We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Beautiful Spacious Haven”
other travelers have booked this property
Your Daily View!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Daily View!
Your hammock awaits!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Your Daily View!
Your hammock awaits!
Master bedroom with ensuite
Bedroom #2 with king size bed
Queen bed with lake view
Our Nacatamal room with 3 single beds
Lakeside
Kayaks for rent
En Rancho ... great to hang out by the lake
A visitor you may see!
Nicaragua's national bird ... Guardabarranco .. or MotMot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya, Masaya Department

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
skyeannej...
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful Spacious Haven”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

An absolutely beautiful property, it had everything we ( 3 couples ) wanted. Besides an aesthetically pleasing structure, the house is well equipped. for larger groups. The kitchen had everything we needed to make food preparation convenient and enjoyable. We liked that the Alchemy was spacious and had ample room / privacy for everyone. Even having 3 hammocks was a plus as everyone could enjoy them.
The lake is beautiful and we swam in it daily --crystal clear, warm water. The kayaks and water boards were a plus; enjoyed by all.
The location makes it easy to go on day trips to the surrounding area / towns and to return to the Alchemy ( specifically the ranchero ) to relax and enjoy the water.
Esther was easy to contact and always answered any questions we had......she was a wealth of information. The caretakers were always assessable and helpful.
We spent a week at Alchemy on the Lake and loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theo v
Loenen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and fantastic view”
Reviewed February 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Beautiful, clean and big house on the lake. Spacious rooms, large kitchen where all equipment is present. Fantastic view of the lake. Kayaking available at the house.

Beautiful terraces on three levels in the descent to the lake.

Esther arranged a lot for us. We met her in Granada and let a big part of our luggage at her post when we made a backpack trip through southern Nicaragua. She herself was not given the opportunity to visit us during our stay in her home, but she sent Andy or anyone else to take care of us. Night guards slept in hammocks in the thatched hut in front of the house (covered terrace below).

Due to a very late arrival of the plane, we arrived in the dark, the house was very hard to find. Also on the day we got lost several times in the area. The pump that delivers water fell out very often (almost daily) and had to be turned on.

We had a wonderful time at Esther's house and we would love to come back if we are in Nicaragua . We highly recommend this house to anyone!!

Theo & Alice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huis, terrassen en uitzicht op het meer
Liked least: watervoorziening
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2016
Thank you so much for the great feedback ... I do apologize for the problems with the water system and also the lack of signage .. we are in the early stages of offering this home as a vacation rental and sincerely appreciate your feedback and are working to remedy these problems ... it was a pleasure to have you stay and I do hope to see you again!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimijima
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a very special place”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

fantastic location - Esther was very helpful in driving us out to the late from Granada and collecting us after our stay - the lake is beautiful perfect for early morning swims, the house is fantastic and all in all a lovely relaxing experience - very very good value

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hammocks and howlers - swimming in the lake - early morning views -
Liked least: the short time available to us to stay there - would've loved to have stayed so much longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pip198002...
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Magiğcal house inside and out. A true dream home.”
Reviewed January 21, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We loved everything about this house. The view of the the laguna is breathtaking, the house has so much unique charm and beauty. The kitchen is totally set up as a chef it was a real pleasure to be able to do our own cooking while on vacation. The rest of the house is super clean with a very comfortable king bed in the main bedroom, a table to eat at that looks directly onto the laguna. The sun rise on the laguna is one in a million and this house is set up to enjoy it perfectly. Great beach for swimming and lovely gardens. The care taker and her family were so helpful but most importantly the host is a wonderful person who helped us with so much fromstart to finish and then some. I would strongly recommend this house for couples, families and groups. Thank you for the dream vacation Alchamy on the lake!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the host.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaïs C
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Charming house in a calm environment with a wonderful view”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Alchemy on the Lake is a perfect house if you are looking for a charming house with a nice view, in a calm setting. We were a group of 6 looking for some rest and calm and this house was perfect for it! The rooms are spacious, with good beds and the common area very comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the hamacs, the easy access to the Laguna. Throughout our 10-days stay, Esther made sure we felt just like at home, answering all our questions right away. We recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Heaven....views, nature, comfort and great location!!!”
Reviewed November 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Heaven...this is where we spent our last 3 months in Nicaragua, in this special Casa in the nature reserve Laguna de Apoyo. If you're going to visit Nicaragua don't miss staying here. Wake up to the howlers and birds and spend the day having the once in a lifetime experience of swimming in the warm thermal waters of this lagoon in a volcano crater. Combine this with a way to discover so much else that Nicaragua offers as it is a great base to discover colonial Granada, Mombacho and Masaya volcanoes, the market town of Masaya and it's an easy drive to Managua airport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
87vacatio...
Kimberley, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private paradise at Laguna de Apoyo”
Reviewed November 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at Alchemy on the Lake this November and absolutely loved it. The house is very spacious, clean and comfortable! We loved the gigantic king size bed and the hot shower as well as the living room area situated with a perfect view of sunrise every morning! The kitchen was really well equipped; toaster, coffee maker, blender etc so it made all of our cooking really easy and familiar! The lake itself has the clearest and warmest water we have ever swam in so we spent most of our time swimming and relaxing in there. We also swam over a short distance to some natural hot springs on the side of the lake. Esther & Andy were so accommodating in helping us arrange our stay there! We loved our time there and will definitely come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing