We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pottery House Loch Ness B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dores B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Fabulous luxurious B&B! Room was spacious, large en-suite with a HUGE comfy bed! Great views over the loch & wildlife at breakfast. The whole place was very clean and good quality, we couldn't fault a thing! Great breakfast & a lovely surprise having fresh baked cupcakes in the room on arrival. John & Glen are great hosts & spent their time helping us plan local walks- they even provided maps! Also had a lovely meal at the Dores inn which was only 5 mins walk away. Fab place, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 728 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

I'm a bit late with this one John and Glenn! This place is so amazing I don't even know where to begin. Email communication was excellent according to my partner. We arrived late but John was good enough to stay up to greet us. Our room was just... wow. Free internet a plus. A lovely view, the most comfortable bed and big fluffy pillows. The decor was lovely and the place so clean, you could eat your dinner off any surface in the big, spacious bathroom. There were 2 lovely cupcakes left by our bed - I have never come across anything like it! And a mini fridge too which was also a welcome addition as I hate those little cartons of UHT milk. There were lots of wonderful teas to choose from in the bedroom as well as shortcake biscuits and sweets! Lovely white fluffy towels and dressing gowns also, and a nice, quiet, deep nights sleep was had. The attention to detail is really something else.

Pop outside onto the road for a walk along the tranquil Loch Ness or have a walk around the garden and smell the herbs, meet the fish in the pond or the friendly chickens which lay your eggs for breakfast!

Speaking of which, we had our breakfast while watching the birds outside feed and Glenn who was a superb morning host, had lots to tell us about the local wildlife. I bought a pot of homemade jam which my parents loved back home by the way. I've also never seen such a varied menu for a B&B, it was like being in a hotel - in fact - I've often stayed in hotels with less choice!

Not being a fry lover I ordered the pancakes which were absolutely divine and much to Glenn's amusement - a side order of haggis (well, when in Rome...!) which was also lovely. I am now a convert!

We absolutely can not wait to come back and we have told all our friends in Ireland about you - we hope you will have us back some day - you should be very proud guys!! We're only sorry we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank opticalillusion69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very nice stay, everything was great ! Excellent bed, quiet place, very good breakfast !
Very easy to book and pay, via paypal.
Wish we had stay longer, but our next B&B was already paid.....
Warmly recommanded !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at the idyllic Pottery House near Loch Ness.
What can we say? Everything was wonderful-the room was superb, five star standard, spotlessly clean with everything you could think of.
The breakfast was amazing with a different choice every day, but you can opt for traditional if thats what you want.
John and Glen have got it just right and we would certainly return and recommend Pottery House without hesitation. Thank-you so much!!

Room Tip: All beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Glenn and John are great, friendly and keep a clean well decorated b & b. the breakfast was great too! All the fixtures are clearly of a very good quality and it was the biggest and most comfortable bed we have stayed in after 5 weeks travelling around Europe! Thanks Guys!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaw1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had fantastic 2 night stay mid September, Great Location, Accommodation was definitely 5 star. Homemade cupcakes on arrival, fluffy bath robes, fluffy towels, bed was so comfortable.
The Breakfast was amazing, different home made bread rolls each morning. Wish we had stayed longer.
John & Glen were lovely hosts.
Couldn't fault the place.

Susan & Noel (Morpeth)

Room Tip: Fantastic views over the loch if you book front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanBlockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our 1-night stay in mid September was most enjoyable. Good location, really comfortable room and the most comprehensive visitors guide we encountered during our holiday. Everything about Pottery House shouted 'Quality', from the bathrobes, the fluffy towels, the beds and the visitors' web-access computer, the garden was also breathtaking. Breakfast completed our overall impression of superb service

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael_SY4347GE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dores
20.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,237 reviews
5.7 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
7.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
428 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pottery House Loch Ness B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pottery House Loch Ness B&B

Address: Pottery House Loch Ness, Dores IV2 6TR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Dores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dores
Price Range: $108 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pottery House is a modern, friendly and comfortable B&B overlooking Loch Ness. Our rural location is on the edge of the village of Dores and yet Inverness and many Highland tourist spots are within easy reach. Our rooms are large, our en-suites luxurious and our breakfasts extensive and include freshly baked home made rolls, and preserves. Plus one of the top rated Highland restaurants, The Dores Inn, is just a 5 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pottery House Loch Ness B&B Dores, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing