We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant cycling base”
Review of Cycling Ascents

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cycling Ascents
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant cycling base”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed as a group of 4 from 18-22 June and found it the perfect base for cycling...Right at the start of Alpe d'Huez and the location also makes Glandon, Croix de Fer, Telegraphe, Galibier, Sarennes, Les 2 Alpes etc very accessible. Kevin and Delphine were really freidnly and helpful and Kevin even came out for a days cycling with us - no charge - he just wanted to go for a ride I think! The house is less than a year old so everything works prefectly, and most importantly there are nice firm mattresses! Highly recommended for cycling,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed with 3 friends for 5 nights at the end of May 2014. A very warm welcome from Kevin and Delphine when we arrived. Rooms were fantastic and the view from the dinning room in the morning was stunning. Did some fantastic rides while we were there and Kevin joined us on the last day sharing his knowledge of the area.

I would highly recommend this B & B. It's a great base for cycling in the area.

I hope to return next year.

Room Tip: The Col du Galibier room has a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Kevin and Delphine have built a beautifully finished home only 5 minutes ride from the start of the Alpe d'Huez climb. They were welcoming and warm hosts throughout our stay. Kevin is clearly a talented rider and his love of cycling shone through in both his advice on routes and when guiding us on a run to La Bérarde. It's a 20 min walk into Bourg D'Oisan so access to a car certainly helps tired legs.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewHall16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I was lucky with the weather at the time of year that I went and enjoyed some great rides. Kevin was a great guide suggesting a variety of rides to make the most of the stay. The rooms were clean and tidy. The breakfast was more than adequate. The place will only get better as further works are completed. I would recommend a stay for a few days to ride around the area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our group of 6 adults stayed here for a week in February 2014 for skiing/snowboarding.
This B&B is run by Kev and Delphine Smith-a lovely couple with local knowledge. Situated in the Alpine town of Bourg d'Oisans with fantastic views of the mountains and surrounding countryside, the house is amazing.
Rooms are large and all have ensuite and built in wardrobes.
Food was excellent.
B&B has a large open plan design with plenty of space.
Large garage for storing equipment and enough parking for several cars.
Close enough to the mountains-took around 30 mins to drive in. There is also a bus service-although we didn't use it.
Bourg itself has several supermarkets and restaurants, as well as ski/board hire. Nice to have the option of getting out of a ski resort in the evenings.
Wholehearted recommendation-we will return!

Room Tip: 4 large rooms-2 doubles, a family room (double plus bunk beds) and a twin room. All ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauline t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Fantastic looking accomodation on the outside and once you're inside it also fails to disappoint. We were here as a group to ski and snowboard and we were made very welcome by Kev and Delphine. A huge open plan dining/lounge area makes a great social area, plenty of room for all guests. A double sized garage with enough room to accommodate all your sporting goods (Bikes, Snowboards, skis.) A 15-20min walk will get you into town, which has an adequate number of shops, bars and restaurants. The ski resort of Alpe d'Huez is a short car journey up the mountain (12km) and there is a regular bus too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5neaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed with Cycling Ascents for a week of skiing in early Feb 2014. The house is truly stunning with breathtaking views in every direction and huge picture windows to make the most if it.
Kev and Delphine are incredibly welcoming and you are immediately made to feel at home.
The downstairs has a huge open plan lounge, kitchen and dining area which is warm and inviting. The 3 large sofas allow you to relax as a group, or if you need a bit of space to plan the next day's activities, the dining table allows you to spread out. The separate media room is a great idea as it keeps the distracting TV in another room.
All the bedrooms were large and en suite with the beds designed to split into singles or connect together to create a generous (and very comfortable) double.
The local town has plenty of restaurants and cafes and the ski resort of Alpe d'Huez is only 12km away.
A huge amount of thought has clearly gone in to providing a quality stay. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: There is a family room with a double/twins and bunks which could be handy for a group of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LlamaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Bourg-d'Oisans
1.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 1 in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
79 reviews
2.5 mi away
Auberge de la Foret
Auberge de la Foret
#2 of 3 in Auris
27 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Grandes Rousses
Hotel Grandes Rousses
#1 of 31 in L'Alpe-d'Huez
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Camping a la Rencontre du Soleil
Camping a la Rencontre du Soleil
#1 of 9 in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
82 reviews
1.8 mi away
Room To Rent
Room To Rent
#6 of 9 in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Terminus
Hotel le Terminus
#9 of 9 in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cycling Ascents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cycling Ascents

Property: Cycling Ascents
Address: 5 route du Gua | Le Vert, 38520 Le Bourg-d'Oisans, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Le Bourg-d'Oisans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Le Bourg-d'Oisans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cycling Ascents runs cycling holidays with accommodation based in Bourg D'Oisans. As well as our purpose built house with 5 ensuite guest rooms , we can provide guided rides, route advice or just cyclist specific accommodation. Our base just outside of Bourg D'Oisans is just a five minute ride from the foot of Alpe d'Huez, the legendary Tour de France climb. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cycling Ascents France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing