We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mother and daughter”
Review of The Maynard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Maynard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

when arriving at the maynard we were pleasantly pleased we had upgraded so the view from our room was fabulous! going down to dinner was a bit different. we felt overdressed in the bar area which looks like a back street pub(really needs sorting out) when entering the lounge we would have felt absolutely fine if we had felt warm! my mother and myself had a draft on us so didnt feel we could enjoy our wine. we did inform staff but no heating was put on. when we sat down for dinner we were near the window and still a cold draft on us! we did shut the curtains but our feet were cold. the food was enjoyable unfortunately they dont change anything on the menu so on the second night we had to chose the same meal. but the problems could be easily solved. staff very friendly

Room Tip: make sure you upgrade to have a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainesteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate feedback from guests stays.

I am please you had the opportunity to appreciate our location and the stunning views from your bedroom.

We are sorry to hear you felt the temperature in the lounge was not to your liking and that your comments were not addressed. This issue has now been dealt with internally.

We do take a more relaxed view in our bar to accommodate the large amount of walkers we get, as well as locals who prefer a more informal environment.

We do hope that you will return again to The Maynard and once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 403 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Comfortable clean room,excellent food and service.Lovely setting and grounds.Our only complaint was the silly shower over the bath fitment,impossible to shower stood up as shower head had to be hand held,and no shower curtain,I ended up having to mop up the bathroom floor,also very difficult to get water temp right..What a shame! Friends who also stayed had walk in shower so no problem for them.i suggest Maynard put in a shower head support and curtain if only to prevent floods!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landlubber66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Maynard. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We do have a selection of bathroom set ups which include walk in showers, bath showers, roll top baths and larger baths with shower attachments. I believe your bath was the latter, however, if you do choose to stay with us again in the future, you can request a bathroom with a walk in or bath shower & screen, and we will do our upmost to accommodate you.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

on a last minute whim, we decided to take a road trip and drive up north to see the area. We got a deal on Laterooms.com and only paid 60 Pounds for a room, which was an incredibly deal. From the moment we checked in, the staff was overly nice and friendly, and even gave us recommendations on where to hike our dogs in the area and places nearby to eat (and pet friendly hotels are hard to come by these days). The hotel is decorated with modern flairs while still keeping its historical essence. Despite rainy weather, we took the recommended walk just nearby and saw the most amazing picturesque trails that would make any professional photographer want to whip our their camera. The best part of the experience was undoubtedly the food. Being from California and having dined at many nice restaurants in Beverly Hills, I can say that if this chef had a restaurant there, it would be a 3 hour wait to get a table. Our meal was impeccably prepared, locally sourced and each bite was just another "You have to try this" moment. Things like local venison, haddock lasagne, beef terrine, all make for a happy belly on a cold and rainy night. And the chef even brought a complimentary amuse bouche that we could have eaten dozens of. The rooms are smartly decorated, and the bed was so comfy we didnt want to get out of it. Breakfast was included and was again amazing, and so much food that you should definitely take a local hike before each meal there. I've read other reviews on here, many complaining that the rooms are old or that there isn't a lift, and I can understand. But after all, the hotel is 100 years old. And if someone thinks it's overpriced, then no one is holding a gun to your head to pay for it. Even despite having a view of the parking lot, we could not have asked for better value for money. It was the utmost and friendliest service, the decor of a trendy London boutique hotel, and the food of a chef who truly cares about his craft. I never even write reviews on here, but the Maynard deserves one from us. Take 3-4 hours, drive up from London, escape the noise and traffic, and take a walk on the pristine trails before treating yourself to a meal at the Maynard and a room upstairs. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_K83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for your incredibly positive review of The Maynard. We are glad you had such a nice escape from the London life, and enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We chose the Maynard for its location and what we gleaned from Trip Advisor reviews. Hence to avoid a view of the car park we paid extra for the 'suite' - and the view is excellent. However, for a place that has undergone radical interior design it is a bit of a dichotomy. With no lift we had four flights of 'Bayswater stairs' (old building with carpeted stairs that creak and retain odours of cooking redolent of the plethora of London economy hotels). This was problematic for one using a walking stick. While the suite was designed to be lavish – freestanding bath as well as a shower in separate rooms, the toilet is wedged behind the door and the toilet roll holder fell off – it is fashion without great taste or style. Nevertheless, the staff were all great and the dinners were well considered and well cooked and they make a good Kir.

Room Tip: With no lift, those with mobility problems should consult with the staff in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GridSystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We alway appreciate feedback on Tripadvisor and review all comments made.

Due to the age of the building we unfortunately do not have the facilities to accommodate a lift. We do have rooms on the first floor with the same stunning views, so should you decide to return to the Maynard we would be more than happy to accommodate you in one of these rooms. With regards to the decor our designers have tried to modernise the building without losing its authenticity and your comments are appreciated.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, all our produce is locally sourced and we pride ourselves on the standard of service we provide.

Kind Regards
Hugh Skelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Maynard for a one night short break in the Peak District. Our stay was enjoyable, but I don't think that in any way it justified the money we spent.

It is well located with Bakewell a short drive away and the Padley Gorge offering a lovely walk just across the road.

We stayed in a superior double room which for the cost of £115 promised lovely views and a super king size bed. The views were indeed lovely, but the super king size bed turned out to be two twin beds pushed together with double bedding. I wouldn't mind so much, but after seeing other reviews on trip advisor commenting on this problem, I made a point of asking the receptionist to confirm we would have a double bed and not two singles when I called to book and she confirmed it would be a double. Had she said it would be two singles, I would not have booked the hotel at this price.

The breakfast was nice and the staff were all pleasant, the bath was also huge, which was very nice. The tea tray was more than adequate, offering bottles of still water, a coffee percolator and
magazines, as well as the usual items.

The wallpaper isn't to my taste, although this is subjective, but the decor in the bathrooms could definitely do with updating. The bathroom also smelled a little funny, as if the drains were not working properly.

Whilst there, we were advised to visit the Fox House (40 mins walk/five mins drive) for lunch, we did this and were so impressed that we went back for dinner, having since realised they offer accommodation also at half the price, we would look to stay there instead in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QPR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We take feedback on Tripadvisor seriously.

We're glad to hear you found our team pleasent and Breakfast enjoyable.

After speaking to the person you spoke to when you queried the room specification, I believe she misunderstood you and thought you meant would be a double room or twin room. Please accept my apologies for the miscommunication.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

From the start the staff were friendly, helpful, attentive but not stifling. We were upgraded to a suite due to a double booking free of charge. The room felt cosy but with plenty of space and was nicely fitted out looking very up-market. The tea and coffee making facilities consisted of real coffee and percolator and full size kettle, bottled water and tasty biscuits.

The breakfast included in the room was amazing, the cooked breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled egg and continental breakfasts were all perfect and a decent size, even if you are planning for a long walk over the peaks, which are just down the road. On our last day the waitress even kept our pastries hot for us until we turned up as we were the only people there.

The evening meals were just as good and excellent value for money. The bar is welcoming and comfortable and the restaurant feels posh. The lounge is also very sophisticated in feel.

The location couldn't have been better, white and dark peaks, Hathersage, Eyam, Blue John mine and Chatsworth all virtually on the doorstep.

The girl on the bar chatted to us one night and informed us that the main money is made through weddings which explains the lovely feel, decor and food yet few rooms (about 12) and good price.

We had a fantastic time and will be recommending it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samiraktaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your brilliant review! It's great to know you had such an enjoyable time with us and thank you for recommending us.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best wishes

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just got back from two nights stay at the Maynard. Most impressed by the staff who all were very helpful and you felt that they did take an interest in you personally. The room was large with a tray of coffee tea and even mineral water was free which makes a change. Towels in Bathroom soft and fluffy which was a nice surprise as have stayed in 5* hotels with thread bare ones.Restaurant could do with a review of main courses, I had the lamb rump which was lovely but certainly not medium and why lettuce leaves on the plate? Would certainly recommend the poached mackerel in Umami broth which was a great dish. The hotel is a bit tired round the edges but makes up for it with an eclectic mix of furniture in the lounge and great staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyk511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDuffy1, General Manager at The Maynard, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for a great review of our Hotel and your praise to our team. We all keep a close eye on Trip Advisor to find out what our guests really think, and so comments such as yours are most welcome.

We hope to see you soon.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grindleford
6.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
18.3 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
7.8 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maynard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maynard

Address: Main Road, Grindleford, Peak District National Park S32 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Grindleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grindleford
Price Range: $110 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maynard 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peak District hotel and restaurant, The Maynard, was refurbished in March 2008 to become one of the best independent hotels in the Peak District. The building dates back over 100 years and during the refurbishment we have tried to respect this heritage whilst at the same time bringing the accommodation up to 21st century contemporary standards. The Peak District views from the garden, restaurant and bedrooms are stunning, and may leave you wondering if you’re miles from civilisation. Fortunately, as well as benefiting from a beautiful and tranquil location, The Maynard is very well located for visitor's from the outside world; The Maynard is less than 15 minutes from Sheffield by train (you can hop off at Grindleford station a couple of hundred yards from our door), and within easy reach of the M1, A57 Snake Pass and A61 by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Maynard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Maynard Hotel Grindleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing