We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing villa in Rapolano terme countryside, very close to Antica Querciolaia hot springs”
Review of Villa Buoninsegna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Buoninsegna
Ranked #5 of 17 Rapolano Terme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing villa in Rapolano terme countryside, very close to Antica Querciolaia hot springs”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The villa, it's garden and pools were great and peacefull, the owners were very kind and organic breakfast was delicious. During the night we looked at the stars on the beach chairs close to the pool and the sky was amazing. Moreover you have a 10% discount for the Antica Querciolaia hot springs, which are settled 500mt far from the villa. There is free parking and trekking paths, could I ask for anything more? :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank comunicati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    39
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
75
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Used this villa in Rapolano Terme as our base to explore the Tuscany region - Siena, San Gimignano, Montalcino, Montalpulciano, Monteregionne etc. What can we say this place was amazing. It's a 350 year old farm\villa with acres of trees and space. Obviously it has been renovated to bring it up to the 21st century but it definitely has old charm with high ceilings, large doors, large windows, antique furniture etc. Daniela, the owner, was very helpful assisting us with our plans. Rooms were large and clean. There was no air con but not really necessary (at least during our stay). Breakfasts were good. In addition, if there's enough demand the villa offers a 26 euro full course dinner on various nights. The food was great and plentiful. Since it is a agri-turismo they do produce their own products such as olive oil and wine which we tried and subsequently purchased.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank floshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Our extended family of 15 traveled to Tuscany for this special occasion (several teenagers included). The Villa Buoninsegna was our home base for a week. It is a stately, lovely place with wonderful service. We reserved the whole villa (9 bedrooms - each with a modern ensuite bathroom). The rooms all had high, domed ceilings & huge windows that opened to the countryside. Each morning we enjoyed breakfast under the front patio arches. We also had 3 specially prepared dinners served outside accompanied by candles, flowers, white linens & of course, good Tuscan food. There is also a kitchen available where we were able to prepare some meals ourselves. We arranged transportation to take us into Florence, Siena, the Chianti & the Clay Hills of Tuscany. The experience met all of our expectations and then some. Thank you Janice, Simone & Daniela.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2141523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

I feel ambivalent about being the first guest to post a review on TripAdvisor for Villa Buoninsegna. It's one of those places that are so special that you just want to keep them out of the spotlight, because you know they will then become popular and you may never be able to get a room again. However I would feel guilty if I didn't write one, because the lovely villa deserves to be adored more often.

Take a look at my photos. Breathtaking 2-story villa with gigantic rooms and amazing views. Largest bathroom and windows I've ever seen and everything was elegantly decorated. This villa has a long history and you can tell just by being in it.

The 2 pools are great. We didn't get to swim in them because that week was unusually cold, but they're both close to the villa and the apartments and very clean.

On Fridays and Sundays you can eat at the villa, a set menu of 5 to 6 courses with fabulous wine for around 30 euros per person. Divine.

The villa also offers a wine tour, and the nearby town Rapolano Terme was famous for its hot spring and spa. Unfortunately our schedule didn't allow us to experience either, so that's another reason to go back. I absolutely love this place....it is simply grand yet charming.

  • Liked — Top quality accommodation
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FollowThatBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapolano Terme hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
#2 of 4 in Rapolano Terme
306 reviews
1.3 mi away
Molino della Lodola
Molino della Lodola
#6 of 17 in Rapolano Terme
90 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il Montino
Agriturismo Relais Borghetto il ...
#2 of 6 in Serre di Rapolano
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Agriturismo Armaiolo
Agriturismo Armaiolo
#4 of 19 in Rapolano Terme
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alle Terme B&B
Alle Terme B&B
#3 of 19 in Rapolano Terme
49 reviews
2.4 mi away
Castello delle Serre
Castello delle Serre
#1 of 8 in Serre di Rapolano
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Buoninsegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Buoninsegna

Property: Villa Buoninsegna
Address: Localita' Buoninsegna | Strada per Poggio Santa Cecilia, 53040, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rapolano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Buoninsegna is a big agricultural property with 320 hectares and a few apartments (in self-catering accommodation) and rooms in B&B accommodation for spending a pleasant green holiday, in the very heart of Tuscany, just 27 km from Siena. Our most important cultivations are vineyards and olive-trees: our Super Tuscan Red Wines and our Olive Oil, from organic agriculture, are sold directly on the property. A wide Mediterranean forest surrounds the whole estate, where we grow also corn and sunflowers. The property is named after the big XVII century Noble Villa, with a typical and noble structure, built in the centre of the "borgo". The apartments for "agriturismo" are placed exactly in the "borgo", where some of the houses were totally renewed in 1999/2002/2004: altogether 5 apartments for max. 20 guests (self catering accommodation), and 6 double rooms in B&B accommodation. Villa Buoninsegna has 2 swimming pools situated in two different parts of the garden: the smaller one is 10mt x 5mt and the bigger one is 14mt x 7mt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Villa Buoninsegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing