We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Four Seasons Resort The Nam Hai, Hoi An
Nearby Hotels
$178
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveler rating
1,620
172
60
19
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,620
172
60
19
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool villaoutdoor showerour honeymoonmini barliving roombutler serviceafternoon teaattention to detailkids clubout of this worldcooking classmain poolturn down servicetennis courtssecond to nonehigh endchina beach
Filter
Updating list...
943 - 948 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have (successfully) used Trip Advisor for many years and The Nam Hai is so amazing that it has motivated me to write my first review! We had high expectations of this hotel given its price vs other options in Vietnam and I am pleased to say it exceeded ALL our expectations and was worth every cent. It is so romantic we felt like we were on our honeymoon (and we werent). The beach is beutiful and its location to Hoi An old town is perfect.

Our beach front villa was stunning (but to be honest ALL the villas look to have pretty good views/outlooks so if you are wanting to go and can't afford the beachfront villa then go for a standard villa and you won't be disappointed). The rooms are incredibly well appointed with supervised divine bed, espresso machine, iPods that are connected to a fab sound system (or you can plug in your own) the large sunken bath was lovely, outside shower a novelty (especially at night time - showering under the stars is a must) and you get your own push bikes to ride around the large resort, FUN, we rode to/from breakfast every day. The villa even has sensors which subtly light the hall if you get up in the middle of the night to duck to the bathroom. They have honestly thought of everything!

The free flow Champagne at breakfast was a great way to start the day (giggling!). The staff are all lovely attentive and speak perfect English ... most all go out of their way to learn your name, particularly the pool staff if you are ordering frequent rounds. The current GM Anthony (new as of Jan this year i believe) is absolutely FABULOUS, he had incredibly high standards, he makes all guests feel welcome and sets the tone for the entire resort. We had trouble getting a taxi one night so Anthony kindly drove us into Hoi An - service above and beyond what you would expect. By comparison I stayed at the Westin in Melbourne 3 nights / week every week for almost SIX YEARS and only ever got a generic card and the occasional fruit bowl from their GM!

The Nam Hai recently acquired 5 brand new black X5 BMWs, I def recommended booking these to collect you from the airport so the luxury starts as soon as you get off the plane in Danang (our travel agent booked a cheaper transfer for us - regretfully - it was a dodgy old Corolla). If you do feel guilty about too much pool time and not enough culture .... the concierge arranged a private tour for us to go to My Son in the X5 ... i felt safe and comfortable in the hands of our driver (cant be said often in Vietnam!) and our guide was very knowledgable. They really go the extra mile at Nam Hai, our driver even greeted us with a cold wet towel after we had trekked through the My Son ruins .... Ahhhh indulgence and luxury even in the middle of nowhere!

The day spa is rated as one of the top 10 spas in the world ... Who would be crazy enough to come all this way and not drop another couple of hundred bucks checking it out?!?! We booked an hour foot reflexology followed by the Love Bath. During our treatment in the over water villa were so happy that we thought we were going to burst! Our only regret is that we didn't find enough time to go back there a second time during our 5 day stay.

The gym is world class, has everything. I probably should've gone more than once ....but I was so busy poolside (adults only poolside! Heaven)

It's worth taking a short 5 min walk along the beach to see the local bars and restaurants - VERY local, very cheap, beer was fine, we didnt eat there though.

The concierge has a map and list of restaurants and tailors they recommend in Hoi An which was very helpful. We went to Mango Rooms for a drink to watch the sunset and the lanterns being lit, it was lovely. White Marble was sensational for dinner and Morning Glory was good too and both were super cheap BUT the food at the Nam Hai is best hands down.

We are already trying to figure out when we can return.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank aab1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Nam Hai, Hoi An, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent holiday at The Nam Hai and for taking the time to submit your detailed review. It was a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from start to finish and felt well looked after by our staff as well as Mr. Anthony Gill, our General Manager. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had heard a lot about Nam Hai and watched their video. But it was even better than I thought it would be. True luxury. The staff was so superb, so the management must have a great training program. I never could figure out how to use the coffee machine in the room, and that was the only negtive. The details were delightful - antiques and flower arrangements in the guest rooms, the spa rooms open to a lagoon..... Perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cincytravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A very enjoyable stay with the staff as attentive as possible, the villas are excellent clean and roomy. The swimming pool allocation don't make a great deal of sense and the family pool has to many jagged edges and sharp bits on the stairs, I ended up with cuts on my knees and feet, so I would not say ideal for families. Check in was poor even though we prearranged early check in. Reception very strange and not air conditioned

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vorny1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter H, Manager at Four Seasons Resort The Nam Hai, Hoi An, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay at The Nam Hai and for sharing your feedback. In regards to the pools, we are currently in process of having the ledges and the steps of all three pools smoothened so that they are comfortable, yet still slip resistant. As for the Reception building, ours is indeed an open-air structure similar to most Receptions of luxury resorts in tropical destinations and we do provide chilled towels as well as cool ginger tea as refreshments upon arrival. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused at the pool, the experienced delay at check in as well as the absence of air-conditioning at Reception. We trust these shortcomings did not mar an otherwise enjoyable family holiday. Once again, thank you very much for your visit and we are looking forward to welcoming you back. Walter Hess, Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the finest hotels and resorts in the world and now that we have experienced the Nam Hai, it now ranks as one of our very favorite.
We came for a 9 day vacation with our 2 small children and were wonderfully surprised at every turn. From the service to the food to the facilities, everything was first class. The villa was beautifully designed, incredibly comfortable, sexy and exotic and the open plan suited our needs and sensibilities. We loved the outdoor shower behind the villa and by our private pool. We enjoyed riding around the expansive 12 acre property on the hotel's complimentary bikes and we made sure to rise early each morning for the stunning sunrise along the hotel's pristine beach. Follow that with a refreshing ocean swim and/or the hotel's wonderful daily yoga class and we were feeling pretty good in no time. But it was breakfast that really got us excited each day. The Nam Hai's breakfast buffet is the best we have ever encountered. It is a wonderfully sophisticated mix of eastern and western cuisine beautifully presented and served by an attractive, smiling staff.
Our kids loved the Kids' Club! Again, the staff was first rate! We particularly loved Lee who was so wonderful with our kids.
We would also like to mention the hotel's first rate GM, Anthony Gill. He is doing an incredible job there. He made us feel so welcome and special. We are huge fans.
I'll finish by saying my wife and I first saw the Nam Hai 6 years ago on our honeymoon but were already staying elsewhere. Since that visit, we have dreamed of returning to Hoi An and staying at the Nam Hai. 2 kids later we finally were able to do it... and it was even better than we could have imagined!
Do yourselves a favor... go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have recently visited the Nam Hai hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the exceptional service that we received.This hotel is definitely on the A list with extremely well trained staff and the facilities were really good

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Denise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews