We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and serene”
Review of Bosque de Paz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bosque de Paz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and serene”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was certainly right for us. Good hiking right off the property and a beautiful, simple, natural space. I liked the architectural vibe-- exposed wood, exposed stone, high ceilings. The food was good and healthy and the staff was very friendly. We loved the rooms, especially the stone showers. It was kind of like a beautiful, well-equipped luxurious camp. I loved the outdoor area with nice benches and places to relax. My children (15, 11, and 4) all felt very at home and loved the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memberUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your nice review!
Every nice comment make us feel our work is rewarding!
We are glad you had a enjoyable stay.
We are at your service, as always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    24
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
62
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
370 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed here overnight while on a birdwatching tour and was most pleased with the stay. The room was simple but clean. The bed was comfortable for me -- I like my mattress a bit firm. Hummingbird feeders on the grounds attracted several species of hummingbird. But the highlight for me was the food. Meals were served in a glass-walled dining room that overlooked the nearby stream and bird feeders. All meals were plated; they were medium in size, but mammoth in taste. Our lunch was a salad and nicely marinated beef. Dinner was a breaded sea bass and mashed sweet potatoes. The meals were so tasty it would be worth visiting just to enjoy a meal. Federico and Vanessa are gracious hosts and the staff is very friendly. A nice bonus was the ability to do some birdwatching without having to get wet even when it's raining -- many of the hummingbird feeders are hung from the rafters of an open shelter, and the hummingbirds are constantly on the move, buzzing around your head as you watch from inside. Overall, a very nice experience in a pretty countryside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your pleasing review!
Our main goal has always been make our visitors feel at home.
We are at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This lodge was our choice for some cloud forest exploration on our recent trip to Costa Rica, instead of the standard Monteverde. It is an excellent example of an Eco lodge. Low impact buildings, well thought out and designed with minimum impact on the environment.

The welcome was warm and all staff were very pleasant and had a good sense of humour. The food was of a very high standard and plentiful and varied. Vegetarians were easily catered for.
The lodge is beautifully situated amongst a large piece of cloud forest. There are numerous trails to walk and enjoy - the one to the waterfall is a quite long and not to be under estimated in the heat.

The wildlife is not easy to spot on the trails unless you have a slow pace and a good set of eyes - accompanied by a good guide with a scope! Around the lodge the bird feeders attract many hummingbirds and other ground feeders along with several mammals. It is a joy to sit and take in the birds as they fly in to feed. We had a magical hour holding the feeders in our hands as the birds came to feed! The hum of their wings and blinding colours will live long in the memory!

A two night stay makes a wonderful break from the frenetic bustle of city life. It's not too far from civilization but a world away from everyday life - recommended!

Room Tip: Use the blankets - some people may find the rooms a little cold at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiggy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review!
It is a pleasure for us know that we are making our visitors have a nice stay.
We are at your service, as always!
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Even though we had seen pictures, we were stunned by the beauty of this lodge and land when we arrived. Federico greeted us and told us of his conservation efforts and we knew that this was the place for us.

Everything was excellent (except the weather which was windy, rainy, and chilly). We booked a superior room for our 3-night stay and it was immaculate and tastefully appointed. The staff was attentive and the food was very, very good.

Birding was excellent right at the lodge. The hummingbird feeders were frequently filled as the population of Violet Saberwings, Magnificent Hummingbirds, Green Emeralds, Green Violet-ears, and Purple-throated Mountain Gems kept doing their best to empty them. Thrown in were the occasional Scintiallate Hummingbird, Magenta-throated Woodstar, and Black-bellied Hummingbird. Black Guans, Pacas, Agoutis, and Coatis frequented the corn feeding stations.

The trails are beautiful and our hike to the waterfall (about a 3-4 hour hike) was maybe our favorite of our 3-week trip.

We will come back for better whether and more birding!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Costa Rica's weather is, specially at the rain forest, unpredictable, but I can tell you the best time to visit our logde is between January and March.
We are at your service.
:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I brought a group here last week for two nights as part of a week-long birding tour. The rooms were simple and clean. Though some of my trip participants felt cold, there were plenty of warm blankets. The rooms are not heated, but the temperatures never get uncomfortably cold. The staff were incredibly gracious. We brought our own guide, but the staff on site were always happy to point something out, and the participants who opted out of more intensive birding felt well taken care of, and had excellent viewing of birds and other wildlife without leaving the lodge. The food was excellent. Mostly simple typical Costa Rican food. The vegetarians in our group were especially pleased.

This is one of the best places in Costa Rica to see the unique birds of the mountains, and many of the species that can only be found in these mountains are easily seen here. I've been told it is not reliable for Quetzals, but on one of our walks one of the lodge's workers came running down the trail to bring us back to show us a gorgeous male quetzal who had flown in minutes after we had left that area.

The owner Frederico is charming and attentive, and the lodge makes special efforts to operate sustainably. It is clear that this place is passionate about sharing and protecting the unique nature that surrounds it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BklynGuy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Comments like yours make our job valuable and meaningful!
We are at your service as always!
:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for just two nights as part of a longer trip. The welcome and service at Bosque is personal and warm. We were shown round the spacious, simple, clean room by the owner, who explained the Eco-credentials of the hotel - save water, limit electricity consumption and respect the animals and plants. The hotel is in extensive grounds, in the cool cloud forest climatic zone in Costa Rica, and has several nature trails, including to the fantastic waterfall -well worth the hour or so walk up hill. It is a haven for bird watchers, so many of your fellow guests might be packing huge zoom lenses, reference books and binoculars. There was one bonus for us non-birders- these guys were out at the crack of dawn, leaving us to a peaceful and un-rushed breakfast, and to enjoy the gardens around the near hotel with hummingbirds coming out of your ears. Amazing creatures, buzzing around the flowers, beautiful colours. The food - recommend you stay full-board because of the location- was good, fresh home-cooked fayre, served up by cheerful, friendly team. There was a separate little bar with a BBQ, which I imagine would be good if you were in a group. There was a little library and seating area next to the restaurant. Couple of points to note- if you have small children who are not well-trained yet, then they will require careful supervision. There are features which are designed for adults- bridges, ponds, nature trails etc, which are natural and don't have every corner smoothed, every gap roped off and every slippery surface pre-warned. And a general Costa Rica hotels point, many remote places offer full-board, which is great, you won't go hungry, but there was a dearth of snacks or well-stocked bars... Beware, and if you are travelling around a few of these places, take some chocolate treats, potato crisps and beers, if they are your way of treating yourself on a hard-day out in the jungle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BravoJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review!
As you said in Bosque de Paz despite is not a dangerous place is good to have an eye on children.
We are glad you had a nice stay!
We are always at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

After several days in the heat and humidity of the lowland rainforest, it was a delight to experience the cool climate of the cloud forest, and the welcome we received at Bosque De Paz was exceptional. Frederico and Vanessa are charming, warm-hearted people, and perfect hosts. Their lodge is rustic, clean and comfortable; the food is delicious, traditional, and well suited for vegetarians. Our hosts made every effort to ensure we were enjoying our stay. Our young guide Kenneth successfully led us to see a pair of Resplendent Quetzals, a sight we will never forget. This is also the place to see hummingbirds up close.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickAndPam2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monica E, Public Relations Manager at Bosque de Paz, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review!
It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your visit and our efforts to make you comfortable were successful!
We are at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bajos del Toro
0.8 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
10.6 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,249 reviews
11.4 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Eskalima
Hotel Eskalima
#15 of 27 in Alajuela
133 reviews
8.5 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosque de Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosque de Paz

Property: Bosque de Paz
Address: Bajos del Toro, Bajos del Toro, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bajos del Toro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Bajos del Toro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bosque de Paz 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bosque de Paz Biological Reserve is a 1000-hectare natural biological corridor, located on the Central Volcanic Range, Continental Divide, between the Juan Castro Blanco Watershed National Park and the Poas Volcano National Park. It is a rain and cloud forest, located 1 1/2 tour away from San Jose, 35 minutes from Sarchi and 25 minutes away from Zarcero. It has excellent access to the Arenal and Poas volcanoes, and the area of Sarapiqui, San Carlos, Carara National Park, Jaco Beach. At this lodge, you may enjoy the exuberant biodiversity of centennial trees loaded with orchids, bromeliads, mosses and ferns, surrounded by an unforgettable setting filled with impressive mountains, valleys, rivers and waterfalls. Guests breathe the pure mountain air, while they hike through the trails though the lush rainforest, and then enjoying the exquisite food at the Bosque de Paz restaurant, which is a sample of Costa Rican hospitality offered through the personal attention of the Gonzalez family, owners of the lodge. Accommodations: Bosque de Paz counts with 12 spacious and exquisitely decorated rooms, with Costa Rican exclusive designs and handcrafts. Each of the rooms has two double beds, and a private bathroom with hot water. Outside the rooms, there are large balconies with a spectacular view to our mountains. Guests can be surprised to be awakened by the song of tropical birds and the sound of howler monkeys. At Bosque de Paz, guests enjoy a comfortable terrace, with a spectacular view to the mountains, where they can see birds, the hummingbird gallery, butterflies, mammals....... The lodge has a library with books on natural history, a research laboratory, and a comfortable meeting room. There is an interesting research Project at the Dr. Stephen Kirby Orchid Garden, which has become very popular with orchidologists and naturalists. Activities: Birdwatching; mammals, hummingbirds, and orchids observation; hiking, honneymoons, photography, annual family meeting, anti-stress program, yoga, meditation. Day Trips from Bosque de Paz: Canopy, rafting, horse back-riding, volcanoes, hot springs, safari river boat, National Parks, among others. We receive small groups only, to protect our Reserve biodiversity. For that reason, we are able to offer personalized attention to our guests, who expects to come back to live another unforgettable experience in contact with nature at Bosque de Paz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Bosque de Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosque De Paz Hotel Bajos Del Toro
Bosque De Paz Costa Rica/Bajos Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing