We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
107
47
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
47
3
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 160 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here with a group and was fortunate to have one of the 7 rooms in the main house, which was built in the 17th century, and is referred to as the B&B. The room was huge with a big bed, settee, tv and table/desk; the adjoining bathroom was generously sized with a soaking tub. The view from the window was of vineyards and another farmhouse, which is owned by the Villa. There are also about 6 apartments next to the main house that may have been built from an old carriage-house: they are two-bedroom, one bath units with kitchens and common rooms.

There are walking trails through the vineyards, two pools and lawns. The breakfast each morning consisted of typical fare - yogurt, fruit, pastries, cheese, prosciutto, cappuccino, juice, etc. -- all beautifully arrayed and in generous amounts. We ate on the terrace. The owner, Daniela, gave us a tour of the wine making cellar and talked about the process; bottles of their red and white wines accompanied our dinners and were quite nice. The food served for dinner was quite good.

Our group spent the last of our two weeks together here and it was a lovely way to end our trip. Being at the villa was a really special, magical treat - the huge linden tree in front was full of fragrant blossom and jasmine was in bloom, so it smelled as beautiful as it looked. I think it's a great base from which to explore that part of Tuscany, including Siena, which is only about 25km away, and the mineral baths which are just down the road (but not within walking distance). Just be forewarned that there's no air-conditioning in the main house, which isn't especially common in Italy anyway. My overall rating of 4/5 stars is because I didn't personally arrange for my stay there, so can't speak to rates or how the villa compares to other options in the area.

Room Tip: For convenience, families may prefer the apartments, rather than rooms in the main house (B&B).
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LRCHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The villa, it's garden and pools were great and peacefull, the owners were very kind and organic breakfast was delicious. During the night we looked at the stars on the beach chairs close to the pool and the sky was amazing. Moreover you have a 10% discount for the Antica Querciolaia hot springs, which are settled 500mt far from the villa. There is free parking and trekking paths, could I ask for anything more? :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank comunicati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Used this villa in Rapolano Terme as our base to explore the Tuscany region - Siena, San Gimignano, Montalcino, Montalpulciano, Monteregionne etc. What can we say this place was amazing. It's a 350 year old farm\villa with acres of trees and space. Obviously it has been renovated to bring it up to the 21st century but it definitely has old charm with high ceilings, large doors, large windows, antique furniture etc. Daniela, the owner, was very helpful assisting us with our plans. Rooms were large and clean. There was no air con but not really necessary (at least during our stay). Breakfasts were good. In addition, if there's enough demand the villa offers a 26 euro full course dinner on various nights. The food was great and plentiful. Since it is a agri-turismo they do produce their own products such as olive oil and wine which we tried and subsequently purchased.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank floshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our extended family of 15 traveled to Tuscany for this special occasion (several teenagers included). The Villa Buoninsegna was our home base for a week. It is a stately, lovely place with wonderful service. We reserved the whole villa (9 bedrooms - each with a modern ensuite bathroom). The rooms all had high, domed ceilings & huge windows that opened to the countryside. Each morning we enjoyed breakfast under the front patio arches. We also had 3 specially prepared dinners served outside accompanied by candles, flowers, white linens & of course, good Tuscan food. There is also a kitchen available where we were able to prepare some meals ourselves. We arranged transportation to take us into Florence, Siena, the Chianti & the Clay Hills of Tuscany. The experience met all of our expectations and then some. Thank you Janice, Simone & Daniela.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2,141,523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

I feel ambivalent about being the first guest to post a review on TripAdvisor for Villa Buoninsegna. It's one of those places that are so special that you just want to keep them out of the spotlight, because you know they will then become popular and you may never be able to get a room again. However I would feel guilty if I didn't write one, because the lovely villa deserves to be adored more often.

Take a look at my photos. Breathtaking 2-story villa with gigantic rooms and amazing views. Largest bathroom and windows I've ever seen and everything was elegantly decorated. This villa has a long history and you can tell just by being in it.

The 2 pools are great. We didn't get to swim in them because that week was unusually cold, but they're both close to the villa and the apartments and very clean.

On Fridays and Sundays you can eat at the villa, a set menu of 5 to 6 courses with fabulous wine for around 30 euros per person. Divine.

The villa also offers a wine tour, and the nearby town Rapolano Terme was famous for its hot spring and spa. Unfortunately our schedule didn't allow us to experience either, so that's another reason to go back. I absolutely love this place....it is simply grand yet charming.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FollowThatBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews