We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location, worst hostel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Monkey Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Laguna de Apoyo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Monkey Hut
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best location, worst hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Be prepared to pay 3 times the prices in Granada for average food, dodgy unmaintained facilities and a $7 'entrance' fee. The laguna is a must-see but the Monkey Hut offers very little value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobleglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    51
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
19
51
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

I visited the Monkey hut 4 times in 2010, the last time in November. I'm confident there's no other spot around the lagoon offering the chill-out-calmed-down experience that made those weekends end on a pleasing high.

Its not supposed to be a 5 star hotel, its not priced as one either. Its a high quality back-packer paradise. Service was decent, the big bungalow was awesome, the view was intoxicating, and the water was AMAZING, beers could have been cooler though, and one could argue that they should get another bar closer to the water.

Another thing I liked is that regardless of the season, there are always laid back visitors from all around the world... So if I was in the mood I could talk with people from south america to eastern europe. Or I could just sit on the edge of the old run down wooden dock with a michelada and smoke from my pipe while looking at the sunset. PRICELESS.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJBG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

What a great location! We really enjoyed our (short) stay here. Rooms were basic, but comfortable and very clean. Staff was very friendly. This is a great place to relax for a few days and enjoy the beautiful water of the Laguna. Very laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

(in the last accommodation broke the internet, so i could´t check the tripadvisor before, so I took the recommend one by moonbook & lonely planet.)

I reserved by phone a double room with separated beds for 19$. When we arrived the price was by 29$ for a room with one 1 kingsize bed. And there was no cooperation to find.
We need to stay there because it was late, so all the other [--] took its course..
We got almost no introduction in the place, only what we asked (like: "Where is the shared bathroom?" ) The mattress was moldy. I think it´s better not to write all the little things,
also most of them were already written (and i´m still angry). Now a part of the dock is already broken down.
The swimming things & kayak I could´t try because it was overbooked & we had to leave next morning.. last point: prices are withOUT taxes!

So this is my resume:
it´s a noisy place, where the stuff is playing their own holiday game. it makes my opinion about hostels with volunteer-staff worst: the volunteer do not really know how to manage a hotel/hostel (but they think they would know, of cause) . And the owner wants to make a lot of fast money without doing anything.
But i don´t like to spent a lot of money and feel like an intruder.
For the really beautiful Laguna de Apoyo with its clear water, it´s better to find another place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruja_viajando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed there only one night.  There were four of us traveling together so we reserved a cabin.  When we arrived we found the price was twice as much as advertised on the website ($79 US). The cabin was beautiful on the outside but dark and creepy on the inside. There was no furniture to speak of only two dilapidated beds, one full size and a single futon.  The mattresses looked as though they were rescued from the dump in Managua.  We had traveled a long way to get there and decided to make the best of it.  The view of the lake was spectacular but the dock was rickety and dangerous so we swam from the shore. All of the patio furniture at the dock was broken.We used the kitchen to prepare dinner and breakfast and found it adequate. Sleeping was a miserable experience because the beds were beyond terrible.  In desperation, two of us slept outdoors on the hammocks that hung on the front porch of the cabin.

Bottom line, the owner of the Monkey Hut has not invested in the maintenance of the property and it is a dumpy gringo rip off. I advise people to steer clear.  The beauty of Laguna de Apoyo is well worth the difficulty of getting there but don't stay at the Monkey Hut.  There are other options available.
 

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0j0urner54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

The Monkey Hut is a beautiful hostel tht shares the Apoyo lagoon with only a handful of other hotels. It has excellent access to kyacks and tubes however the problem is that they allow too many people to stay at the hostel regardless if they have rooms/beds or not. In addition, they allow people to come and stay for the day which makes it difficult to use any of the water toys, get a chair, etc. They also ran out of food while I was there which was difficult as it is a fairly isolated and there is only one tiny hut selling snacks. Your better bet would be to go down the road to Crater's Edge where they have the same view, and include breakfast in their price. When Crater's Edge is full, they admit it (which is why I ended up at the Monkey Hut).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieMH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff Uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

The monkey huts location and building are fantastic. Its right on the side of the volanic lake has its own beach with free kayaks and inner tubes and is very quiet. The private rooms were basic but nice. The annoying thing is that all rooms had air conditioning but they had been disconnected and only fans were available. The guy running the place is really nice but could do without shouting and signing at 7 am every morning. Thin walls!!

The big bug bare with this place was the prices. The rate on its website was wrong it was more $ 29 per night oh but yes there was more it was the only place that failled to include the 15% tax which was then added on. The food is really good and the pizza is great but at $10 per pizza was vastly over priced. The beers were 25% more expensive than anywhere else due to its remote location !!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgan_stacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Laguna de Apoyo
0.6 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#7 of 43 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
6.9 mi away
La Gran Francia Hotel y Restaurante
0.1 mi away
Laguna Beach Club
Laguna Beach Club
#3 of 6 in La Laguna de Apoyo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monkey Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monkey Hut

Property: The Monkey Hut
Address: Laguna de Apoyo del triangulo 100 metros al Norte | Catarina, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya NVT, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya > La Laguna de Apoyo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Laguna de Apoyo
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Monkey Hut Nicaragua/La Laguna De Apoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing