We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, comfortable place to lay your head down”
Review of Hotel Manavai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manavai
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable place to lay your head down”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

If you're in favor of a more up-scale place to stay, this may not be for you. While the room was comfortable and suited my needs, it was just that, which is what I look for when I travel: comfortable bed and a clean bathroom but not much more. The breakfast was good and filling every morning. The staff was excellent and extremely friendly, helping me schedule daily tours and giving helpful tips on how to make the most of my trip. If I ever go back or if a friend were to go to Easter Island, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndsayLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    63
    26
    13
    14
See reviews for
22
64
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paraná
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014

the hotel presents itself with a lot of flowers and trees, and thus makes lovers of nature feel truly comfortable.
the owner, a friendly and outgoing lady from the big appleh as settled perfectly into the environment and her and her native staff make the stay in this place an unforgettable experience.
there's nothing she can't arrange for you and it ist done with a smile and by getting you real value for money.
it's not a five star luxury but decent and what it misses in luxury it gives double by the treatment and being within nature.

Room Tip: they are all equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights. Central location and very helpful staff. Hot & delicious daily breakfast with coffee was enjoyed. Unfortunately the pool was being cleaned and not available until the morning of our departure date. There was a quiet lounge area with view of ocean. Mosquitoes were BAD, I had 33% deet and it did not stop those nasty insects from biting me.
Kim, a former New Yorker was helping at the hotel reception during our stay and was most helpful with tips on getting around the island, hiking trails and restaurant recommendations. it was most appreciated!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyGapYear1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a horrible experience at this hotel and do not recommend it to anyone not even my dog! The female manager is beyond reproach and I consider her even dangerous.She was inpolite and aggressive in her communication to us... I urge you to STAY AWAY!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tausa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hanga Roa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hotel Manavai is located at the heart of Easter Island. The ambience of the hotel is soooo wonderful that it is surrounded by greenery; it is soothing to your eyes. This hotel has great ambience with great views that will take your breath away. Most importantly the description of rooms, rooms are clean, airy and spacious and obviously, smells fresh because greenery all over. Views from all the rooms are beautiful. Architecture of the hotel is simple yet it is unique and artistic. The rooms are well-managed equipped with all the amenities that are necessary for daily use. Staff of the hotel has welcoming nature towards each guest and offers comfortable stay at economical price. You will find peace and touch of Easter Island’s culture at every corner of the hotel. Above all, this hotel is just an ideal place to stay with all the basic luxuries. Basically, I did not find any fault in the location, service and management. I highly recommend this hotel for perfect and comfortable stay in Easter Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chhris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I spent four nights at Hotel Manavai at the beginning of October. The hotel is quite nice, very good value for money. The included breakfast is not a free buffet, but it is quite filling: toasts with butter and marmalade, scrumbled eggs, juice, coffe, milk, bread, a small cake and some fruit. Since in the island there is no public transport, unless you are thinking of renting a car (which becomes quite expensive), it is important that the hotel is close to downown. You can walk from Manavai all around Hanga Roa, which is pretty good.

The WiFi is really slow, but it is like that all around the island. Internet goes by satellite and there is no much that can be done on this matter.

Finally, the staff is extraordinarly nice and friendly. They are happy to help, to talk, to tell you about the island and to help you organize trips. I have personally recommended Manavai to some other friends and I would definitely choose it again for my next stay in the island.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stay in this hotel at 21-25 March, 2013, two couples.
It was very clean, hot water, air conditioner, excellent tropical breakfast, free working internet, wonderful tropical garden with swimming pool, hammocks, sun beds on the roof.. .
The stuff was friendly and helpful, and the owner, Benjamin, was personally present most of the time. We had some problem and we have to order a bus from Santiago in Spanish. He seat with us more than two hours, used his personal ID (because only Chilean citizen could order bus thru Internet), suggest us to use his credit card. I will never forget his help.
Location of the hotel is the best in the city, close to the colorful fishermen's port, restaurants, and tour companies.
The hotel has a private minibus and the owner of the hotel, Benjamin, took us to the Airport.
It is one of the best hotels on the Island. I am saying that after ordering thru Internet another hotel, price close to Manavai, and when I arrived I found it full of insects, broken bathroom, dirty dining room, but the description in internet was very tempting…

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
1.4 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manavai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manavai

Property: Hotel Manavai
Address: Avenida Te Pito Ote Henua 1945, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Location: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manavai 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Manavai is a Hotel with Polynesian characteristics amidst natural surroundings. Comfortable rooms a pool with natural rock formation immersed in a tropical garden adorned with stone sculptures in what you will find here. We are an Oasis in the middle of town, just steps from the ocean, restaurants, shops, craft market, supermarket, post office and the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manavai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manavai Hotel Hanga Roa
Hotel Manavai Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing