We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding Experience”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maynard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, West Yorkshire
1 review
“Wonderful Wedding Experience”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Apologies for the lateness of this review, you get caught up with life.

My husband and I had our wedding reception here in April, and could not fault The Maynard. From the very first visit, we were welcomed and overwhelmed by this beautiful old property. The decor has a modern slant whilst still retaining traditional features. The only real let down from the decor was the public bathrooms are a little dated and do not follow the design of the rest of the hotel, I hope they plan to redesign these soon.

The staff were all amazing. When we first visited, Kate the wedding co-ordinator, was on holiday. We did not have much expectation of the information we would receive from any other member of staff (this was because we had visited several wedding venues and there were some questions that the wedding co-ordinators couldn't answer). We were surprised to discover that all of our questions were answered, a pleasant surprise considering this staff member did not deal with weddings. Then I get to Kate Lloyd, the wedding co-ordinator. What a credit she is to The Maynard. Pleasant, friendly, and will bend over backwards for you, she is a real gem.

The hotel itself, is a beautiful venue for a peak district wedding."The Chatsworth Suite" is a wonderful reception room, if you ever go, please look up; the ceiling is truly awesome. The grounds are immaculate and the food delicious. All food is locally sourced, so the Derbyshire Lamb in Spring was divine.

The only disappointment was that we had reserved the cordoned off area in the bar the night before the wedding as the majority of the hotel rooms were taken by the wedding party and we had planned a get-together with them and also other friends who were staying at a different hotel. This area had not been roped off as promised. It did not really effect us but I did feel sorry for the couple who were eating in that area with a group of about 25-30 people there.

I would highly recommend The Maynard as a wedding venue. Due to the small size of this venue, they only cater for one wedding per day,meaning that you have their full attention, making it a more personal experience. Our dream day was made that extra bit special by The Maynard and it's amazing team. We can't wait to see you again.

Room Tip: Go for the Bridal Suite. You have to climb the many flights of stairs but it is well worth it when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelmno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that your wedding met all your expectations and that you enjoyed the day. We always aim to give a couple our full attention and treat every wedding individually as no couple is the same.

We will look forward to welcoming you to The Maynard again, perhaps for your 1st Anniversary!

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    99
    31
    8
    7
See reviews for
86
214
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was our second stay at The Maynard and we have loved it both times. This time we stayed with our 2 young boys and were surprised how it felt fine being there with children, as it is generally a chic boutique adult get-away.
We had a huge room on top floor with seperate adjoining room for the children which worked well, although their room was a bit cramped with 2 put-up beds.The adult room was fantastic with a huge impressive bed. The bathroom was amazing with a large corner bath and a huge walk-in shower.
The food in the pub/bar was great, and plenty to chose from for the children and adults.
All in all another fab stay. It was great to get a last minute deal however, as the full price for the family suite is q high

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your positive review on the hotel. Children are more than welcome in all areas of the hotel, and we aim to cater for all ages with a specific childrens menu and drawing packs if required.

I am glad the Family Room worked well for you and appreciate your comments, we always aim to take guests comments on board. Our room rates do vary and it is always best to call us directly to get the best rate.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you to The Maynard again in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed just one night for my husband's birthday and were pleasantly surprised by the excellent standard this hotel offered in both accommodation and food. We liked our large room (No. 7) which was on the first floor at the front and we did not suffer from traffic disturbance, as not much passes this way during the night. The problem with the TV reception was sorted out promptly and pleasantly; indeed we found all the staff to be friendly and efficient. In our opinion there was nothing at all wrong with the bar area, where we enjoyed a well-presented cream tea on our arrival. Our evening meal in the dining room was excellent as was our breakfast the following morning. We have every intention of returning to this well run establishment, along with our small dog.

Room Tip: As there isn't a lift, it just depends how many stairs you wish to climb as to whether you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaynardHotel, Reservations at The Maynard, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We are delighted that you had such a good stay with us and that any problems you had during your stay were sorted out efficiently. Unfortunately due to the age of the building we are unable to install a lift, however, guests can request a 1st floor bedroom upon booking.

We are glad your dog was able to join you, and always try to ensure they are made welcome around the hotel and bedrooms.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you to The Maynard again in the future.

Kind Regards
The Maynard Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruddington, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a perfect short stay at the Maynard it was good value for money the staff were friendly and food good. There was the option of eating in restaurant or bar with dogs allowed in the bar. Hotel surrounded by plenty of short circular and longer walks. Took our dog and it worked really well for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your very positive review of The Maynard, we always like to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

We are glad that you brought your dog with you and appreciated the fact we are dog friendly. We do try to cater for all our guests needs including walkers and dog lovers.

We hope that you will return to The Maynard again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

when arriving at the maynard we were pleasantly pleased we had upgraded so the view from our room was fabulous! going down to dinner was a bit different. we felt overdressed in the bar area which looks like a back street pub(really needs sorting out) when entering the lounge we would have felt absolutely fine if we had felt warm! my mother and myself had a draft on us so didnt feel we could enjoy our wine. we did inform staff but no heating was put on. when we sat down for dinner we were near the window and still a cold draft on us! we did shut the curtains but our feet were cold. the food was enjoyable unfortunately they dont change anything on the menu so on the second night we had to chose the same meal. but the problems could be easily solved. staff very friendly

Room Tip: make sure you upgrade to have a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorrainesteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate feedback from guests stays.

I am please you had the opportunity to appreciate our location and the stunning views from your bedroom.

We are sorry to hear you felt the temperature in the lounge was not to your liking and that your comments were not addressed. This issue has now been dealt with internally.

We do take a more relaxed view in our bar to accommodate the large amount of walkers we get, as well as locals who prefer a more informal environment.

We do hope that you will return again to The Maynard and once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Comfortable clean room,excellent food and service.Lovely setting and grounds.Our only complaint was the silly shower over the bath fitment,impossible to shower stood up as shower head had to be hand held,and no shower curtain,I ended up having to mop up the bathroom floor,also very difficult to get water temp right..What a shame! Friends who also stayed had walk in shower so no problem for them.i suggest Maynard put in a shower head support and curtain if only to prevent floods!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landlubber66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Maynard. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We do have a selection of bathroom set ups which include walk in showers, bath showers, roll top baths and larger baths with shower attachments. I believe your bath was the latter, however, if you do choose to stay with us again in the future, you can request a bathroom with a walk in or bath shower & screen, and we will do our upmost to accommodate you.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

on a last minute whim, we decided to take a road trip and drive up north to see the area. We got a deal on Laterooms.com and only paid 60 Pounds for a room, which was an incredibly deal. From the moment we checked in, the staff was overly nice and friendly, and even gave us recommendations on where to hike our dogs in the area and places nearby to eat (and pet friendly hotels are hard to come by these days). The hotel is decorated with modern flairs while still keeping its historical essence. Despite rainy weather, we took the recommended walk just nearby and saw the most amazing picturesque trails that would make any professional photographer want to whip our their camera. The best part of the experience was undoubtedly the food. Being from California and having dined at many nice restaurants in Beverly Hills, I can say that if this chef had a restaurant there, it would be a 3 hour wait to get a table. Our meal was impeccably prepared, locally sourced and each bite was just another "You have to try this" moment. Things like local venison, haddock lasagne, beef terrine, all make for a happy belly on a cold and rainy night. And the chef even brought a complimentary amuse bouche that we could have eaten dozens of. The rooms are smartly decorated, and the bed was so comfy we didnt want to get out of it. Breakfast was included and was again amazing, and so much food that you should definitely take a local hike before each meal there. I've read other reviews on here, many complaining that the rooms are old or that there isn't a lift, and I can understand. But after all, the hotel is 100 years old. And if someone thinks it's overpriced, then no one is holding a gun to your head to pay for it. Even despite having a view of the parking lot, we could not have asked for better value for money. It was the utmost and friendliest service, the decor of a trendy London boutique hotel, and the food of a chef who truly cares about his craft. I never even write reviews on here, but the Maynard deserves one from us. Take 3-4 hours, drive up from London, escape the noise and traffic, and take a walk on the pristine trails before treating yourself to a meal at the Maynard and a room upstairs. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_K83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for your incredibly positive review of The Maynard. We are glad you had such a nice escape from the London life, and enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindleford
18.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
393 reviews
7.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
693 reviews
6.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Property: The Maynard
Address: Main Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Grindleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak District hotel and restaurant, The Maynard, was refurbished in March 2008 to become one of the best independent hotels in the Peak District. The building dates back over 100 years and during the refurbishment we have tried to respect this heritage whilst at the same time bringing the accommodation up to 21st century contemporary standards. The Peak District views from the garden, restaurant and bedrooms are stunning, and may leave you wondering if you’re miles from civilisation. Fortunately, as well as benefiting from a beautiful and tranquil location, The Maynard is very well located for visitor's from the outside world; The Maynard is less than 15 minutes from Sheffield by train (you can hop off at Grindleford station a couple of hundred yards from our door), and within easy reach of the M1, A57 Snake Pass and A61 by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maynard Hotel Grindleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing