We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab food in lovely surroundings”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Had a wonderful lunch in the Step House Hotel in Borris, County Carlow. The apple crumble was particularly good. The surroundings added to a really enjoyable experience. The town of Borris is very picturesque and well worth a ramble through. Definately one for a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikiCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepHouseHotel, Manager at Step House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2011

Hello Kiki Carlow

I and all the staff at the Step House are glad that you enjoyed your lunch. The crumble produced here has a few local fans which is great and our Pastry Chef will be delighted for the kind words.

Kiki, thank you for visiting and we look forward to see you visiting Borris again soon.

Kind regards

James Jr.
Step House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 445 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

The Hotel is very cosy, I was surprised with a reception desk like that, really classic and the staff so lovely.
The room was big but the decor was poor, the bed linen was white and boring but then again, Im not sleeping in colours. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom was amazing, the biggest bathtube ive been.
Very large flatscreen TV with a few channel for choice, the reception wasnt the greatest though.

Beautiful view from the window.
Not much to do in the village only pub as entertainment. The restaurant was cosy got the prosseco courtesy glass together with dinner. I ordered lamb and didnt like it at all, ate the side salad. Some people say lamb or u love it or u hate it, i think i hated it, wont even try this meat ever again!!!
My boyfriend had the burguer. huge he loved it!

The staff was really helpfull, after dinner i asked for more coffee sachets, there was none so he gave me powder in a cup that i brought up to the room.
Was a good stay. Cant complain.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarisseac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepHouseHotel, Manager at Step House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2011

Hello Clarisseac

Thank you very much for your comments and all of us at the Step House are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you consider coming down again please consider some of the following activities than you might be interested in: Horseriding in the grounds of Borris House, Paintballing, Golf, Eco-walks on Mount Leinster, fishing and canoeing on the river Barrow.

The ladies on the front desk would be delighted to find an activity for you and your partner.

I hope to see you again in the future?

Kind regards

James Jr.
Step House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Stayed here for the last Friday night in April. On arrival stepped into an elegant reception with a most helpful receptionist.our room was on the 3rd floor, it was very well finished with a huge bed,well furnished, an ensuite to meet all wishes and a balcony overlooking the mountains.This hotel meets everything you need for a night to get away,it ticks all the right boxes.The village of Borris is small with a few nice quint bars.I would recommend this hotel to anyone.Forgot to mention the food,it was great with what i would class as the best breakfast i had in a hotel in years,it was cooked fresh none of the buffet breakfasts you get in the so called 4 and 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mick24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepHouseHotel, Manager at Step House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2011

Hello Sir Mick 24

Not only would we like to thank you for staying with the Step House but we also appreciate the very kind words mentioned above. My Father (James Senior) has been cooking breakfasts for approximately 20 years. His philosophy is simple; quality products cooked freshly. It is something he never has or will deviate from.

We hope to see you again even if it is for a Sunday brunch!

Best regards

James Coady Jr
Step House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

I stayed in the step house hotel last week. I had heard about it from a newspaper review which was full of praise.

It is a wonderful hotel and I was given a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the garden and the blackstairs mountains.

The hotel and its staff are lovely especially Linda the receptionist who greeted us warmly upon our arrival and recommended things to do.

The restaurant was closed during our stay and we dined in the bar area. I would have liked to try the restaurant as the bar food was excellent both service, presentation and quality of the food. Perhaps it will be opened on our return visit.

Would highly recommend a visit to O'Sheas pub down the road from the hotel for a creamy pint of guinness the atomsphere in this quaint pub has to be experienced.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepHouseHotel, Manager at Step House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2011

Hello amag4532

Thank you for visiting us in Borris. It is wonderful to hear good words about the surrounding bars and O'Sheas is truly and authentic Irish bar.

I will pass on your kind words to Linda who will be thoroughly delighted for the named mention. All members of the team are encouraged introduce themselves and I am delighted you left with a name and contact here.

The very best of luck to you and hopefully you will venture to this pretty village in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

James Coady Jr.
Step House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Chose this hotel on our recent trip to Kilkenny as we did not want to stay in the city and had seen the hotel advertised in the latest Discover Ireland brochure along with a special offer voucher. The hotel is on the main street of the very pretty village of Borris, and is directly opposite the impressive gates of Borris House, the ancestral home of the Kavanagh family.
The receptionist was on the phone when we entered and we had to wait for some time before she could check us in, this was slightly off-putting but not her fault as we could tell she was trying to end the conversation as quickly as possible and had to keep repeating herself to the caller. First impression was good, very bright comfortable reception area with the bar just off it buzzing with chat and laughter from the lively customers -we found out later it was a funeral party! The receptionist was very efficient and friendly checking us in and accepted the voucher with no problem, we could already feel the stress of the five hour car trip melting away. Our delux double room was larger than expected and with doors opening on to a balcony area which overlooked the very pretty garden below. The view of the nearby mountains was beautiful and especially on such a warm evening. The bathroom was very spacious too but the door didn't close very well and had to be shoved in order to close fully. Dinner was part of the two-night package and was served in the bar. We had booked a table for 8pm but when we arrived down the bar was absolutely packed and there was no table available however the maitre'd (Thomas, I think) assured us it wouldn't take long. The bar food was excellent although the bar area was very noisy, we would have preferred somewhere more relaxing. Next day's breakfast was served in the main restaurant, a really delightful room, it was a pity it isn't open for dinner on Mondays as we would have loved to have eaten there. The breakfast was excellent on both mornings of our stay, and served by a lovely Polish girl, didn't catch her name. We found all the staff to be very friendly and a credit to the hotel, as we were checking out the receptionist told us they were expecting another funeral party that day, they certainly seem to get a lot of them, but this wouldn't put us off as it is a lovely, buzzing wee hotel. We would certainly come back again and only have two regrets - we didn't get to eat dinner in the restaurant and were unable to see around the nearby Borris House as it was not open to tours at the time of our visit, but I have since discovered they have a website which lists the opening days.

Room Tip: Lovely residents lounge if the bar gets too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0lcevita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepHouseHotel, Manager at Step House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2011

Dear d0lcevit

Thank you for the comprehensive response and catchy ironic title. I do hope that those particular funcitons did not put you off. That particular week had two separate funeral gatherings which was certainly beyond the norm in the Step House.

I take your point on the showers which is a matter that we will address as soon as possible. I am also sorry that you did not get a chance to dine formally in Rubens Restaurant. Opening times are in general Thursday, Friday, Saturday from 7.00pm to 10.30 and Sunday Lunch from 12.30 to 3.00pm.

I hope the next time you visit we can plan or prearrange a historic tour of Borris House, book you a comfortable table in Rubens Restaurant and right those two regrets!

Take care and see you soon.

Kind regards

James Coady Jr.
Step House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We called in without a reservation on a busy Bank Holiday Monday, with a gaggle of children and adults. We were warmly welcomed and whilst we waited 45 mins for a table, the fathers took the children across the road to Borris' excellent outdoor playground, whilst we sat by the warm welcoming fire drinking our lattes and cappuccinos. The food was delicious, simple, locally sourced and quick to arrive. For example we had a charcuterie plate with well sourced chorizo, salamis and a tasty pate accompanied by the house salad-something of a twist on a caesar salad. Locally sourced roast salmon with a rouille sauce was very good. The service was very good and the whole place very clean and welcoming. I would definitely recommend a visit to Borris and the beautiful surrounding area, there are great walks, great views, great pubs and now a great restaurant and hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSaraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepHouseHotel, General Manager at Step House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Hello DrSaraD
We are delighted that you had such a pleasurable experience. We are sorry that you had to wait 45 minutes for table. We can be quite busy for lunch on Sundays and bank holiday Mondays but I can assure you that it is not the norm for the rest of the week. The Borris playground has only been established in that last 2 years and has been a great hit for families to keep their children interested in a Sunday afternoon.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards

James Coady Jr.
Step House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Doing some touring and walking in the lovely Barrow valley; walked into the Step House off the street when in Borris and booked a room on a whim. Immediate impression in the lobby is excellent: fine furnishings, real fire in the grate, promising-looking 1808 Bar to the left, rooms up carpeted marble stairs straight ahead. General feeling is a hard-to-define one of cosy warmth. The room multiplied this sense: a winner from first glance; soft, comfortable beds and pillows; beautiful tiled/marble bathroom; door opening on to balcony. For me, the yes/no on a hotel room is the bathroom: one glance betrays lack of maintenance, investment and cleaning. Step House passes with flying colours. My visit was on a Monday night, so the main restaurant was, understandably, closed. Compensation: they in effect bring the first-class restaurant into the 1808, with service to match. Simple food, done right. Impressive wine list. Overall: wonderful.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
Thank cbs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StepHouseHotel, General Manager at Step House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2011

Hello cbs14
Having the river Barrow is a fantastic asset not only to the Hotel but the village of Borris itself. Many of our guests enjoy the leisurely walks and pretty villages encountered along the way like St Mullins, Graiguenamanagh and of course Borris. The design of the hotel and lobby was based around an elegant comfort and intimacy. We are delighted to see that, to some extent, this has followed through and we would be delighted if you are ever walking in the area again to pop in and say hello.
As you are an avid walker it might be worth mentioning that the Step House along with only one other person on the entire river owns a piece of the Barrow with its very own exclusive fishing rights. It has been populated by wild trout, a territorial fish, which you can catch and prepare with our in-house chef!

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

James Coady Jr.
Step House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
12 mi away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,083 reviews
14.3 mi away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,067 reviews
14.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,081 reviews
12.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate
Lyrath Estate
#6 of 19 in Kilkenny
2,576 reviews
14 mi away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Address: Step House Hotel Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range: $129 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step House Hotel Borris, County Carlow, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing