We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful lodge”
Review of Bosque de Paz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bosque de Paz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great food, lovely people, hummingbirds and wildlife. We liked the hikes in the jungle, and the garden has a great variety. It is easy to get around the lodge, photographing was wonderful. Can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoomersGoingGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Bosque de Paz, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience on tripadvisor. At Bosque de Paz, we aim to please our clients. We will always offer great service and the most relaxing of stays.

We are the perfect place to be in touch with nature, take pictures or just relax and breathe the fresh air of the mountains.

We thank you again for your comment. From all our staff, we send you warm greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 154 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very comfortable and attractive small stone property beside a stream in a privately owned ecological forest reserve.

We were the only guests for much of our two night stay; they usually take birding and photography groups. We were made very welcome by all the staff. The owners were not present but the very knowledgeable young bird guide Kenneth was an excellent and attentive host. Mario in the restaurant was our other main contact and was helpful and interested.

Our room was an upstairs end one, so two windows, one on a private balcony overlooking a pond, and the other on the shared veranda, both with deep shade and chairs. The room was simple with two queen beds, comfortable and attractive with bird prints and local artefacts.The bathroom was made of stone. This was the coldest place we stayed in Costa Rica and the bedding reflected this. There was also a slightly damp feeling to our bedroom and bathroom. You may need an added layer of clothing at night sometimes but for us, it was just for the early morning bird walk with Kenneth.

There are well laid out and marked trails around the grounds.

Feeders around the grounds attracted many hummingbirds, and other birds. We also saw a paca, agouti, and a coati ( coatimundi). Many of these were seen from the restaurant where we were served delicious melas three times a day. There was not a choice though we were asked if there was anything we did not like.

Thee was also a large sitting room with comfortable seating, some games and books and a TV.

Altogether we wished we were staying longer.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have better bird views and the end rooms have two windows, including one over a pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Bosque de Paz, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you had a good stay and that our property was of your liking. For the cold nights, we offer extra blankets in case you need them; because of our location, temperatures can get a little low in the early morning. There are many species of animals that live nearby and if you are lucky you can get to see them. Bosque de Paz is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend away from the noise of the city and into a peaceful jungle.
We send you our regards and thank you again for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Bosque De Paz is a hidden Gem. Frederico the owner is a super nice and attentive host.
Beautiful hiking trails and the hummingbirds are truly amazing!
Can bit a little chilly at night, so be sure to bring a fleece or sweatshirt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellie_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Bosque de Paz, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Dear Ellie,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are so glad that you had a great stay and that our facilities and staff fulfilled your expectations. Since we are a small, family-owned hotel, we tend to our guests as if they were family. The owners are most of the time on site and will help you in any way they can.

Since we are located in the mountains, it can get a little bit chilly at nights, but in our rooms you can get extra blankets in case you need them. Nonetheless, we recommend to our clients that they should bring warm clothes.

We thank you again for your comment and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Only Ten elegant rooms and great food made this one of my favorite stays. The trails are awesome and I was Sad I only stayed two nights. If I return to Costa Rica, I would stay longer. It is one of the few places you can see a Paca. Wish I were there now.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Bosque de Paz, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Bosque de Paz offers a fantastic get away from the hectic city life and brings relaxation and comfort to our clients, and also the possibility of being in touch with nature. We hope that when you travel back to Costa Rica you visit us. We will be delighted to have you again as one of our guests.

From all of us at Bosque de Paz, we send you warm greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Our family had a wonderful experience at Bosque de Paz. The owner and staff went out of their way to make our stay a special experience for our son. We enjoyed guided hikes within the expansive property as well as a tour of the orchid garden. The lodge has a limited number of rooms which lends to a quite, peaceful, comfortable stay. The dining room has a full wall of windows which allows you to eat a great meal and watch the butterflies, and humming birds just outside. When we return to Costa Rica we will definitely make it a point to return to Bosque de Paz.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Bosque de Paz, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for your review, customer service is our top priority and our staff and the owners are always willing to go the extra mile to help our guests and make their stays better.

Being a small hotel helps us give our guests, the quality and peaceful stay that everyone looks for and also makes them feel closer to nature.

We thank you for your comments and when your travel plans bring you to Costa Rica again, let us know, we will be glad to have you as our guests again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We came here to photograph the great waterfall at Bajos del Toro and we were not disappointed.
You will need a car to drive to it. The resort has another frequently photographed waterfall on its trails and jungle scenes from its property are frequently published.
The casual tourist will find it to be relatively expensive and lacking in some amenities. It does get cold at night in February. An extra blanket and cuddling in bed with your significant other will provide adequate warmth. Power in the rooms is on all night, but general lights go out at 9PM. The room is basically just your bed and a private bath.
This is a small specially resort that needs more than a one night stand to fully appreciate it. There are miles of trails on the property.you can walk on your own or you can arrange for guided hikes priced at $25 to $30 extra per person.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Bosque de Paz, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you could take the pictures you needed of the beautiful waterfalls at Bajos del Toro.

Our hotels offer the perfect spot for sightseeing and also for photographers that love nature and love fantastic landscapes. We are located in the perfect spot for a romantic weekend or for a family trip. The weather can be cold at night since we are located high at the mountains but nothing that warm clothes can’t solve or even extra blankets that you can request upon check in.

The decorations of our rooms are based on local handcraft, keeping the rustic tone of the area, thereby blending in with the environment.

We thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our third trip to Bosque de Paz, so we knew what to expect. Warm welcoming hosts, Fredrico and Vanessa, expert guide, Kenneth and peace and quiet. Great Birds! Trail to falls needs more distance signs, but it is beautiful hike.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end have extra window for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2smokycreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberto A, Director Comercial at Bosque de Paz, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our hotel. As you have experienced, Bosque de Paz offers relaxation, great customer service and also the best location to be in touch with nature and breathe fresh air.

From all our staff, we send you warm greetings and we hope to have you as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bajos del Toro
0.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
700 reviews
11.4 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
12.1 mi away
Termales del Bosque
Termales del Bosque
#1 of 2 in Quesada
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
Palma Real Hotel & Casino
#25 of 78 in San Jose
401 reviews
4.6 mi away
Catarata Del Toro B&B
Catarata Del Toro B&B
#1 of 2 in Bajos del Toro
24 reviews
0 mi away
Sun Havens Apartments & Suites
Sun Havens Apartments & Suites
#2 of 2 in Bajos del Toro
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque de Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque de Paz

Address: Bajos del Toro, Bajos del Toro, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bajos del Toro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bajos del Toro
Price Range: $175 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque de Paz 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque de Paz Biological Reserve is a 1000-hectare natural biological corridor, located on the Central Volcanic Range, Continental Divide, between the Juan Castro Blanco Watershed National Park and the Poas Volcano National Park. It is a rain and cloud forest, located 1 1/2 tour away from San Jose, 35 minutes from Sarchi and 25 minutes away from Zarcero. It has excellent access to the Arenal and Poas volcanoes, and the area of Sarapiqui, San Carlos, Carara National Park, Jaco Beach. At this lodge, you may enjoy the exuberant biodiversity of centennial trees loaded with orchids, bromeliads, mosses and ferns, surrounded by an unforgettable setting filled with impressive mountains, valleys, rivers and waterfalls. Guests breathe the pure mountain air, while they hike through the trails though the lush rainforest, and then enjoying the exquisite food at the Bosque de Paz restaurant, which is a sample of Costa Rican hospitality offered through the personal attention of the Gonzalez family, owners of the lodge. Accommodations: Bosque de Paz counts with 12 spacious and exquisitely decorated rooms, with Costa Rican exclusive designs and handcrafts. Each of the rooms has two double beds, and a private bathroom with hot water. Outside the rooms, there are large balconies with a spectacular view to our mountains. Guests can be surprised to be awakened by the song of tropical birds and the sound of howler monkeys. At Bosque de Paz, guests enjoy a comfortable terrace, with a spectacular view to the mountains, where they can see birds, the hummingbird gallery, butterflies, mammals....... The lodge has a library with books on natural history, a research laboratory, and a comfortable meeting room. There is an interesting research Project at the Dr. Stephen Kirby Orchid Garden, which has become very popular with orchidologists and naturalists. Activities: Birdwatching; mammals, hummingbirds, and orchids observation; hiking, honneymoons, photography, annual family meeting, anti-stress program, yoga, meditation. Day Trips from Bosque de Paz: Canopy, rafting, horse back-riding, volcanoes, hot springs, safari river boat, National Parks, among others. We receive small groups only, to protect our Reserve biodiversity. For that reason, we are able to offer personalized attention to our guests, who expects to come back to live another unforgettable experience in contact with nature at Bosque de Paz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Bosque de Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque De Paz Hotel Bajos Del Toro
Bosque De Paz Costa Rica/Bajos Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing