We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pottery House Loch Ness B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dores B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Pottery House for 2, nights as part of a tour of Scotland. It's a great B&B in a wonderful location. We stayed in the front double room which was spacious and the bathroom was a great size with a huge shower. The welcome cupcakes were a nice touch, as were the filtered water and fresh milk in the fridge. Breakfast was great, a good choice which changed each day, homemade rolls and a variety of cereals, fruit and homemade jams, lovely. Plenty of information in the room about things to do in the area and further afield, very useful. It's good to have such a great pub/restaurant within walking distance, The Dores Inn, we had a wonderful meal there, well worth booking. Great hosts and a fantastic stay, Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elljay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 733 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

John and Glen are great hosts. The breakfast was awesome, so much great food. Having the Dores Inn that close was very nice, their food was also awesome. Make sure to have the boys make you a reservation. We were there during the week and it was packed, good thing we had reservations.
The room we had was very clean and had all you need. The refrigerator in the closet with some snacks was a nice touch. Very nice bathroom . We give this B&B a 5 star plus.
Ed & Janice Gambone
Valrico Flordia
May 14 & 15 , 2013

Room Tip: Book early to get the double room over looking Loch Ness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shark769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited Loch Ness few weeks ago, we stayed at the Pottery House in Dores.
The house was second to none, perfect location, awesome rooms, wonderful home cooked breakfast, the facilities and space anyone could wish for and wonderful hosts to bring it all together into a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable stay.
John & Glen are very knowledgeable of all the area, we followed every advice given to us by them and we visited some of the most beautiful sites in the Highlands.
We couldn't recommend this more highly.

Thank you John & Glen,

Tom & Monica

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our favorite place out of the 4 B&Bs we stayed at during our Scotland trip. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. The service was 5 star (6 if it went that high). They had delicious cup-cakes in our room as a welcome gift. The room was spotless and very comfortable with a great view of the loch. Water was hot and plenty of pressure, radiators were warm on command.

Breakfast was delicious with fresh eggs from their own chickens. All in all, the best experience we had in Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Imagine, after a long day driving and sightseeing to drive up the hill to a very welcoming greeting by John. It was cold and wet and we were taken to our spacious and warm rooms to enjoy afternoon tea. Just wonderful. The new beds were so comfortable and the breakfast was fresh with home made breads and jams and all the other trimmings. Just idyllic with the best if Scottish hospitality. Beautiful gardens in full bloom and woods where we could see the deer topped it all off. Thanks for such a wonderful stay for our second visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is my pleasure to write about our enjoyable stay at Pottery House. Glen and John were gracious and welcoming hosts to my wife and and to me. The accommodations were all that we had hoped for and more. The house and grounds were beautiful. Their recommendations for lunch and dinner were equally enjoyable.

We enjoyed the delicious breakfast and conversation with our hosts and the other guests. I particularly liked being able to see local birds I would otherwise not have seen, right outside the dinning room window. The grounds were beautiful including the chickens who provided us with fresh eggs for breakfast.

The awards that Pottery House displays are well deserved. It was well worth the trip from Virginia, USA to Inverness and we highly recommend Pottery House for your next vacation. It was a memorable way to start our tour of Scotland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RR350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I had stayed in a few places in Scotland before we arrivec at the Pottery House. We found a quaint bed and breakfast run by two great people. The room was clean, big, bright and comfortable. Th e breakfast was cooked with fresh ingrediants, including eggs from the chickens in the back yard. This is a place we wilk definitely be back to.
John and Glen thought of everything, including the cupcakes as a special treat after supper.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fionamcn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dores
20.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,252 reviews
2.4 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
791 reviews
23.6 mi away
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
Serendipity Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Glenmoriston
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge
Loch Ness Lodge
#1 of 4 in Abriachan
272 reviews
2 mi away
Antfield House
Antfield House
#3 of 5 in Dores
112 reviews
20.9 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 27 in Fort Augustus
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pottery House Loch Ness B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pottery House Loch Ness B&B

Address: Pottery House Loch Ness, Dores IV2 6TR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Dores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dores
Price Range: $112 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pottery House is a modern, friendly and comfortable B&B overlooking Loch Ness. Our rural location is on the edge of the village of Dores and yet Inverness and many Highland tourist spots are within easy reach. Our rooms are large, our en-suites luxurious and our breakfasts extensive and include freshly baked home made rolls, and preserves. Plus one of the top rated Highland restaurants, The Dores Inn, is just a 5 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pottery House Loch Ness B&B Dores, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing