We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing lodge in the mountains!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing lodge in the mountains!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was a perfect hotel/lodge with a great mountain setting. The service & food were great, the room was amazing and they even put hot water bottles in your bed when it's cold at night! This was the first stop on our Honeymoon and we absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Pura Vida Jeff! Our cheerful thanks for choosing us as a honeymoon destination. Thank you for letting us craft a special getaway to celebrate romance, love, and commitment. We hope you had a fantastic Fourth of July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    77
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
121
427
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at El Silencio Lodge in June, 2014. There were 10 people in our family whose ages ranged from 10 to 81. Each of us had an outstanding experience from the beautiful cabins to the 5 star meals. This luxury retreat offered activities for all ages such as hiking trails, zip lining, coffee tasting, horseback riding, and spa services. The view of the surrounding cloud forest was amazing and every one of our needs was tended to by the conscientious staff. We cannot wait to return back to this special lodge!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Having a chance to host an extended family vacation is a real treat! Thank you Shelly for selecting El Silencio Lodge & Spa as your host. Since we inaugurated our Private Two Bedroom Villas, El Silencio is more family-friendly than ever. We want everyone to enjoy our beautiful retreat and fun eco-adventures. Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here three nights in June 2012 - even through it says 2014. I daydream about going back! It was, by far, the best overall experience we had while in Costa Rica. We stayed in one of the highest hillside cabins, and the view of the surrounding cloud forest was incredible. Our concierge, Ronald, took us on a guided hike, and even showed us into town - which would have been very tricky to navigate by ourselves. The food was executed perfectly, and was very fresh (they have tilapia ponds, a garden, and chickens for eggs on the property). We treated ourselves to couples massage/aromatherapy, and I still drool when thinking about it. Everything about this place screamed relaxation - and the staff was extremely accommodating and easy going. If you're up in the air about going to El Silencio, just GO!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Greetings Matt! Flawless is exactly what we aim for and I am delighted that we fully succeeded during your stay. Thank you for remembering us so fondly. Since your visit, we have created wonderful new experiences, including a very exciting Adventure Park with zip-lining, intense hiking, and waterfall rappelling. Please do return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

El Silencio Lodge is an over the top luxury retreat. They offer spa services, beautiful lodge cabins, outdoor dining, hiking trails, many activities and delicious food. It is expensive and somewhat pretentious so if you like to pay top dollar to be pampered this is the retreat for you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdgarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Our wholehearted thanks for choosing us as hosts and for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback regarding the high quality of our facilities, restaurant offerings, and service. Our goal is to provide a culturally authentic destination that is in full harmony with the surrounding cloud forest, framed by upscale comfort and the warm hospitality that is consistently celebrated in our guests' reviews. We certainly look forward to another opportunity to pamper you! Costa Rica is an amazing destination, wonderful for repeat visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

In order to avoid repetition I don't think there is much I can add to the comprehensive reviews below except to say that it is well worth anyone taking the two hour horseback riding option which I found truly memorable. As a novice as far as horses are concerned the expert 1 on 1 guidance was very comforting as was the attention to health and safely issues. Our experience on the ride mirrored the very high level of personal attention and service throughout the three nights we spent recently at the lodge. The food was amazing! Very many thanks to all who made our stay at El Silencio such a pleasure.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 8 which is in an elevated position and has great views and privacy. For anyone who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Muchos saludos Grant! Thank you very much for your thoughtful (and delightful comments). I am so glad that you fully enjoyed our horseback riding adventures. Enjoying the forest and surrounding communities during a gentle ride is one of the best ways to fully immerse in Bajos del Toro. Thank you so much for focusing on one of our fun experiences. We recommend a minimum stay of 3-4 nights to fully take advantage of a variety of cultural, culinary, and eco-discovery activities. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Pros: Excellent service and food. Breakfast was great. Included in the room price, and was ala carte. Dinner was excellent. Included in the room rate is a free guided hike into the cloud forest. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Cons:
There was a lengthy intro to resort amenities and the room. We would have appreciated it better if we were staying longer. for a short stay it felt a tad bit long.

We got a room very close to reception and the balcony open to a common walkway, and would have preferred one with more privacy. The space heater was not enough to heat the room.

The main pull for me selecting this hotel was the private hot-tub, but it took very long to heat it up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shikari007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Please receive an earnest thanks for your visit and for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. The recommended stay at El Silencio Lodge & Spa is three nights to best give visitors a chance to enjoy our extensive offering of culinary, cultural, and spa experiences plus nature-immersed adventures. We certainly hope to have a chance to be your hosts for a bit of a longer stay. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at El Silencio for five nights to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary and wished that we would have stayed longer. This is really a beautiful place! Think of the scenery from the movie Jurassic Park and that is what it looks like. We loved to just sit on the porch and watch the hummingbirds fly by. We were even greeted by a light show at night created by fireflies. It is truly a magical place. From the food to the activities, everything was top notch. I was amazed at how all members of the staff knew us by name. It goes to show that they really take the time to get to know their guests and their needs. From the walking sticks for hiking, to the fruit in the water left by our bedside each night, everything was perfect. The lodge is the perfect place to not only relax and unwind, but there are plenty of activities to choose from as well. We truly enjoyed the hikes to the waterfalls on the property. The zip lining with Benny and Armando was excellent as well. They gave us a great experience, but I hope that the lodge considers adding additional zip lines as that would make it perfect. Chef Andres is very talented and a joy to converse with. It is obvious he is passionate about cooking as he takes the time to explain to the guests how items on the menu are prepared. Our waiters, Francisco, Alonso and Martin, were very attentive, but not intrusive. They went out of their way to give us the best experience possible. In addition, most of the produce at El Silencio comes from their own organic garden. It is amazing how much better everything tastes when it goes straight from the garden to the plate. The trout, also grown on the property, was exquisite. The spa gave us some of the best massages in the world. We want to thank Orlando, Francisco, Martin, William, Andres, Benny, Armando, and Alonso for making this one of the best vacations we have ever had. Some tips to consider: Bring a light jacket as it can get a little cool in the mornings. Also try to plan your tours/activities for the first half of the day as the pattern is usually sun in the morning followed by light rain in the afternoon. Don't worry about the rain, I feel that it just adds to the mystique of the rain forest. It is actually beautiful to watch the clouds just roll over the mountains and down toward your cabin. Thanks to all. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. We had room number 11. It is the highest up on the mountain and is a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Frank -The way you and your wife fully immersed in the magic of Bajos del Toro is enchanting. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a vividly descriptive narrative about your experience at El Silencio Lodge & Spa. From complete relaxation at the Spa to intense thrills at our new Adventure Park, to nature's wonderful sights, we hope to assemble a collection of amazing moments. Our incredibly thoughtful staff is the icing on the cake! Saludos on behalf of the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bajos del Toro
11.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
9.8 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
7.7 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
15.1 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Silencio Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Silencio Lodge & Spa

Property: El Silencio Lodge & Spa
Address: Bajos del Toro 21203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bajos del Toro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Silencio Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Silencio Lodge & Spa is a unique luxury cloud forest hotel set in Costa Rica's pristine Bajos del Toro region. Flanked by two national parks, this all-suite and private villa hotel combines upscale comforts with an intense natural immersion experience. Outstanding features include farm-to-table cuisine, a wellness spa, an adventure park, and authentic cultural experiences. Zip-lining, rappelling, horseback riding, waterfall hiking, oxcart painting, Tico cooking lessons and more can be enjoyed by couples and families (minimum age: 8). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Silencio Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Silencio Hotel Bajos Del Toro
El Silencio Lodge & Spa Costa Rica/Bajos Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing