We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch in a charming place”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

They know how to cook here. The menu was impressive for a small hotel- two fish courses.

I had the plaice fillets. It was really well presented and cooked with delicacy. No plastic chips here! Great value too. Well done all!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Julian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Step House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 431 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

Today i arrived at the Step house hotel with my wife and little girl for Sunday lunch at 1pm and we ordered our starters and main course which took a few minutes. 30 minutes later our starters arrived so we were off to a bad start. Finished our starters and waited for main course, when we were about to fall asleep it arrived. They do a Sunday lunch special which was one course 14 euro, two courses 22 euro and three courses 25 euro. We were eating in the bar. So then we waited for dessert which only arrived after i caught the attention of staff who seem to have forgot about us. Over all it took 1 hour, 40 minutes from start to finish. You would not want to be in a hurry to go any where after food. We were not hidden away in a corner, we were in the middle of the bar area and staff did not seem to be that busy as i could see a few of them standing around talking instead of looking after customers. Food was good but the waiting around for service was as bad as it gets.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hi we just had a lovely few days in the step house hotel. The food and service were exceptional very friendly and helpful staff.The owners are very friendly and warm people.The standards in the hotel are first class and the location ideal for walking along the excellent river barrow toe path.
T&P Tobin

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had our wedding in the Step house in September 2013 and everything was absolutely perfect. The staff there are amazing and couldn't have done more for us from start to finish. They really did make our day extremely special.
My, wife and I and both are families have eaten and stayed there on many occasions now and each stay was better than the last. The food that the chef Alan prepares is up there with anything in Ireland.
For anyone looking for a relaxed peaceful break or a perfect wedding venue I cannot recommend here highly enough.

Room Tip: If you can get into the bridal sweet it is worthy the extra money
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwenThreadgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister got married in the Step House hotel last month.
We along with many other guests stayed in the hotel for three nights. We were very impressed with the hotel itself, the food and the staff. The rooms were very spacious and decorated to a high standard. The hotel was spotless throughout.
The staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for their guests.
The food was excellent both in the bar and the restaurant.
I would highly recommended the Step House to anyone. We can’t wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeLeahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just home to rainy Scotland from a friends wedding held in the hotel last weekend and felt I should leave a review due to RosieMarie95's thoughts.
Arrived at the hotel after the church service and were shown straight to our room which was immaculate, spacious and beautifully decorated. Coal fires were on, mulled wine was being served on the way into the drawing rooms and the place felt so cosy.
Service at each of the bars we went to was efficient and pleasant.
The meal was 100% the best wedding meal I have ever tasted, the beef was simply amazing and the service was perfect. Wine was served throughout the meal and the courses were staggered perfectly. I have been to no less than 4 weddings this year and quite a few in the last 5 years so thats not said lightly as ive had some beautiful meals.
Throughtout the evening each bar was staffed and we hardly had to wait at all to be served.
Breakfast was piping hot and fresh and with the tea and toast served all together hot was perfect.
Beautiful hotel in a beautiful wee village and i'd most definitely recommend for a wedding venue or for a quiet stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the 1st floor have balconies.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saffron2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

attended a wedding recently in this hotel. beautiful rooms, very comfortable, bright and spacious. the meal was superb one of the best i have eaten, every body at our table cleared their plates and raved about the beef. this was a great venue i woud highly recommend yjis hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_looby_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
12.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
15.5 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
9.6 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
16.8 mi away
The Riverside Park Hotel & Leisure Club
12.0 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Address: Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range: $102 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step House Hotel Borris, County Carlow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing