We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
New Ross, Ireland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have just returned from an excellent (long) Sunday lunch in the 1808 Bar at the Step House. I was one of a party of 6 so we were able to sample most of the dishes on the menu - in short the meal was excellent. Everybody had 3 courses and it was clean plates all round. Highlights for me were the fish cakes, pheasant and foie gras and the pork belly from the appetisers. The roast sirloin server medium rare and the fennel sauce on the sea bream were the highlights from the mains (and the fabulous mashed potato). All the desserts were great as was the (all Irish) cheeseboard. Lovely staff (and the fact that my brother in law was paying) completed what was a very pleasant afternoon. I will return to the Step House to sample their dinner menu.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBWexford_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    67
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
99
173
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We are just back from an overnight stay in the step house hotel. We were on a child free break. From arrival to our departure the staff were super friendly. On arrival they arranged a local lady to provide a massage in her place. We were then booked in for dinner. The dinner was definitely the highlight. It was exquisite and as good as some top restaurants in Dublin. It was reasonably priced for the quality. In terms of service, the wait staff were v friendly and good. However they were slow to come over after the meal to fill our water glasses and take further drinks order. We did not mind but from a commercial view we may have ordered more drink if they did follow up more.
In terms of the superior room we booked , it was lovely and spacious and comfortable. It was also v quiet and we slept v soundly. We had a great view of mount Leinster.
The town of Borris is well preserved and lovely to walk through.
Overall I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the hotel and it also looks like a fab wedding spot.

Y

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Straw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on a random Monday afternoon when passing through Borris. The menu choices were superb (both regular foods like soup, sandwiches, stew, burger, etc. as well as some more unusual choices like rabbit!). The food was delicious, excellently flavoured and perfect sized portions. The serving ladies in the restaurant were the best. So happy, helpful and attentive when serving us. They give the place a lovely atmosphere, and we were left wanting for nothing. I would definately go back time and time again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

They know how to cook here. The menu was impressive for a small hotel- two fish courses.

I had the plaice fillets. It was really well presented and cooked with delicacy. No plastic chips here! Great value too. Well done all!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Today i arrived at the Step house hotel with my wife and little girl for Sunday lunch at 1pm and we ordered our starters and main course which took a few minutes. 30 minutes later our starters arrived so we were off to a bad start. Finished our starters and waited for main course, when we were about to fall asleep it arrived. They do a Sunday lunch special which was one course 14 euro, two courses 22 euro and three courses 25 euro. We were eating in the bar. So then we waited for dessert which only arrived after i caught the attention of staff who seem to have forgot about us. Over all it took 1 hour, 40 minutes from start to finish. You would not want to be in a hurry to go any where after food. We were not hidden away in a corner, we were in the middle of the bar area and staff did not seem to be that busy as i could see a few of them standing around talking instead of looking after customers. Food was good but the waiting around for service was as bad as it gets.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hi we just had a lovely few days in the step house hotel. The food and service were exceptional very friendly and helpful staff.The owners are very friendly and warm people.The standards in the hotel are first class and the location ideal for walking along the excellent river barrow toe path.
T&P Tobin

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groveland, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had our wedding in the Step house in September 2013 and everything was absolutely perfect. The staff there are amazing and couldn't have done more for us from start to finish. They really did make our day extremely special.
My, wife and I and both are families have eaten and stayed there on many occasions now and each stay was better than the last. The food that the chef Alan prepares is up there with anything in Ireland.
For anyone looking for a relaxed peaceful break or a perfect wedding venue I cannot recommend here highly enough.

Room Tip: If you can get into the bridal sweet it is worthy the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwenThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
12.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
9.6 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
14.2 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
14.0 mi away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Property: Step House Hotel
Address: Step House Hotel Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step House Hotel Borris, County Carlow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing