We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect name for the perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect name for the perfect place”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My husband, our seventeen daughter and I just came back from our two days vacation at El Silencio. We wanted a place to relax and we certainly found it. The first day we took a walk to the little town, just half a mile from the hotel. We visited a "pulperia" where doña Olga a don Carlos open their home to show us how to make "cajetas" a typical costarican sweet. At night, it was a little cold, so we got in to the room's outdoors warm jacuzzi. Next day, we had a two hour guided tour to the hotel waterfalls, the organic garden and the trout ponds. Then we had a mud massage at the spa and finished with a spectacular lunch. The beds in the room where very confortable, the people very nice and the natural /organic / relax / authentic / concept of the hotel convinced us that this is an unique place and we are very happy to have found it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cahuitacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Delighted to have had a chance to host you and your beautiful family. Thank you for outlining the many wonderful experiences you enjoyed at Bajos del Toro. It truly is a remarkable community, rich in traditions and extraordinarily welcoming. Please return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    77
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
121
427
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our family of 3 adult children and 2 parents ended our Costa Rican vacation at El Silencio. We had stayed at the beach, at the volcano, in the rain forest, and ended in the cloud forest. We rented 2 villas and were enchanted with the accommodations--the luxurious beds, bath, and hot tubs. We appreciated the attention not only to detail but to ecology in the accommodations and food preparation. Going green in luxurious surroundings put us even more in touch with our natural surroundings. We took advantage of the narrated tour of the property, spent a day at a nearby town learning the history of chocolate and making some ourselves, plus we planted a "family" tree on the El Silencio property. Staff at El Silencio soon became friends as they attended to our every need. The food was a delightful treat at each meal. I highly recommend El Silencio and hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: All villas have a wonderful view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you so much for letting us share the last leg of your wonderful Costa Rica vacation with you and your family. It was a true delight to have you around and we are thrilled to learn that you fully enjoyed the experience. Thank you for noting the amazing connection to nature. We are blessed to be surrounded by one of the most stunning cloud forests in Costa Rica. Please return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you are looking for high end, quiet and secluded place, go to el Silencio. The scenery is breathtaking, set in a cloud forest. We stayed three nights and did hiking, horseback riding and the local cultural experience which included a cooking lesson and a painting lesson. The rooms are wonderful, every detail is taken care of. The outdoor jacuzzi is great, in the evening when it gets chilly, the staff puts hot water bottles in your bed. The restaurant is top notch quality. The wine tasting was a great experience, we enjoyed talking to Carlos, a very enthusiastic and charming sommelier. We loved that they have an organic vegetable garden and free range chickens. Wonderful place, only a few rooms and the staff is really friendly and helpful. William is an amazing manager, and the waiters are very caring. the chef is fantastic! Take a raincoat and appropiate clothing.

Room Tip: Wonderful and relaxing setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuciaSamblas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Lucia,

Greetings from Costa Rica! Please receive our heartfelt thanks for visiting and for taking the time to share your experiences with Trip Advisor readers. I am delighted that you enjoyed so many diverse activities. Bajos del Toro is a wonderful community, rich in cultural traditions and salient in their hospitality. Plus, the surrounding landscapes are simply mesmerizing. I will gladly relay your comments to William, Carlos, and the staff. Muchos saludos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have to say this first : qualifying this place as a "pleasant" surprise is quite weak, but my lack of english forces me to be content of this phrasing.

We -stumbled- across this hotel well after dark, worn out from our journey across the carribean coast and we we're hoping for a place that would suit the budget of 2 traveling students...
You must've already understood that as soon as we had crossed the gate, we knew we were way out of our league, but still decided to carry on and meet the people that seemed (on the guard's radio) so eager to meet us!
As soon as we got out, we were overwhelmed by the beauty of the place, the melody of the waterfalls and the wind through the mountains. After a pleasant discussion with the manager on duty, William, we came to an agreement and though both me and my girlfriend knew a night in this hotel would mean a few sacrifices later on, the experience would be absolutely worth it.
The hotel staff catered to our every need (most of them left unspoken by the feeling we had of being already too lucky to be here) and a villa was opened for us much after normal hours, all with a smile.
William was especially friendly and useful, as he answered every little question we had about the hotel, the activities and even went out of his way to call friends and ask some employees for a place to put up our tent for the night. (You must understand that, though the price for this hotel isn't that high, we were working on a 40$ budget per day and anything over that needed to be discussed) We even felt guilty when we said we would stay at the hotel, because we knew how much trouble they went through to find a suitable alternative for us.
The villas are absolutely fabulous, with a jacuzzi outside, a confortable bed with hot water bags for our feet, cinammon water, spacious living and bath rooms and a marvelous sight right out of giant patio doors.
We had a guided walk through the property included with our stay and even though I knew most of the things they had to say (As I had worked for several months as a guide in Costa Rica), I enjoyed every bit as much as my girlfriend and came out with great pictures of their plantations, waterfalls and small farm.
The breakfast was quiet and relaxing, with a breathtaking Cloud Forest scenery, where we received every attention possible, the Maitre d'Hotel even ordered us a special fruit yogurt to excuse the fact that he had come to our table after the waiter, and not before.
----------
I went two times in Costa Rica, the first time I went for 3 months to work in a luxurious hotel as a concierge for foreign visitors and the second time I visited for 2 weeks with my girlfriend, showing her everything I had seen and more.
I've seen my share of expensive hotels around the world and I believe I know a good place when I see one. I highly recommend this place and extend again a special thank you to William, who did a great job.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Alexandre, warmest greetings from Costa Rica! Thank you so much for sharing your experience at El Silencio Lodge. It is wonderful to learn that you found us by chance and that you fell in love with the property thanks to our amazing staff's caring friendship. William is a stellar example of Costa Rican hospitality! Thanks for noting it :) As a Costa Rican, I also thank you for developing such close ties to my country and for wanting to share its beauty with your girlfriend. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Like a little bit of Switzerland in the middle of a cloud forest with typical brilliant Costa Rican service!

We stayed for 2 nights in March 2013 with my parents in law. We had a brilliant time and would recommend to anyone wanting to experience typical Costa Rican cloud forest but escape the crowds. Set in its own private cloud forest reserve with three waterfalls, you can trek, spa, relax and eat amazing food to your hearts content. The spa is excellent and the rooms/bungalows, are really fabulous with their own outdoor jacuzzis and tons of space.

The main part of the hotel (separate from the rooms/bungalows) with its crackling fires and goregous restaurant, does feel like a luxurious Swiss ski chalet! Also, I have got to mention the amazing staff. They are welcoming, attentive (but not overly so), professional, informed and most of all enthusiastic about the hotel and what it stands for (there is a big message regarding eco-tourism here). They really do make the hotel, I will warn you that it is expensive all in (when you include food and drinks) but we really enjoyed it and felt that it was second to none.

P.s. Whilst we were here, we partook in the cultural tour and learnt to make tortillas and drink moonshine with Olga, I totally recommend this as it was great fun and interesting.

P.p.s The weather here can be very, very foggy (something to do with it being the cloud forest perhaps?) so if you take the road from Zarcero, try and do it during daylight hours. The last 2 miles are on a steep winding track which you can barely see 1 metre infront of you at night and in the fog! We tried it, and a stiff drink was required when we eventually made it!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your detailed comments and descriptions of El Silencio Lodge & Spa! Our goal is to provide a superlative travel experience that is far removed from crowded, touristy spots. Thank you so much for noting our staff and the excellence of our facilities. We wholeheartedly agree with your recommendation to only drive during the day, to avoid the late afternoon fog. For the best possible value, we also recommend combining a visit with our sister beach property, Hotel Punta Islita. We can offer a bundled deal that even includes transportation between the properties. For more details, our reservations staff is eager to assist: reserve@grupoislita.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay – it is an unusual and terrific place (apart from one gripe). The cloud forest setting is remarkable. The buildings are well-designed and look great. The staff is attentive, friendly and work hard to ensure your enjoyment. The opening hours for the restaurant are very reasonable.

The food is spectacular. Certainly some credit goes to the fresh ingredients but the chef, Marcela, is just amazing. One of my favorites at dinner was the starter “Trout Tartare” – be sure to try it.

Our one gripe is the suites need better heating. The lone radiant space heater for the bedroom doesn’t circulate the heat well in the bedroom with its vaulted ceiling. And, the bathroom is left unheated. The space heater can be rolled into the bathroom but that’s a nuisance and has very noisy wheels (you’ll wake your partner if they are still sleeping). Fortunately, the shower keeps a wonderfully full and steady supply of hot water.

I would easily give this 5 stars except for the heating issue. At an elevation of over 5000 feet the weather will often be chilly but there is no need for the room to also be that. We are still glad we visited – it’s a great lodge!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Fondest greetings from Costa Rica! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about El Silencio Lodge & Spa. Your feedback is incredibly helpful. El Silencio Lodge & Spa is located in high elevation cloud forest and warm comfy clothes are strongly recommended. Normally, one electric heater is enough to keep the Suite comfortable. If temperatures drop below normal levels, we gladly provide additional heaters and will bring hot water bed bags for added comfort :) That said, we are always looking for ways to improve our services and will gladly look into heating alternatives. Thank you so much for your warm nod to our staff, design, and our spectacular food by Chef Marcela!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at El Silencio for two nights during out 25th Wedding Anniversary trip and had a fantastic stay. The room was lovely. We so enjoyed the hot water bottles and water at our bedside during the turndown service. We also enjoyed our morning hike and then went to the small town nearby to learn to make tortillas. Andrey was our guide and Olga was our teacher and she is also the market owner of the small market right in her home. It was a wonderful, interesting experience. Would highly recommend it if you are interested in the local community. Andrey did an awesome job of answering all of my questions.
We also really enjoyed the restaurant and Henry was a wonderful waiter who helped us make our dinner decisions...he was never wrong! The food was fantastic. The trout was our favorite.
Please keep in mind if you go to El Silencio that it is in the cloud forest so there is 100% humidity....your hair may do really goofy things! I know mine did so I just put it in a ponytail and gave up! Also dress warm!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuesamM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Saludos Sue! Thank you so much for your candid review of El Silencio Lodge & Spa. And a very special thanks for selecting us to celebrate such a special occasion. It was an honor to be a part of your 25th Wedding Anniversary. Congratulations! Thrilled to read that you fully enjoyed your stay --despite the hairdo issues ;) But most importantly, I am delighted to read that you fully enjoyed visiting Dona Olga and learning how to make traditional tortillas with her. Our relationship with local community members is our strongest asset and we are proud to have a chance to let visitors experience authentic Costa Rica in an unscripted, natural way. Thank you so much for your friendship!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bajos del Toro
11.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
9.8 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
7.7 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
15.1 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Silencio Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Silencio Lodge & Spa

Property: El Silencio Lodge & Spa
Address: Bajos del Toro 21203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bajos del Toro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — El Silencio Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Silencio Lodge & Spa is a unique luxury cloud forest hotel set in Costa Rica's pristine Bajos del Toro region. Flanked by two national parks, this all-suite and private villa hotel combines upscale comforts with an intense natural immersion experience. Outstanding features include farm-to-table cuisine, a wellness spa, an adventure park, and authentic cultural experiences. Zip-lining, rappelling, horseback riding, waterfall hiking, oxcart painting, Tico cooking lessons and more can be enjoyed by couples and families (minimum age: 8). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Silencio Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Silencio Hotel Bajos Del Toro
El Silencio Lodge & Spa Costa Rica/Bajos Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing