We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise...the name says it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradiso Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradiso Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise...the name says it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

After a busy itinerary in Nicaragua, I spent my last two days relaxing here...it was beautiful. I had a dorm room. It was basic but cheap, clean and comfortable. The menu could have had more options, but the atmosphere was unbeatable. Kayak rentals are free, the dorm room for 2 nights, 3 meals and 8 beer cost me about $45.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    96
    26
    13
    3
See reviews for
35
116
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had booked at a different hotel at apoyo in the fall of 2010. When we got there there had been a mixup and we were without rooms. Paradiso had been open just for two days but we were immediately welcomed.
The setting is wonderful with the upper porch looking over the lake and great spots for reading and relaxing.
The beach area was close with easy access and kayaks to use.

They have different type rooms ranging from those with private bath, shared bath and multi-bed hostel rooms. We stayed in thr ones with a private bath and they were perfect for our needs.

It was actually a perfect end to our trip.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

This place was GREAT! I went here with my boyfriend and we got a private room for $25. The bathroom was outside—a little hut type thing with a shower, toilet, and sink. If I stayed here again, I would pay a couple more dollars to have the bathroom inside since we had to walk outside at night down the little path. It wasn’t bad, but I would prefer a bathroom indoors when not camping :) The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable, and you get towels and a fan.

Overall, I loved this nice, tranquil atmosphere. We swam, kayaked, lounged, and cooked in the shared kitchen. The food there is a little pricey, but it’s totally acceptable to bring your own food, alcohol, etc. to make your own meals. There is also a pulperia down the road (out the gate and to the left) where you can buy snacks & drinks. There is free coffee and tea which was nice.

The owners are super nice and helpful—they speak English, French, and Spanish. Kayaks are free and there's a floating dock which is fun to swim out to and lounge. Great place to relax and soak up the natural beauty.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

We just spent three nights at El Paradiso and totally loved it. The setting is fantastic, the mood is very chilled and the floating deck in the lake is pefect for sunbathing. It has lots of different outdoor areas - kitchen, lounge, dining area, lake-front - so you can always get privacy and peace and quiet to read or just admire the view. Kayaks are free, but the water is a bit rough! Only slight drawback was the daily arrival of day-trippers from Granada who stay from about 1030am to 330pm - make you you grab your hammock early! overall a great place to spend a few very lazy days.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I have stayed here twice and love this hotel - coverted into hostel. It is recently under new ownership and the current manager Diego is solicitous and very friendly (speaks English, French and Spanish).
Dorms are simple but very clean - a free towel is included for deposit.
Coffee and tea are available all day - meals and snacks are for sale but more expensive. The guest kitchen is very nice if you want to do your own cooking.
Lots of room for lounging, swimming and free kayaks for your use during daylight hours.
Private rooms are small and very simple and not soundproof at all.
WiFi is fast, but no cell phone service there.
Bring bug spray for the evening!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennykg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

I am a current Peace Corps Volunteer (aka super budget traveller) but found the $10 dorm price to be well worth it. The location is great - right on the lake with a swim out dock. The prie includes accessto kayaks as well and maybe deturs your average backpacker who would prefer the more party atmosphere of monkey hut (who wouldnt let us buy beer or anythnig else really when we went there for pizza one night) It was so tranquil, I slept great even thought the dorm was at capacity both nights - best nights sleep in a hostel. Very clean, nice quality beds, friendly mangers and staff. Free coffee and tea all day, which is nice when watching the sunrise! A great place to relax on the warm, clear waters of the laguna

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zilmacaronigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

This is a super clean, slightly higher end hostel with a fantastic location right on the lake in the Laguna de Apoyo nature reserve. Kayaks are free, the water is warm, the staff friendly and accommodating, and you can lounge on the beach or the large covered beach patio or swing in a hammock. The dorm has a view of the lake and the breeze comes right through it. The rooms are higher up, but beautiful shared verandas and coffee tables overlook the lake in a lush jungle setting. Wake up in the morning to the sound of howler monkeys. This is the perfect counterpoint to a fun time in vibrant Granada (25 minutes away) - very relaxing. Paradiso is owned by the same person who runs Oasis in Granada and they offer a reasonably priced shuttle between the two daily. The only downside here is that the food is a touch limited and a little pricey by Nicaraguan standards, though there are options in either direction down the street. You have the option of bringing your own food and using the shared kitchen. Paradiso even sells a limited array of ingredients if you want to cook for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeolian_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Laguna de Apoyo
1.6 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Madera's Inn
Madera's Inn
#3 of 5 in Masaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#1 of 44 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Selva Azul
Hotel Selva Azul
#4 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Peace Project Hostel
The Peace Project Hostel
#5 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Simian Eco Lodge
San Simian Eco Lodge
#1 of 5 in La Laguna de Apoyo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradiso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Hostel

Property: Paradiso Hostel
Address: Laguna de Apoyo, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya 48000, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya > La Laguna de Apoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in La Laguna de Apoyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you had a chance to wake up in the middle of nature?We give you the chance!We offer the option of spending the night here, with a price to suit every budget.For our overnight guests we offer triple, double or single rooms with private or shared bathroom, as well as a spacious room with an amazing view of the sunrise over the lake. Our well-stocked bar & restaurant serves refreshing cocktails and delicious homemade comfort food at a great price.We have direct access to the water with a nice sandy beach, free kayaks, floating dock and some water toys as well. Come here to play volleyball, table tennis or to try the only 'petanque' (boules) area in the south of Nicaragua. We offer awesome patio views, landscaped gardens, a wonderful shady ranch with sun chairs, hammocks and a bar right on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Paradiso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hostel Nicaragua/La Laguna De Apoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing