towels, etc.) they handled it right away and seemed very pleased at the opportunity to do something for us. They arranged a car rental for us and when we told them about the hike we were going to take they went over the map with us to make sure we would not get lost. Then they suggested an alternate starting point that turned out to be much better than our original plan.

One thing I was really grateful for was that there was no attempt to sell us any extra services. My wife and are pretty independent travelers, we rarely hire guides or go on organized excursions. In other places we have stayed we have felt pressured by the hotel owner to sign up for their guided tour because they make money on that. Not at Tautira, they were totally happy to let us go on our own way if we wanted. That was a relief. To put this in perspective, I had a pair of pants that needed laundering, which they took care of right away. When I checked out, I noted it was not on the bill. Jorge shrugged it off, it was just a pair of pants. Now, I am not saying you will get free laundry service here, just saying that they are not out to nickel and dime you.

Tautira is located two blocks from the main drag so it is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants and the caleta. Getting a taxi to the see the sights further afield was not a problem.

I would definitely recommend Tautira.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flat_Planet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Fully self-contained 2 bedroom unit - very close to restaurants and food markets. Handy for self catering (especially with small kids). Clean but had problems with the hot water in the shower but didn't bother us that much.
2 units beside each other but no-one was staying in other unit while we were there. One of the owners lives in the same yard and able to be contacted if need any help.
Owners were extremely friendly and helpful - collecting us from the airport, recommending restaurants/sites and helping organise car rental.
Kids loved the big yard and trampoline.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oh_crumbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The cabins are in a great location, just off the main street. They have all you need, hot shower with plenty of hot water, good sized comfortable bed, two gas hobs and microwave and large fridge. Everything was clean and one of the owners lives on site and is very helpful and friendly. There is also wifi, though it is very slow. Given the cost of everything in Easter Island is high, these cabins represent excellent value for money. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkatem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, PA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

You will be renting the equivalent of a 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen including refrigerator, microwave, and utensils. There are only 2 units here, so on the other side there is another 2 bedroom apartment in the same building. Juan, the owner, lives in a house across the lot. He is beyond helpful and for those of you who are weak on Spanish, also speaks English which helped us immensely.

The apartment is nice. The one we had contained a double bed and two twin beds. There is no heat or air conditioning because it isn't needed. The temperature on Easter Island is just about right all of the time.

The location of this place is really good. There is only one town on Easter Island, but depending where you are, you could be a very long walk from food or restaurants. This place is a mere two blocks from 5 or so food markets, a couple of souvenir shops, and probably about 10 restaurants, including the place where the native dancing show takes place a few times a week. Go see that while you are there. Two car rental places were also only a couple of blocks away.

We were picked up at the airport and taken back to the airport and that was included in the price. We hired a local guide for our first two days on the island and I recommend everybody do that. You learn so much about the history of the island in that way.

The lone drawback to the place is not the fault of the owner. Chickens and dogs roam the streets of Easter Island and at night like to bark, cackle, etc. Would recommend you bring along some background music/white noise if you are a light sleeper.

All in all, the experience on Easter Island was completely memorable and Juan's guidance helped make it even more so. There are no real large hotels on the island so most options are small hotels or guest houses. Explora, the all-inclusive place, is in a whole other price range. If you are looking for a nice place to stay, close to everything, Cabanas Tautira is the place. To be complete, if you want a room on the ocean, you will need to look elsewhere. The apartment is a few blocks from the ocean in a residential neighborhood. There is only one beach for all intents and purposes on Easter Island and it is 10 miles from town with no nearby accomodations. The ocean is nice to look at, but no hotel gives you an option of staying where you can swim simply because of the geography of the island.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

We ran from another cabana to this one at the last minute and I must say, we lucked out. Juan is an excellent host and a true ambassador of the island and its culture.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prokure69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.2 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#8 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#7 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tautira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tautira

Property: Cabanas Tautira
Address: Tuki Haka Hevari Sin Numero Esquina Avareipua, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2717100, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Tautira 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tautira Bungalows, Easter Island. Come and meet this beautiful spot, plenty of beauty and tradition, enjoying our friendly services, comfortable facilities and unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabanas Tautira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tautira Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing