We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”
Review of Cabanas Tautira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabanas Tautira
Certificate of Excellence
Lewistown, PA
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

You will be renting the equivalent of a 2 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen including refrigerator, microwave, and utensils. There are only 2 units here, so on the other side there is another 2 bedroom apartment in the same building. Juan, the owner, lives in a house across the lot. He is beyond helpful and for those of you who are weak on Spanish, also speaks English which helped us immensely.

The apartment is nice. The one we had contained a double bed and two twin beds. There is no heat or air conditioning because it isn't needed. The temperature on Easter Island is just about right all of the time.

The location of this place is really good. There is only one town on Easter Island, but depending where you are, you could be a very long walk from food or restaurants. This place is a mere two blocks from 5 or so food markets, a couple of souvenir shops, and probably about 10 restaurants, including the place where the native dancing show takes place a few times a week. Go see that while you are there. Two car rental places were also only a couple of blocks away.

We were picked up at the airport and taken back to the airport and that was included in the price. We hired a local guide for our first two days on the island and I recommend everybody do that. You learn so much about the history of the island in that way.

The lone drawback to the place is not the fault of the owner. Chickens and dogs roam the streets of Easter Island and at night like to bark, cackle, etc. Would recommend you bring along some background music/white noise if you are a light sleeper.

All in all, the experience on Easter Island was completely memorable and Juan's guidance helped make it even more so. There are no real large hotels on the island so most options are small hotels or guest houses. Explora, the all-inclusive place, is in a whole other price range. If you are looking for a nice place to stay, close to everything, Cabanas Tautira is the place. To be complete, if you want a room on the ocean, you will need to look elsewhere. The apartment is a few blocks from the ocean in a residential neighborhood. There is only one beach for all intents and purposes on Easter Island and it is 10 miles from town with no nearby accomodations. The ocean is nice to look at, but no hotel gives you an option of staying where you can swim simply because of the geography of the island.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We ran from another cabana to this one at the last minute and I must say, we lucked out. Juan is an excellent host and a true ambassador of the island and its culture.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prokure69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iqiuque
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The cabana we stayed in was immaculately clean when we arrived and everything worked just as it should. Whenever we had an issue with something (a light bulb going out, a power outage, needing extra sheets) Jorge and Juan (the owners) would gladly take care of it immediately. The price was very reasonable considering the cabanas location and everything included. Jorge and Juan were incredibly welcoming and helpful, giving us tips on how to best take advantage of our time on the island. They even let us borrow a surfboard and invited us to a barbecue!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We loved Tautira Cabins! The place was two blocks from the main street of Hanga Roa and right next door to a grocery store. Juan, the owner, was extremely kind and helpful. He arranged for our car rental, provided us with excellent advice about what to do on the island and even helped my husband wrap up a piece of art he bought so we could get it home safely. He checked in on us and made sure we were happy. The cabin has everything you need to make your own meals and to relax after a day of sightseeing. The cabins are well-designed and spacious and the beds are comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the patio for breakfast and to write postcards. We would recommend this place to anyone visiting Easter Island. We stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OttawaSnowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

The cabanas are really well located and very good value compared to other options that I researched. It's great having your own space, and in particular being able to cook in, given how expensive eating out in the restauarants can be on the Island. Juan was very helpful and welcoming, always around to give advice or help, but never intrusive. I feel a bit bad giving 3 for sleep quality... that was the fault of the dogs and cockerels and nothing to do with Tautira!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The owners of the Cabanas, Jorge and Juan, are very good and welcoming hosts and offer very decent Cabanas for a reasonable price (airport transfer included!). Staying with them made our stay on Estern Island even more special.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damaAMSTERDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Looking for a place to stay with my husband and 3 kids we found on the web Cabañas Tautira, owened by Juan and Jorge Pakomio.
The place is only 2 blocks away from the main avenue, close to everything. They were built in Feb 2008 so they are in great conditions. It has a comfortable kitchen and nice beds, with TV and phone. It also included (which was very nice for me) some essentials like: salt, dishsoap, oil and cleaning items . You can imagine how important this is when you are a group of 5 staying for a week....and considering that food and supplies are very expensive on the island: almost 3 times the cost of things in Santiago, Chile.
Juan and Jorge are very nice and friendly, and helped us planning our excursions...I strongly recommend them.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kintun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.2 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 16 in Hanga Roa
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tiare Pacific
Hotel Tiare Pacific
#4 of 16 in Hanga Roa
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mana Nui Inn
Mana Nui Inn
#12 of 16 in Hanga Roa
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tautira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tautira

Property: Cabanas Tautira
Address: Tuki Haka Hevari Sin Numero Esquina Avareipua, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2717100, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Tautira 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tautira Bungalows, Easter Island. Come and meet this beautiful spot, plenty of beauty and tradition, enjoying our friendly services, comfortable facilities and unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabanas Tautira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tautira Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing