We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a relaxing stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Your Daily View!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Daily View!
Your hammock awaits!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Your Daily View!
Your hammock awaits!
Master bedroom with ensuite
Bedroom #2 with king size bed
Queen bed with lake view
Our Nacatamal room with 3 single beds
Lakeside
Kayaks for rent
En Rancho ... great to hang out by the lake
A visitor you may see!
Nicaragua's national bird ... Guardabarranco .. or MotMot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya, Masaya Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
rimbey490
Rimbey, Canada
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxing stay”
Reviewed November 24, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wonderful location on a warm crater lake fed by hot springs. Spacious well-kept home with lots of outdoor spaces in sun and in shade. The owner, Esther is terrific.
She met us on the highway to lead us through little winding roads to this amazing place. The kitchen was stocked with essential staples, some fruit, and a chilled bottle of white wine. There is a housekeeper and handyman (if needed) living just off site,
good wi-fi connection, floatly things for the lake and restaurants not far. We had a car, so did some trips around the area to Masaya and Granada. If you want a boat trip to the Isletas we highly recommend that you ask Esther to organize it. Our tour was great with a very knowledgeable young man.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 25, 2017
Thanks so much for your visit to Alchemy . I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and it was great to meet you !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Californi...
Sedona, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed two nights in this very open plan and expansively laid out property. Only two of us, we had plenty of room to spread out. We very much enjoyed the peacefulness of the cool breeze coming off the lake in the evenings. We used it as a base to visit Masaya Volcano both in the daytime and night (which was incredible). Esther was super helpful during the booking process and even nicer in person. The caretakers, Gloria and Jorge, were just delightful. Couldn't leave without taking a dip in the clear, warm lake and finding the hot springs. It is good that the Nicaraguan government has put protections against further development of this very beautiful and unique area. The MaxiPali supermarket in Masaya is a good place to stock up before heading down to the lake. Thanks Esther and good luck with your proposed enhancements to the property. Excellent wi-fi but no cell service obviously as you are in the bottom of a very large crater.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thanks so much Barbara and Darrell for your stay at Alchemy .. was a real treat to meet you both :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina B
1 review
“a piece of heaven”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

So as our time winds down I want to recommend this gem to anyone. Clean, quiet, close enough to towns ( Granada and Masaya) yet you feel as if you are on an island paradise. The lake is my favorite place in the world. And this house is where we will choose to stay. ( And we have been coming to ths lake for 10 +years) The house has all you need, The caretakers are delightful and I feel a deep peace. Thank you Esther for this opportunity. It is a piece of heaven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
It was a pleasure to share the property with you .... thank you for choosing to stay at Alchemy and we hope to see you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a beautiful place.”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Just wrapping up a 7 month stay at Alchemy on the Lake. As I said after my visit last summer, this house (and the property) is lovely: open, spacious, breezy, and right on the lake so a beautiful view from almost everywhere in the house. Lots of birds, butterflies, monkeys. And lately at night the fireflies have been magical. The lake is wonderful, I will miss it a lot. Laguna de Apoyo is a great spot for a getaway, and only 20 minutes from Granada and Masaya. Great place!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeraldand...
Managua, Nicaragua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we hoped for”
Reviewed November 29, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The perfect place and backdrop for catching up with our friends, easily accommodated 4 adults and 5 children with everything we needed for a relaxing 4 days (we were able to extend our stay by 2 nights with no issues) and we still didn't want to leave the crystal clear water, we stayed in for hours and the kids barely got out the whole time we were there. Esther also arranged for a tour of las isletas in Granada. Great communication. We look forward to coming back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful clear water in the lagoon.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dastahls
Cranbrook, Canada
1 review
“Exactly as advertised,magical”
Reviewed November 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

With our schedule we only got to stay at Alchemy on the lake for three days,it is as advertised,the lake is magical,standing on the balcony overlooking the lake it is probably the most beautiful lake I have ever seen and swimming in the lake is great,the crystal clear water is a perfect temperature,the house and grounds are spectacular,location is great,lots to see and do,we will be returning and staying longer,had a great time thank you Esther and Andy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very quiet and relaxing location
Liked least: We liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking. Relaxing. Dreamy.”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a whole month. What an amazing place to spend Christmas and New Years with our 2 small kids and pile of extended family. Even though we were traveling as a large group (at least 8 most of the time), there were many places to hide out and relax in a quiet hammock, terrific swimming and a beautiful and spacious house to entertain, cook/bbq and be truly on holidays!

Esther and her team all took such wonderful care of us throughout our stay and we daydream of returning. Hopefully sometime soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, swimming every day, hammocks everywhere!
Liked least: low pressure in the showers... but you are up a mountain from the water.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing