We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maynard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Certificate of Excellence
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for a very frosty cold weekend in January and absolutely delighted with the hotel. We stayed in one of the suites which although more expensive are still excellent value for money. Decor Is chic modern and the main hotel areas are spotlessly clean and inviting. Food was second to none and staff very friendly. Excellent walks straight from the door - cant wait to go back !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of The Maynard, I am glad you had a pleasant stay and found the hotel to a high standard. We aim to ensure all aspects of the hotel are done to a high standard, from the decor to the staff, the food to the cleanliness and are glad you found them so.

I am glad you will be returning to stay with us again, and we will look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    89
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
74
199
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight break to celebrate hubby's birthday. We are keen walkers so the location was ideal. Booked a great deal which included accommodation, a three course meal, wine and a cooked breakfast for £65 per person. The food was amazing so this turned out to be an absolute bargain. We were able to bring our two dogs with us, and they were made very welcome. Most dog friendly establishment are a bit rustic, so it was a nice change to be able to stay in such a lovely hotel with them!
Staff were friendly and accommodating, setting us up with a table in the bar so the dogs could be with us.
I have only one small criticism, the room was really hot overnight, to the point where I had to open the windows- not what you expect in January when it's minus 7 outside!
Other than that, perfect, not sure how I can beat it for hubby's 30th next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your dogs were able to join you. We aim to be as accommodating as possible to our four legged friends being one of the only hotels in the area who allows them to stay over, and they are welcome in the bedrooms, lounge and bar area. We also aim to not let this affect guests and therefore can offer the restaurant and breakfast menus in the bar area so guests with dogs.

I am glad to here the staff were accommodating and dealt with your requirements. I apologise that you found the room warm, unfortunately due to the old characteristics of the hotel are rooms are not able to be individually heated.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to The Maynard.

Kind Regards
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I married here in May 12 after stopping overnight 18 months earlier. What drew us to this as a wedding location was the superb food we experienced during our weekend stay. Everyone wonders whether a hotel can reproduce the quality of a meal for two for 100 people. Well we were not disappointed.

The Maynard are clearly very experienced in holding weddings, which showed with the level of detail that was displayed. despite this, we were made to feel very special, and not just like "another wedding" as you can do at some places.

Kate, the wedding coordinator was fabulous and helped us every step of the way with planning and suggestions.

On the day, nothing was too much trouble. The day ran like clockwork, with the help of the staff. they were professional and courteous throughout. Any problems were dealt with with no fuss.

the food was superb. all of the guests commented on the quality, particularly given the amount they were catering for. In the evening we had hot roast pork sandwiches - again - delicious.

We chose to provide our own wine and champagne and pay corkage. What was a pleasant surprise was that the day after the wedding they handed back the unopened bottles and only charged corkage on the bottles they actually opened.

The location is idyllic - private grounds and a decking area where the post wedding drinks were served.

Would i recommend this place - absolutely, without hesitation, whether it is for a weekend away, a meal or a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleyharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for such a splendid review. We are glad that your wedding day was so enjoyable. Our entire team has run hundreds of weddings which enables us to ensure your day runs as smoothly as possible and that everything is done to top standard.

I am glad the food was enjoyed by all the guests, and that you found it to a high standard, we always aim to cater our wedding food as near to our restaurants two rosettes as possible, even on a large scale. The pork sandwiches are always a favourite and I am glad that these proved popular at your own wedding.

We also aim to give you as much privacy and exclusivity as possible and hope that you got some good wedding photos within the grounds.

Once again I am delighted that your wedding was how you imagined and hope that we will see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Beds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Over the years we have stayed at this hotel many times and have seen many changes. The hotel now has everything you could ask for,the staff are the friendliest ever, food is excellent, coupled with some of the most stunning views in the Peak District. The bedrooms have been modernised to a very high standard, the dining room and lounge beautifully artistic with some really interesting art. Go stay in this lovely country hotel in a wonderful area with so much to do and interesting places to see, walks are amazing. Most of all you will be sure of a very freindly welcome from all the staff at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaNorthBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that your wedding was more than you could of wished for. We try to tailor all our weddings to meet your own dreams and expectations and are so pleased that it was such a special day for you.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to The Maynard soon, if not before your 1st Anniversary.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We got married at The Maynard in June 2012. It was a very special day and more than we could have ever wished for. The staff couldn't do enough for us - both leading up to the wedding and on the day. Everything ran so smoothly and Kate, the wedding planner, organised every detail and helped us enjoy the day stress free. She was very attentive and helpful throughout. The food was of a good standard. The rooms were all lovely too. We couldn't have asked for more!

Room Tip: bridal suite was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your special day at The Maynard. We are glad that it was the day of your dreams and you had such an enjoyable and stress free day. I will pass your thanks onto Kate and hope that we will all be able to welcome you back both back as a married couple for your first anniversary, if not before.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We made our choice to stay at the Maynard by checking it out on here, and did we get lucky. We had a great one night stay. The hotel was everything we could ask for and more. We loved our bedroom, the gardens, the staff, the location, in fact everything about it. We wished we had been staying longer, we felt so comfortable. We will definitely stay here again on any future trips to this beautiful part of the country. A big thank you to everyone at the Maynard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your very positive review. I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay and that all aspects of the hotel met your expectations.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to The Maynard with your family, again in the future and hopefully it will be for a longer period. Make sure to check out our offers on the website with the different options as we have new offers on all the time.

We will look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Apologies for the lateness of this review, you get caught up with life.

My husband and I had our wedding reception here in April, and could not fault The Maynard. From the very first visit, we were welcomed and overwhelmed by this beautiful old property. The decor has a modern slant whilst still retaining traditional features. The only real let down from the decor was the public bathrooms are a little dated and do not follow the design of the rest of the hotel, I hope they plan to redesign these soon.

The staff were all amazing. When we first visited, Kate the wedding co-ordinator, was on holiday. We did not have much expectation of the information we would receive from any other member of staff (this was because we had visited several wedding venues and there were some questions that the wedding co-ordinators couldn't answer). We were surprised to discover that all of our questions were answered, a pleasant surprise considering this staff member did not deal with weddings. Then I get to Kate Lloyd, the wedding co-ordinator. What a credit she is to The Maynard. Pleasant, friendly, and will bend over backwards for you, she is a real gem.

The hotel itself, is a beautiful venue for a peak district wedding."The Chatsworth Suite" is a wonderful reception room, if you ever go, please look up; the ceiling is truly awesome. The grounds are immaculate and the food delicious. All food is locally sourced, so the Derbyshire Lamb in Spring was divine.

The only disappointment was that we had reserved the cordoned off area in the bar the night before the wedding as the majority of the hotel rooms were taken by the wedding party and we had planned a get-together with them and also other friends who were staying at a different hotel. This area had not been roped off as promised. It did not really effect us but I did feel sorry for the couple who were eating in that area with a group of about 25-30 people there.

I would highly recommend The Maynard as a wedding venue. Due to the small size of this venue, they only cater for one wedding per day,meaning that you have their full attention, making it a more personal experience. Our dream day was made that extra bit special by The Maynard and it's amazing team. We can't wait to see you again.

Room Tip: Go for the Bridal Suite. You have to climb the many flights of stairs but it is well worth it when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that your wedding met all your expectations and that you enjoyed the day. We always aim to give a couple our full attention and treat every wedding individually as no couple is the same.

We will look forward to welcoming you to The Maynard again, perhaps for your 1st Anniversary!

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindleford
6.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Property: The Maynard
Address: Main Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Grindleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak District hotel and restaurant, The Maynard, was refurbished in March 2008 to become one of the best independent hotels in the Peak District. The building dates back over 100 years and during the refurbishment we have tried to respect this heritage whilst at the same time bringing the accommodation up to 21st century contemporary standards. The Peak District views from the garden, restaurant and bedrooms are stunning, and may leave you wondering if you’re miles from civilisation. Fortunately, as well as benefiting from a beautiful and tranquil location, The Maynard is very well located for visitor's from the outside world; The Maynard is less than 15 minutes from Sheffield by train (you can hop off at Grindleford station a couple of hundred yards from our door), and within easy reach of the M1, A57 Snake Pass and A61 by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, SpeedyBooker.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maynard Hotel Grindleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing