We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful time at a wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carwarden Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Williams
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carwarden Bed & Breakfast
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“wonderful time at a wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wow!! We recently stayed at Carwarden for a little romantic weekend getaway and we could have not been any happier to have found a true gem like this B&B. Everything was just great and so friendly and relaxed from the minute we walked through Mary's door: she is one of the nicest and most genuine people we have ever met. The house matches her personality in every way. The rooms are spacious and very cosy, the beds are fabulous and super comfy. There are so many little loving details everywhere. We never had such a well equipped bathroom in any B&B or hotel we ever stayed at, everything you could ever need is there. The breakfast is definitely something to rave about, delicous and plenty and everything homemade. Good company around the breakfast table and delightful banter with Mary made for a perfect start into our days. Mary was so very helpful with information what to do and see around the area and I will never forget the romantic surprise she and my husband had arranged for me upon our arrival at Carwarden. It was a wonderful and very special weekend for us and we will cherish the memories forever. We will tell everybody about this beautiful place and for sure hope to be back one day for more, more & more of this delight.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are very nice and wonderful but we especially loved the cosy elegance of the "Duche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBHighlandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
64
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending three nights at Carwarden. A beautifully kept Victorian home with lots of character. The meals were delicious, healthy and copious! The character of the building is matched only by Mary, surely one of the most amazing characters we have had the pleasure of encountering. First class!! We hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Staying at Carwarden is like going to visit an old friend, except the food is much better. Lovely old home with a spectacular view from the front porch. You are made to feel welcome and the atmosphere around the breakfast table reflects the comfort and enjoyment all the guests are feeling. Never fail to have a delightful stimulating conversation at breakfast.

Our hostess is unfailingly friendly and welcoming. She delights in her guests and her quick wit smooths out the banter at the breakfast table.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeboivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth NS
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our third trip to Carwarden and we were recieved with open arms and smiles. I first choose Carwarden because of the close proximity to a number of golf courses and the promise of a great breakfast. We return because Mary treats us like family and has an amazing breakfast. This year,fresh brewed coffee, choice of juice, local raseberries, homemade granola and an eggs benedict to die for and a warm blueberry cake to top off this ensemble. Added pleasure was the conversation at the table. Our room was the Dutchess which overlooks farmland. This allowed a beautiful view for our 3:00am thunder and lighting storm that night. Carwarden is a beautiful century old home with a wrap arround porch great for a sip of wine after a dinner in town at the Port Pub Bistro in Port Williams, a short five minute drive away.The worst part of our stay was its length, too short which means we will have to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

A wonderful find!
A visit to CARWARDEN is like coming home.
Mary is a warm and welcoming host, and an Amazing chef...Wonderful Breakfast!
Beautiful rooms and grounds....peaceful and quiet.
We look forward to our return!
Cheers!

Room Tip: All Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallifax
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were met by Mary as we drove in and were greated with great enthusiasm. Mary is very personable and immediately made us feel welcome. She showed us where our room was and also gave us a tour of the bed and breakfast. The room was very comfortable and very clean.

We were given instructions on the best places to eat and would heavily recommend the Port Pub. Mary was right it was a great place to eat.

Mary made a huge impression on us the next morning. I had mentioned that my wife's birthday was the previous day and Mary admonished me for not having mentiioned it so that she could have made a cake. As we were finishing breakfast (amazing by the way) Mary came out with a bunt cake frosted and with birthday candles lit. The look on my wife's face was amazing. Mary made our weekend and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

An absolute gem. Wonderful accommodation, superb breakfasts and genial host combine to provide the perfect B&B experience in Nova Scotia. Staying here is an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Williams
3.1 mi away
Slumber Inn
Slumber Inn
#2 of 2 in New Minas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
3.5 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
4.0 mi away
Delft Haus
Delft Haus
#1 of 2 in Centreville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Greensboro Inn
Greensboro Inn
#1 of 2 in New Minas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
7.3 mi away
Beach Breeze Motel
Beach Breeze Motel
#1 of 1 in Grand Pre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
5.0 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carwarden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carwarden Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carwarden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 640 Church St | Port Williams, Port Williams, Nova Scotia B0P 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Port Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Port Williams
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Carwarden Bed & Breakfast Port Williams, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing