We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and staff”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Attended a wedding in the step house. Food was excellent . Staff very attentive. Rooms were lovely very spacious but not soundproof but as we were attending a wedding it didn't really matter. Garden was very pretty.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    71
    20
    11
    6
See reviews for
103
183
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Myself and my partner who is ill at the moment spent 2 wonderful days in the Step House Hotel. The experience was fantastic from the moment I booked to the moment we left. The staff are so friendly and professional and made the stay very memorable for us especially Pascal in the bar who went out of his way to facilitate our every need. The rooms are very comfortable and we had a lovely view of the garden. The food was delicious. We did not eat in the restaurant as my partner was not up to it and ate both nights in the bar and were told all food is cooked in the one kitchen and indeed it was fantastic. Thank you to all the wonderful staff in the Step House Hotel and we will be back

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 505annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I'm just back from a long weekend of joy and happiness ..my son and his wonderful bride were married in the beautiful church in Borris and had their reception in The Step House Hotel from start to finish it was a fairy tale :) The drinks reception was on the lovely grounds ..the dining room was splenderous .. the staff were brilliant and looked after everyone with great care and attention. .food was excellent ..rooms gorgeous ..views to die for ..I will definitely revisit :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mariahoo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We spent two nights in the Step house hotel on a Grab one offer, a long drive from Belfast but worth every mile, quite simply this hotel must be one of the best hotels in Ireland, fantastic staff, food, luxury surroundings, attention to every slight detail. Rooms and public spaces total luxury, lovely gardens, the food was without doubt the best we have ever had and service to match, love to go back again. Thanks to all at the Step house, a real gem in rural Carlow.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have fantastic views of Mount Leinster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVIDMCKEOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at Stephouse Hotel after having lunch there. Went to the restaurant that night. Although it was quiet (Sunday night) there are lots of little secluded areas so you don't feel like you are in a big empty room. Service was excellent. We both had the starter of hake on a bed of risotto. Was really good. I had the monkfish as a main. Was so delicious. It was fresh and came with mussels scattered throughout the sauce. The boy had the steak and let me taste. Again cooked as he requested and a good cut of meat. Came with a bowl of spuds and broccoli. He hates broccoli so that would be my only criticism. To put a few different veggies in the bowl although I am sure if we'd asked they would have sorted something else. Would go back anytime. Bar food was great too btw!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We attended the tasting menu on Friday 16th May.We have been attending The Step House for years and it always is top class.On friday night the tasting menu did not suit my husband and without any fuss the owner and the head chef organized a wonderful alternative for him.The Step is a treat to enjoy whenever possible.We stayed in room 310 which has a beautiful four poster bed and a view of the entrance of Borris House.The staff are a wonderful asset and cannot do enough to care for the guests. Seamus and Therese

Room Tip: Rooms at thebackin the new building have a wonderful of Mount Leinster.Rooms on the front view the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathshem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We recently held our wedding at The Step House Hotel. The venue was amazing overall. Right through all of the planning and organisation to the day itself. Angela, the wedding coordinator, was a pleasure to work with and was really helpful. She answered all of our emails and phonecalls promptly and made the planning process very easy. On the night before and the day of the wedding itself, all of the hotel staff were extremely attentive and professional. No request was too big or too small and they all did their upmost to ensure the day was very special for all of the guests and for us.
The meal was fantastic.
If anyone is thinking of booking a wedding or function at this venue, I would highly recommend it. The bar food is very reasonably priced for the high quality. Some of the wedding party enjoyed a meal in the restaurant the night before and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner of the hotel, James Coady, made sure to meet us and chat to us too. The penthouse suite is just fabulous as are all of the rooms. I could go on and on with my review, but really the bottom line is, if you are thinking of staying, eating, booking an event.. Do it, it won't disappoint. I can't wait to return to stay for a night again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
12.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
15.5 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
9.6 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
12.0 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,024 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Millrace Hotel
The Millrace Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bunclody
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Property: Step House Hotel
Address: Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step House Hotel Borris, County Carlow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing