We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel le Pradet(Vacqueyras)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
139
10
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
10
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingsouthern rhonefarm housewine countrycroissantsgoogle mapswell appointed kitchenaix en provencelonger staydifferent wineriescharlesmasvineyardsorangehostsaugustinapartment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 155 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were looking for a unique place to stay for our 5 days in Provence and found Charles and Andree's B&B. From the moment we arrived we felt very welcomed. We stayed in the Mistral room - it was great to have a large place to call home for a few days. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great. Having a fridge was very handy as well.

Both Andree and Charles were great resources for exploring the region and their Mas was perfectly located for day trips. We were also fortunate enough to take the wine tour and enjoy a fantastic home-cooked dinner afterwards. Charles is very knowledgeable and his tour was so much more than just wine tasting - it was a wonderful afternoon. Andree is a fantastic cook and her dinner was a great treat! It really was an unforgettable experience.

All in all, we enjoyed our time in Provence which was enhanced by our stay at the Mas. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory-TheresaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Owner at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Dear Cory & Theresa,
Thank you so much ! Your words are very rewarding for both of us. I'm glad that you have found that the additional documents sent by email after the wine tour were interesting. That is a good means to deepen your wine tasting knowledge. MERCI again for staying with us !

Charles & Andrée

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

If you are looking for a charming experience, this is the place to stay. We loved the quaint, yet equipped apartment which contained all of the essentials that we needed for our 3 day stay - and boasted an amazing view of a vineyard. The location is ideally situated between a few small towns including Orange and Avignon, which we explored during our stay, and is surrounded by local wineries and tasting cellars. The owners of the property, Charles and Andree were very accommodating, and were kind enough to give us recommendations for local restaurants and attractions. Their two dogs were also very sweet and added to the charm of their countryside home! We will definitely return to Mas du Close de l'Escarrat when we are able to vacation in the south of France again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Owner at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Canadian guests : your compliments about le Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat are very nice and we are always so proud to get the 5 stars rating from most of our guests ! I will also give a special treat (on your behalf..) to Titus and Auguste, our 2 dogs. They are always very polite with the guests and the invisible fence prevents them from visiting the guests in their room or while they are eating on the terrace. Before installing the invisible fence our previous dog (Dear white Lab" Hortense") was immediately paying a visit when she was hearing plate, glass or forks noises... Now she rests in peace in our garden at the foot of 3 beautiful Florence cypresses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We chose this B&B so that we might visit some vineyards. We took the wine tour. It was a wonderful day. The apartment was wonderful, and the view and house very lovely. The wine tour was very interesting and enjoyable. Nice just to be taken around and we would never have had such an experience on our own.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Owner at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Liza it is very kind of you to take the time to write this review.
What is mostly interesting in your comment is "we would never have had such an experience on our own". Indeed the tour I'm proposing is very special and the wineries which are visited are all different regarding their type of wines and their aspect.
Thank you again for your review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at this beautiful, quiet and peaceful Mas in the heart of southern Rhone. Our apartment was clean, fresh, nicely decorated, spacious and very comfortable! Charles and Andree were a pure delight to talk with and had fantastic recommendations for villages, open markets, or chateaus to visit. The ambience and atmosphere is very welcoming as well. Our stay in Provence was the best part of our 3 week trip in Europe! We look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Citygirl782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Propriétaire at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2012

Thank you so much for this kind review. ! You were among these lucky travelers who can take their time to visit a country. This is why we have been able to give you as much informations as possible about where to go, what to do etc... After 16 years as B&B owners welcoming mostly American tourists, we may sometimes act as a travel agency ! It is always a pleasure to give informations which are adapted to the personal and specific interests of the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

It is hard to put to words how beautiful and peaceful this Mas is. The view of the vineyard, Mont Ventoux and les Dentelles is breathtaking! The apartment was very charming, comfortable and clean, it was a lovely home away from home. Charles and Andree were the most welcoming hosts and went above and beyond to make sure my stay was the perfect, relaxing vacation I was hoping for. I will never forget the overwhelming feeling of peace the Mas provided for me. The Wine tasting tour with Charles was also exceptional. I couldn't imagine a better experience. I was able to take in the beautiful views of nearby villages while Charles drove. We visited the perfect variety of vineyards and I learned more than I ever expected. It was a wonderful experience staying at the Mas, I will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escarrat, Owner at Mas du Clos de l'Escarrat, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Merci KW for this very nice review.
What is more significant for me are your words " it was a lovely home away from home". We really like when our guests feel comfortable and enjoy a family type atmosphere with polite dogs used to be petted by many many friends from so many different countries... By luck they understand all languages !
The wine tour is generally well appreciated by the guests. It means it's worth its cost ! Thank you again dear KW for your words. We're waiting for your next visit !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews