We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir William
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Maynard(Grindleford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Norfolk Arms(Sheffield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
106
88
19
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
88
19
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay windowsuperior roompeak districthope valleyfantastic viewsbreakfast and evening mealreasonable sizefriendly hotelderwent valleypleasant surroundingsthe room was nicebeer gardenfollowing morningcooked to perfectionroad noisestayed here for two nightswalking weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 238 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from staying 3 nights at this hotel and we really really enjoyed it. It's such a great location for walking! We had some lovely long walks and it was nice to have such a warm and comfortable room to come back to. Our room had a stunning view as well.

The food is exceptional as well. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts! Also, the staff are really friendly and made us feel really welcome.

Only a couple of negatives: the paint was peeling away from the windows, so maybe could do with a bit of sprucing up? And the shower was a bit rubbish. The water pressure was so low I couldn't seem to get my hair rinsed! I'm not exactly fussy, ideally I just want to be able to get clean, especially after a long muddy walk. So that was a bit of a disappointment. But I would definitely come back, maybe we'll ask for a room with a bath next time!

Room Tip: The 'superior rooms' are worth it for the views.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly_Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and i spent a couple of nights here in february we thoroughly enjoyed the break the room was very comfortable and the food was absolutally delicious we shall certainly be coming back in the near future value for money was second to none a big thank you to manager steve for his help and hospitality

Room Tip: the room we had was facing the road but that was no problem for us ther are some bay windowed rooms on the other side of the hotel which face the hills giving a lovelly view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm_ericking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed there last week taking advantage of the Winter deal on the Superior Room - room 6. The room was spacious and the bed extremely comfy. The views were stunning. The room was a bit cold when we arrived but the heating did come on later in the afternoon. A separate heater was provided too. Only issue we had is the sound coming from the pub below. Food in the pub was tasty and we ate there both nights. Some local Peak District beers would have been nice too.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosharpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked the Padley room for a dinner for our local walking group in January 2012. Steve, the manager, and Pete, the chef bent over backwards to provide me with a great menu with 3-4 choices per course and we all pre-ordered our food.The price was very reasonable compared with other places in the Peak District and the room, food and service were excellent. Everyone asked to go again this year so we booked for Jan 2013. Unfortunately it was the weekend of heavy snow and I had to postpone at the last minute. Steve was very understanding about this, didn't charge me any extra and immediately offered me alternate dates. We held the dinner on February 23rd and I'm pleased to say it was as good as ever. Steve leads a very friendly, organised and committed team.

Room Tip: Ladies toilets are up a flight of stairs from bar so not ideal for elderly/disabled
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed, and both times have had a fantastic room with a bay window looking out over the countryside. Food is excellent, with a great menu and daily specials. Very friendly staff

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubaluyve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews