We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting taste of Toscana!”
Review of Villa Buoninsegna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Buoninsegna
Ranked #5 of 18 Rapolano Terme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

- outstanding location, nestling in it's own vineyard and Olive oil production.
- spectacular rooms in the main building with the rustic charm and period features of a 19th century Italian manor house.
- superb breakfast eaten outdoors overlooking the grounds
- Superbly located to the Rapolano Terme, a must!
- can't wait to go back.
- Don't expect a slick Hilton type welcome and process, go with the flow and take it all in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cucciolo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 150 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have spent 1 week there in Podere Goito Apartment. Apartment was very spacious, much more than we needed in reality. All property is well maintained and quite fresh with two swimming pools.

Owners are very friendly and reacting to any request instantly. They are serving dinners twice a week (breakfast every morning), but we did not went there as we had a lovely place for our private dinners/breakfasts which we have prepared ourselves and loved it. Supermarket is 4 mins by car where you can find basically all you need in fresh form and good choice. Town is 4 minutes away where you can have lovely dinner in non-touristic restaurants.

In general it is quiet and relaxed place where is plenty of space to everyone. Everything was very nice. Only thing which bothered me personally at the start - highway is not far and you can hear car engines well enough... However my wife did not cared about it and I stop noticing cars on the 3rd day as well... But advantage is that in 2 minutes to get on the highway and reach all destinations very fast. Last vacations we spent in other place which seemed to be closer to the major tourist attractions in Tuscany, however it took more time to reach them due to the winding roads. From Villa Buoninsegna all was very quick.

I would recommend going there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas_Kvedaravicius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have stayed at the villa 3 times now and love the place. My wife goes to local workshops and seminars while I tour the countryside. The staff are professional and pleasant. We stay in the apartments, but the rooms are great too. Views like out of a postcard. Can't wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Book early, this olace goes fast in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a lovely week at cottage le casce in the end of may, that is low season with less opportunities at the property, but a new cottage with a large double bed makes the place a great place to stay and have some rest and a good base to visit Sienna and other great historic cities, villages, communities, castels, churches and much more.
Great advises voor having dinner in good restaurants around.
One should know there is a four lane motorway just 500m. away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here with a group and was fortunate to have one of the 7 rooms in the main house, which was built in the 17th century, and is referred to as the B&B. The room was huge with a big bed, settee, tv and table/desk; the adjoining bathroom was generously sized with a soaking tub. The view from the window was of vineyards and another farmhouse, which is owned by the Villa. There are also about 6 apartments next to the main house that may have been built from an old carriage-house: they are two-bedroom, one bath units with kitchens and common rooms.

There are walking trails through the vineyards, two pools and lawns. The breakfast each morning consisted of typical fare - yogurt, fruit, pastries, cheese, prosciutto, cappuccino, juice, etc. -- all beautifully arrayed and in generous amounts. We ate on the terrace. The owner, Daniela, gave us a tour of the wine making cellar and talked about the process; bottles of their red and white wines accompanied our dinners and were quite nice. The food served for dinner was quite good.

Our group spent the last of our two weeks together here and it was a lovely way to end our trip. Being at the villa was a really special, magical treat - the huge linden tree in front was full of fragrant blossom and jasmine was in bloom, so it smelled as beautiful as it looked. I think it's a great base from which to explore that part of Tuscany, including Siena, which is only about 25km away, and the mineral baths which are just down the road (but not within walking distance). Just be forewarned that there's no air-conditioning in the main house, which isn't especially common in Italy anyway. My overall rating of 4/5 stars is because I didn't personally arrange for my stay there, so can't speak to rates or how the villa compares to other options in the area.

Room Tip: For convenience, families may prefer the apartments, rather than rooms in the main house (B&B).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRCHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The villa, it's garden and pools were great and peacefull, the owners were very kind and organic breakfast was delicious. During the night we looked at the stars on the beach chairs close to the pool and the sky was amazing. Moreover you have a 10% discount for the Antica Querciolaia hot springs, which are settled 500mt far from the villa. There is free parking and trekking paths, could I ask for anything more? :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank comunicati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Used this villa in Rapolano Terme as our base to explore the Tuscany region - Siena, San Gimignano, Montalcino, Montalpulciano, Monteregionne etc. What can we say this place was amazing. It's a 350 year old farm\villa with acres of trees and space. Obviously it has been renovated to bring it up to the 21st century but it definitely has old charm with high ceilings, large doors, large windows, antique furniture etc. Daniela, the owner, was very helpful assisting us with our plans. Rooms were large and clean. There was no air con but not really necessary (at least during our stay). Breakfasts were good. In addition, if there's enough demand the villa offers a 26 euro full course dinner on various nights. The food was great and plentiful. Since it is a agri-turismo they do produce their own products such as olive oil and wine which we tried and subsequently purchased.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank floshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapolano Terme
4.5 mi away
Agriturismo Paradiso
Agriturismo Paradiso
#4 of 9 in Asciano
99 reviews
1.3 mi away
Molino della Lodola
Molino della Lodola
#6 of 18 in Rapolano Terme
97 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alle Terme B&B
Alle Terme B&B
#3 of 19 in Rapolano Terme
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Antico Granaione B&B Residenza d'Epoca
Antico Granaione B&B Residenza d...
#3 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
126 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il Montino
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il ...
#2 of 5 in Serre di Rapolano
165 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
#2 of 4 in Rapolano Terme
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Buoninsegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Buoninsegna

Address: Localita' Buoninsegna | Strada per Poggio Santa Cecilia, 53040, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Rapolano Terme
Price Range: $115 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Buoninsegna is a big agricultural property with 320 hectares and a few apartments (in self-catering accommodation) and rooms in B&B accommodation for spending a pleasant green holiday, in the very heart of Tuscany, just 27 km from Siena. Our most important cultivations are vineyards and olive-trees: our Super Tuscan Red Wines and our Olive Oil, from organic agriculture, are sold directly on the property. A wide Mediterranean forest surrounds the whole estate, where we grow also corn and sunflowers. The property is named after the big XVII century Noble Villa, with a typical and noble structure, built in the centre of the "borgo". The apartments for "agriturismo" are placed exactly in the "borgo", where some of the houses were totally renewed in 1999/2002/2004: altogether 5 apartments for max. 20 guests (self catering accommodation), and 6 double rooms in B&B accommodation. Villa Buoninsegna has 2 swimming pools situated in two different parts of the garden: the smaller one is 10mt x 5mt and the bigger one is 14mt x 7mt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Buoninsegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing