We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back in Time”

The Maison Forte de Reignac
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Tursac
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Stepping back in Time”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place is amazing. First you have to get up the hill, we went via the dirt pathway other than the stairs, after making payment, if I remember correctly 7euros each! it was like stepping back in time, the rooms of the Chateau are all set up the kitchen with food on the table and of course the old kitchen implements, pots etc. bedroom with clothes of that day hanging on the outside of cupboard doors, the artefacts room showing all kinds of ancient tools, spears etc. it showed how the people of those days lived. All the old furniture throughout the house was beautiful. What amazed us was how did they ever get things into this house back then as it it a long way off the ground, manpower I guess. Their are many stairs that are narrow and lots of them, so it is not for everyone. This was one of the best sites we visited during our trip to France. High recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshineqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    209
    17
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brings history to life”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This area is such an interesting area and The Maison Forte de Reignac is well worth a visit. It's a stunning sight, built into the rock and what a surprise inside. So much to see and so well put together. This fortress was where the Lord of the stronghold lived. It was in private hands until very recently when it was sold to the city of Bordeaux and preserved so visitors could see what life was like.

Allow a couple of hours for this visit and really take your time to visit each room and read about what the room was used for.

It would be difficult for anybody with a disability to access this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Strange, rather unsettling place”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is worth a visit, mainly because it is SUCH a strange place. A form of chateau, built into the living rock and using height as its main defence. Quite how anyone had any form of comfortable life in the place, however, is beyond me. Winters must have been a brutal experience and living quarters for the residents are quite small and unpleasant. Glad not to have been born in the Middle Ages, and particularly glad not to have been born at Reignac.

The torture museum has to be seen to be believed. The endless inventiveness of human beings when it came to hurting, maiming and slowly destroying the bodies of other human beings shocked me profoundly and I was queasy for the rest of the day. Clearly, some elements of the human psyche remain hard wired for brutality - eg, they waterboarded back then and we waterboard in this day and age. Plus ca change!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ebontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Poor experience with staff”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We drove a long distance to see based on reviews. Arrived at end of day but were refused admittance because (as we were lectured) there was no admittance after 6:30 as the sign below in the parking area clearly advised. We returned to the parking area where the sign said admittance was available until 7:15. We were there at 7 and reportedly the place is open until 8.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanuman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

What a lovely place, way beyond expectations. Lots of effort to make it come to life, free extensive English guides offered to borrow.

Older kids loved it, especially the torture exhibition at the end!!! Plenty for adults to examine as well.

Lots of steps as it is quite steep in places so small kids need close supervision & not ideal for those with mobility difficulties.

Nice to be able to freely take photos as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank maverick2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maison Forte de Reignac also viewed

 

Been to The Maison Forte de Reignac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing