We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect - for both business or leisure”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maynard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

A great example of a boutique hotel offering high quality service, food and accommodation at a rate cheaper than the homogenised chains. Very helpful and friendly staff, classy restaurant and great examples of local art throughout the hotel. Easy to get into Sheffield or Chesterfield so worth travelling the few miles to enjoy the tranquility of the location. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westieworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay.

We are an individually owned hotel and have worked hard to give the hotel its own unique charm and feel about it, so I am delighted you felt this during your stay. We also take great pride in the local area and try to support local businesses and artists.

I am glad that you found everything to a high quality and I hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 393 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Warm and welcoming hotel, staff were attentative and very polite and pleasant.
Had evening meal and bed and breakfast, the evening meal was amazing, hot, and well presented with a list of tastes to suite everyone, and an extensive wine list. Breakfast was either full english or continental or a bit of both if you wish. You can relax in the bar area or in the sitting area where there is a log fire burning for those wishing to visit during the winter months. Rooms were warm and comfortable with some rooms having wonderful views across the Peak District, and also for those of you with dogs, they allow pets to stay. Situated in the heart of the Peak District this hotel is a recommendation to others wether it be just for a bar lunch, or evening meal, you will not be disappointed. Thank you to the staff who made my stay comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanandrews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. I am delighted to hear that the food, staff and decor met your expectations.

We always aim to provide the highest standard of food and service and aim to give every guest an enjoyable stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to review and I hope we will be able to welcome you to The Maynard again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

10 of us decided to have a trekking weekend at the Peak District ,as part of our training for Charity Trek Challenge on the Great Wall of China in March . We could only book 3 twins (fit 6 of us ) -as they were fully booked-so the rest of the group had to stay at the lovely Fox House nearby. When we arrived there 8.30am after 3 hour journey from Essex , we were told that we had only booked 2 rooms not 3!!! After proving that we had actually booked 3 rooms,with life saver print offs , the hotel accepted that it was a fault on their side . The very helpful receptionist apologised and offered to put 3 singles in each room to fit us all in , which we had to accept as we had no alternative . One problem was that we had a male in our group and that made things a bit awkward !!!! After settling this problem we went for a 11 mile walk , so on our return we were very tired and ready to chill out in our rooms until dinner . There was a bottle of complimentary Cava and some small nibbles waiting for us as a way of saying sorry for a major mistake !!!! So had to talk to the manager to make them realise that when you pay for a double/twin there's more room for you to relax in, to move around etc. when there's a third bed, taking up all the space , you expect to pay lot less as we all paid the same amount for a full proper comfy bed not a pull along /spare one !!!! They agreed to give us a discount which did compensate for the loss of comfort , but I did feel bad for our friend who had to share with one another male in her room:(( luckily we weren't all couples otherwise this'd have ruined our weekend with no privacy . After a good night's sleep we were greeted with a very filling and lovely breakfast , which was a superb way to start another trekking day but we did choose to have our dinner elsewhere as the prices here was a bit too high with not much food choice . They do nice hot chocolate tho ':)) Overall it was a nice hotel to stay in with a nice decor and they rectified the problems . So I would recommend for you to go there but double check your booking especially if your booking more than one room ...

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATASERT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. Once again may I apologise for the error made on our part, and I hope that the complimentary bubbly and discount of the room compensated for any inconvenience caused by our mistake.

We are delighted you enjoyed a good breakfast, to prepare you for another days walking and I wish you all the best with your charity trek challenge.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at The Maynard in February 2013 to celebrate my 40th birthday and I could not have asked for a better place to stay. Excellent service, very impressive food, wonderful decor, fantastic rooms with very comfortable beds and great facilities such as flat screen TV etc. We stayed in a suite which was of course wonderfully spacious but the superior room our friends stayed in seemed just as good. The standard rooms were of similar quality, simply smaller. The Maynard was also genuinely dog friendly which is real bonus. I would not hesitate to recommend this place and we will definitely be back again in the future, a super place.

Room Tip: The superior room with a view of the gardens is probably just as good as the suite (which does not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stressedclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We would like to thank you for your very positive review of The Maynard, and are delighted that you had such a good birthday with us.

We do have a variety of bedrooms of different standards and sizes. Our main suite also has a view of the gardens, and the second suite which I believe you stayed in, and as you said a very spacious room. If you call the hotel directly, our staff would be more than happy to explain the various rooms we have available. We aim to provide good facilities in the room for you to enjoy during your stay and are glad you found our facilities to a high standard.

We pride ourselves on being one of the only hotels in this area to allow dogs and are glad you were able to take advantage of this.

We are delighted that you will be back in the future and will look forward to welcoming you then.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Maynard was offering a winter deal inclusive of dinner with a bottle of wine for two. I had expected a cheap wine and restricted menu but no, we had the full menu and either a Sauvignon Blanc or Merlot from Chile to choose from. The menu tends towards the nouvelle cuisine in being a little fussy but the food is first rate. Venison was wonderfully tender; salmon steak was done to perfection; and the lamb was delicious. The staff were charming and really interested to provide a good service. The standard room was well-furnished and the bathroom newly-fitted.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidCM2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted the staff were attentive and that you enjoyed the food in our two AA rosette restaurant. We aim to do a variety of different food in the bar and restaurant to cater for those wanting a hearty meal, to those who wish to try slightly more exotic nouveau cuisine.


We are constantly updating our website with new offers and hope to be able to welcome you to The Maynard again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Maynard to celebrate 60th birthday and had a fantastic time. The staff were very helpful and the food was excellent. The rooms were clean with tea and coffee facilities. View from the room was amazing. Great location for walking, would recommend it!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandJun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted you found everything fantastic and the food and staff met your expectations.

We are lucky to have Superior bedrooms and a Suite with such a picturesque view, and hopefully we will be able to welcome you again, perhaps when the weather improves, so you are able to really see the whole of the view.

Thank you also for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very warm welcome. Efficient and helpful with emails whilst making the booking. Very accommodating.

We were shown upto the room and it was stunning. We had a superior double with a separate lounge and a huge bathroom with a corner bath.

Excellent food. All the staff were pleasant, friendly and very attentive. Can't way to go back again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are STUNNING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarclayRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am glad you had such a pleasurable stay with us and that you found our second suite, staff and food to a high standard.

We will look forward to welcoming you to The Maynard again in the future, and make sure to check out our website for current offers.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindleford
6.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
398 reviews
2.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
401 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
6.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Address: Main Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Grindleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Price Range: $78 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak District hotel and restaurant, The Maynard, was refurbished in March 2008 to become one of the best independent hotels in the Peak District. The building dates back over 100 years and during the refurbishment we have tried to respect this heritage whilst at the same time bringing the accommodation up to 21st century contemporary standards. The Peak District views from the garden, restaurant and bedrooms are stunning, and may leave you wondering if you’re miles from civilisation. Fortunately, as well as benefiting from a beautiful and tranquil location, The Maynard is very well located for visitor's from the outside world; The Maynard is less than 15 minutes from Sheffield by train (you can hop off at Grindleford station a couple of hundred yards from our door), and within easy reach of the M1, A57 Snake Pass and A61 by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maynard Hotel Grindleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing