We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to like”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elm Grove Country House
Ranked #2 of 6 St. Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Flintshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What's not to like”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Although we had to cut our planned stay short due to my fathers ill health I can only recommend this lovely B and B from the moment we arrived the owners made us feel completly at home. Nothing was to much trouble and we intend to return next year. Anyone who wants to explore the Pembrokeshire Coast around this lovely area could find a better base.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59jandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    25
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
107
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Set in its own grounds of 30 acres and approached via a tree lined private drive Elm Grove is a welcome escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. The only thing that might disturb you here at night are the owls! Yet Tenby and its many attractions is very close, and a number of other great places to visit virtually within walking distance.

The house which dates from the 1840s has high ceilings, chandeliers, beautiful mouldings and many paintings; unsurprising given that the owner is an artist. Our room with a four poster bed was both comfortable and spacious. Our host was most welcoming and kind and this greatly enhanced our stay. Our young grandchildren enjoyed the opportunity to use the playground equipment in the grounds.

We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Look at the website photos and speak to the owner about your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candymiller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a comfortable, relaxing B and B! Every little detail is taken care of, the beds are comfortable with lots of pillows, my room had a bath and shower to soak away the aches of a busy day, the breakfasts are delicious and well cooked and most of all the hosts and staff are friendly and welcoming.

I booked a single room and on my arrival was given a large double room as I was staying for a few nights.

I most defiantly recommend Elm Grove House to anyone, and will be back some time to explore some more of this beautiful part of Wales.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bear_also_Clayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from a stay at The Elm Grove. My bedroom was like something from a Jane Austen novel - beautiful views from my windows. Stunning location, delicious breakfast and the owners are SO hospitable. Go there!

Room Tip: Room 4 has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I was going to Wales to find somewhere to "run away to the seaside" as I am living a long way away from my roots in Northumberland. We were very well looked after, with tasty breakfasts and comfortable beds, very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just returned from the most amazing week at Elm Grove! Having never done a holiday in Wales before we were excited to explore the surrounding areas with the most relaxing, comfortable Guest House to come back to each day!
The room was just exceptional, king size bed with more pillows than I could count! Bath robes, water and biscuits everyday and even a teddy bear on the bed to welcome us which is great value to buy and take home! (He now sits on my bed at home!) Elm Grove does a number of small things which make your stay so relaxing and welcoming, from putting a flask in your room for you to use during your stay if your going for walks to having a DVD collection and Book collection for you to use throughout your stay!

The breakfast was lovely, every morning the staff were friendly and helpful giving us tips on where to visit, the choice at breakfast is fantastic and quality top notch! Alan and Jane are brilliant hosts, giving you daily tips and getting anything you need throughout your stay. The house is so welcoming, a great place to stay to explore the local area.

The location is perfect, 5 mins from Tenby and Manobier Beaches, We loved Saundersfoot for an evening walk along the harbour and had some fantastic meals in the local restaurants. Elm Grove is in the perfect position to explore all the fantastic sites and walks in South Wales. We were really impressed with the amount of things to do, there are 2 theme parks within 10 mins drive, a zoo, water park and lots of castles to visit. We usually do an action packed holiday so this was very different for us and we absolutely loved it and met some lovely people at the guest house. The grounds it is situated in are beautiful, we enjoyed sitting out at the end of the day having a drink in the gardens.

We will definitely be visiting again and recommending to our family and friends. Can't wait to go back, after a 7 night stay we were sad to leave! A fantastic holiday........a hidden gem!

Hayley & Rick

Room Tip: All rooms are different so ask about which would suit you best. We loved our top floor double with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyWaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fantastic stay. We stayed twice - at the beginning of a cycle trip round Wales and at the end. Lovely people, fantastic service, beautiful place. Would recommend to anyone! Excellent food, the location is nice, very convenient for travelling around, pretty village, nice couple of pubs but I'd really recommend eating in Elm Grove - not that the one pub we tried wasn't good, it was fine but Elm Grove was really very good for dinner and the breakfast will last you all day! Well worth a visit - you'll feel great as soon as you start to drive up the driveway!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Florence
0.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#7 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Grove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Grove Country House

Property: Elm Grove Country House
Address: St Florence, St. Florence, Tenby SA70 8LS, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > St. Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Grove Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elm Grove is a family run, four-star Country House. This elegant Georgian house is situated in its own grounds in the picturesque village of St. Florence, 3 miles from Tenby. All the individually decorated rooms are en-suite with excellent facilities including TV, DVD player,satellite TV, telephone, tea and coffee, bottled waters and bath robes. Guests can experience a tasteful mix of marble fireplaces, paneled doorways and large picture windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Elm Grove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Grove Country Hotel
Elm Grove Country Tenby
Elm Grove Country House St. Florence, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing