We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing, excellent view of the ocean!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cabanas Matavai

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Hanga Roa, Easter Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
LucyH2165
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, excellent view of the ocean!”
Reviewed December 29, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely little cabana, very helpful and friendly owner. The cabaña has a wonderful ocean view, just five minute walk from all the restaurants in Hanga Roa. Just beautiful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2016
Buenas tardes Lucy : Gracias por su opinión, fue muy grato tenerlos como huéspedes, cuando quieran volver serán bienvenidos, que tengan un muy buen feliz nuevo año, Saludos, Violeta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olipa
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice owner”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed 4 nights in this accommodation formerly (and still) known as Te Ora. The owner Violeta greeted us friendly and explained us some things about the Easter Island in Spanish. The apartment was nicely located at the sea, so you could hear the waves all the time. It had a nice patio to sit outside and was 10 minutes walk from the center. We had a flight at midnight but Violeta let us stay until our (included) transfer arrived at 10pm. One minus point for cleanliness which could have been a bit better and the even for island status bad Internet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2016
Estimado Patrick. Muchas gracias por su opinión. Le cuento que llevamos 7 meses trabajando como Matavai. Antes las cabañas pertenecían a otra persona con el nombre Te' ora, estamos en proceso de mejoras por lo que pronto seremos totalmente Matavai. Saludos y también a su novia. Cariños.Violeta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonopunja...
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

it was our 1st trip to easter island with my partner and we really had an amazing time, the owner Violeta was very helpful and guided us whatever we needed.
The cabañas are located right in front of the sea which we were looking for.
Would surely go & stay back again!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Estimado Bonopunjabi : me siento muy contenta de que haya disfrutado su estadía en la cabaña, y estoy gustosa de recibirlo a usted y a su partner nuevamente, muchos saludos, Violeta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gracie_tr...
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Homely and well located”
Reviewed October 27, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were so pleased we chose Violeta's place as our little home on Easter Island. The location is perfect - in a peaceful corner of Hang Roa, a few minutes walk from the seafront restaurants and main street. The room (downstairs, with its own kitchen) was comfortable, clean, well equipped and homely - it also has a porch where we loved relaxing and listening to the waves. We would definitely recommend this room. Violeta was a great host and on hand to answer any questions.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Estimada Lisa : me alegro que le gustó la cabaña , Agradezco mucho sus palabras , estoy feliz de haberlos tenido como huéspedes, saludos, Violeta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watershed...
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, friendly manager, a bit basic.”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Violeta, the manager, was quite helpful and friendly. The suite was not the one we booked,but that was ok. This is a step above basic, reasonable value for the price. The big bonus is the location, across the street from the ocean. We slept with a sea breeze and the roar of the surf. It's an easy walk to the best ice cream in one direction and the town Main Street in the other.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and friendly service
Liked least: Hot water intermittent, kitchen equipment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Dear Peter.
Thank you for your very helpful feedback. It is important to me that my guests feel safe and comfortable and so I work hard to see that Matavai cabins are maintained in very good condition. Unfortunately, materials are not readily available on our little, isolated island, making repairs delayed, at times. But I do strive to make all repairs before guests arrive. I’ve been in this business for 6 months and my goal is that Matavai cabins will continue to earn excellent ratings. A warm greeting to you and your wife.
Iorana, Violeta.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saeeda H
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Magical Place to discover one's heart”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved our beach front home away from home. Violeta & her team were great. We plan to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being right near the beach and the hospitality
Liked least: Going in winter. Will return in December 2016 or 2017
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2016
Muchas Gracias Saeeda: Fue muy grato para nosotros tenerte en una de nuestras cabañas, y estaremos felices de recibir a usted y su marido todas las veces que quieran regresar a la isla. saludos, Violeta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Si0bhanD
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Lovely simple accommodation ”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a great week staying in the smallest cabin at Matavai. It is a small room with a comfortable bed, a bathroom, and a semi outdoor kitchen. You can see and hear the sea from the cabin, so we enjoyed several evenings just sitting reading on the patio. It's also close to good restaurants.

Violeta was very welcoming, told us how to get about, booked our tour for us, and sorted us out with Taxis etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Gracias por su opinión. También tenemos cabañas más grandes de acuerdo a los requerimientos de cada cliente.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing