We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an exquisite residence, felt like being home....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgoterra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borgoterra
Ranked #1 of 18 Martano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
“an exquisite residence, felt like being home....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was a dream come true! Martano is a vey beatiful small village near to Lucca and Borgoterra is the place that travels you back in time, in another era...The room was so delicate and simple together, it was one of these rooms that makes you stay in. Moreover,it was very clean and tidy. People of Borgoterra were very helpful, friendly and I felt like being home!!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own history, so no matter which one you choose, you will be statisfied!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank picolino2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    104
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
65
253
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wellard
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Borgoterra for just one night but still remember the details which after 8 weeks of visiting different places every night is was definitely a wonderful place.We had a choice of two rooms didn`t have to climb stairs which was great. Extremely nice kitchen area and the bed upstairs well that was so different. Now to the breakfast there was so much there was hardly room on the table so delicious. In all an extremely pleasant stay which will be remembered.

Room Tip: The room we picked had a little more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoterra, Responsabile reception at Borgoterra, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Pamela,
Thank you for your positive feedback about our location. We hope you can remember about Borgoterra for a lot of time. Our particular rooms with a special setting and special services are our differences, we are very pleased you like it.
We are grateful if you would come back in Salento and visit us soon.
Kind regards
Borgoterra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Martano is a cozy little town, with no stress and very friendly people. We had a great base there for expoloring the surrounding areas. Salento is a beatiful region. Borgoterra was a great place to stay, with all the necessary amenities and yet totally different from other your usual hotels or B&B - it has a special feel to it as it is a small castle. We also had a terrace which was a great plus. Breakfast was served in a nearby cafeteria.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesna453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoterra, Guest Relations Manager at Borgoterra, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Vesna,
Thank you for your positive feedback about our location, beatiful Salento, flats and staff!
It sounds like you had a great time.
We hope to welome you back soon!
Kind regards
Borgoterra Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in Borgoterra end of November 2012. The place is in the heart of Grecia Salentina were we easily drive to the villages around and Lecce was not far, only 20 minutes by car. People working at Borgoterra were very friendly, especially Valentina who gave us great recommendations of the attractions near the village. The rooms were traditional decorated and have small balcony on the front. Breakfast could had include more traditional food coming from the area, for example fresh bread or olive oils but anyhow it was quite lovely. Grecia Salentina area has an extra historic meaning for us since we come from Cyprus Greek part. the specific area is inhabited by Italians who have a Greek origin and some of them speak a Greek base language (only old people left to know the specific language and use it).
Marina and Andreas (Cyprus)

Room Tip: Choose room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoterra, Direttore generale at Borgoterra, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Marina,

thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are all really delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the BORGOTERRA dimore storiche in Salento and we really hope to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kind regards,
see you soon
Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berchem, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Borgoterra for 2 nights, at the beginning of November.The town of Martano, in the historical centre of which Borgoterra lies, is very convenientle situated for visiting the southern part of the Salento (Lecce, Gallipoli, Otranto etc). The owner was very helpful. We had the choice between two rooms - very nice. Our room was beautifully restored and very comfortable - and not noisy at all, considering we were in the centre of town. The only 'noise' was made by the church bells at eight o'clock on Sunday morning.
Breakfast was ample. A very nice gesture was the guided tour of Lecce arranged by the Borgoterra team, with a very knowledgeable guide.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaAZ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoterra, Direttore generale at Borgoterra, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the BORGOTERRA dimore storiche.

I’m happy to hear that our services and our staff made your stay more comfortable.

Hope to see you again soon!

Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at Borgoterra and absolutely loved it. It was better than we had expected from the Trip Advisor reviews. After a little confusion arriving in town, it was easy to find, and parking was just at the end of the alley. Mother Superior's suite upstairs was comfortable and quiet, except for those moments when the church bells reminded us where we were. We peaked at all the other rooms as they became vacant, and all are beautiful and very functional.

Everyone in the village made us feel welcome, making our shopping trips, gelato and caffe adventures and walks enjoyable. It is the perfect place to have a home base and discover most of Puglia. We visited both coasts and the most southern tip easily on day trips.

Be sure to visit Port Cesareo, Otranto, Galatina, Nardo, Gallipoli, the olive mill at Cutrofiano, and many more place that the girls at reception can direct you to. The rooms are cleaned every day

Thanks to Valentina for all her assistance and smiles every day. Her directions and suggestions were great, and we only wished we had a little more time to spend in Martano. Visit the little green grocer around the corner, Tomasso gives a great haircut, and the gelato is good everywhere!

Would highly recommend to anyone and especially to those who would like to cook for themselves and explore Puglia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliaandbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoterra, Direttore generale at Borgoterra, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear juliaandbrad victoria,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your positive experience at the BORGOTERRA dimore storiche
Having the opportunity to hear our guests' feedback is very beneficial for us and we really hope having you as our Guest again!
Dina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay for a few days. The rooms are authentically decorated and spacious. The rooms are clean and are cleaned every day. The personnel is friendly and helpfull. The speak good English. The breakfast is good, with eg. Home cooked cake, fresh coffee, tea or milk.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoterra, Receptionist at Borgoterra, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Anne,
we are very happy to hear that you liked your room and breakfast.
Thank you from all the staff, we are always glad when guests appreciate our services and work.
We look forward to having you again as our guest.
We wish you all the best!
Valentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martano
8.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#1 of 6 in Torre Dell'Orso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
3.0 mi away
Furnirussi Tenuta
Furnirussi Tenuta
#2 of 2 in Serrano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sanlu Hotel
Sanlu Hotel
#1 of 2 in Serrano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Naturalis Bio Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Relais Tenuta Campi'
Relais Tenuta Campi'
#3 of 18 in Martano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mantatelure
Mantatelure
#1 of 300 in Lecce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgoterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgoterra

Property: Borgoterra
Address: Via Chiesa 7 | angolo via Marconi 66, 73025 Martano, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Martano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Martano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Borgoterra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgoterra is an extrahotel structure, carved from a former convent of nunnery Basilian, of the XV-XVIII century, recovered and converted into confortable holiday homes, welcoming guests in 10 residences furnished in compliance with the historical site. Borgoterra is placed in Martano (Le) in the old district of the town, in the heart of "Grecia Salentina", the medium belt of Salento, a few minutes away from Otranto, Gallipoli and Lecce, in a striking place, rich in popular traditions, folkore and important events (the Tarantula nights, festivals, fairs and wine-gastronomic routes).Borgoterra has rooms and two-roomed flats 2-3-4-5 beds with a kitchenette and all home conforts (fridge, tv set, wi fi, air-conditioning, private bathroom), some residences have private garden or terrace or balcony, everything furnished in a sober elegant way.Other services complement the stay of our guests, such as: - possibility of half board in our restaurants on site and not; - free mountabike service, cycle-tourist guide for excursions outdoors;- guided tours carried out by an expert archaelogist, exploring the Greek Salento, Otranto and the sea, the town of Lecce with its beautiful baroque;- free beachumbrella and sunbeds at the beaches Balnearea, Lakes Alimini(Otranto)and Samsara, Green Bay(Gallipoli);- free internet;- shopping tours, wine tasting with a guided tour in Trappist ipoegeo;- hire car transfer from / to Lecce / Brindisi;- free parking / garage;- excursions by car, by boat along the coast and up to Salentine Greek islands, tennis, horseback riding and fishing, golf (all nearby), small stone from Lecce, on paper, embroidery and antique courses kitchen; -picnic service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Borgoterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing