We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Step House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lord Bagenal Inn(Leighlinbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveler rating
337
76
21
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
76
21
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount leinsterwedding venueoff the beaten tracktop classbeautiful hotelcocktail barthe penthousevenisonsunday lunchnext morningcellar restaurantamazing weddingwedding receptionboutique hotelfunction roomwell worth a visitcooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 451 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just had Sunday lunch in the bar in the Step House Hotel, the food is amazing...not what you would expect from a country hotel. This is top notch, the most amazing food I have had in ages. I do not know who the chef is bit this is Michelin star food with country hospitality, you have to go there. Staff are charming and cannot wait to get back there to stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Annaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've stayed at many hotels all over Ireland and this is truly one of the best. There is an older wing of the hotel original to the hotel and it was very old world and cute. The newer wing was more light and vibrant with a touch of romance. The bathrooms were very nice and the bed was comfy. The staff (2 younger girls) were absolute darlings and so helpful. I'm only 31 and it was really nice to joke around with them, very down to earth! The view of the farm fields and mountains are breathtaking! The resteraunt was the best meal we had in all of Ireland from east coast to west coast and north to south. The staff at the resteraunt were so kind and wonderful. Was so nice to finally find a hidden gem! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pixythyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is my 4th stay in this wonderful gem of a hotel

The staff are warm and welcoming especially Ashling who handled my booking by phone and checked us out.

The breakfasts are great terrific selection of cerals fruit and yogurts. The porridge and hot breakfasts are cooked to order.

The lady who serves breakfast is a lovely lady to deal with and a credit to the hotel team apologises I can not recall your name at time of writing this review

I look forward to another visit in the near future

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Just spent three wonderful nights at the a Step House. An incredibly pleasing experience. The decor is just beautiful. The hotel was completely refurbished a few years ago and it is exquisite. The food was wonderful. Like a five star restaurant. We used it as a base to do a five day section of the Barrow Way, starting in Milford and ending in St. Mullins. It was a perfect location for that. Could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were driving in the dark looking for accommodation and whilst driving through the beautiful little town of Borris we saw The Step House Hotel. We couldn't believe our good fortune to discover such a wonderful hotel in the heart of a little town. The service was fantastic, the meals wonderful. The owner and his staff were so friendly (thanks Liz) and the Bar was excellent. We had a grand night and found it wonderful to hear so many stories from the 'locals'...thank you for a wonderful stay...a great price and if only Australia was just 'down the track' from Step House Hotel..we would be frequent guests..oh, and the wedding centre facilities were fantastic. A lovely setting for a wedding!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews