We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic few days in beautiful Loch Ness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Ness Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Ness Log Cabins
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic few days in beautiful Loch Ness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family which included my husband, 7 year old daughter and mother enjoyed a great few days in a log cabin in April 2013. The cabins were totally as described with every amenity you would need for this type of stay. We particularly loved the log burner which we sat around during the cold nights. A really nice touch with plenty of wood supplied by the owners. The Cabins are in a great position on the south side of the lake in the lovely village of Dores which we preferred away from all the tourist areas. However, ideally suited so you can drop into Inverness if required. My daughter loved the owners two dogs, which she still mentions now. We all have such fond memories of this trip to Scotland. Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeysuckle1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

we stayed in January for a week as we wanted a winter break. we were looking for somewhere quiet with the wildlife on the doorstep and a log burner, i'm pleased to say we got all three! there were red squirells and deer yards from the cabin on a daily basis. It was a great location for walking and for some stunning scenary. The cabin was clean and everything we needed for a self catering week was there. When we stayed the owner did what he could to keep the dog away,in fact he only came round the cabins once, not that we minded because he was lovley and enjoyed the fuss we gave him. we had a complimenatry bottle of wine on arrival and a few buckets of logs. the only negative thing about this trip was the long drive back home! I would recommend this log cabin to anyone and we will return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Went for a week's break to Inverness in July 2013 and stayed in one of the Loch Ness Cabins just outside Dores. Cabin was in perfect condition when we arrived and was clean and tidy. Was set in a wonderful area, very secluded but not too far away from amenities. We went with a 14 month old who had a great time crawling around the cabin and the decking.
It had everything we needed for a great self-catering holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Vincenzo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a wonderful time and we were very happy there. The log cabin was lovely, clean and had a good atmosphere, everything was working fine. The setting was amazing. I am sure we will go back and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Oppily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

spent a week in the cabin beginning of march. i wont go into great detail, but let me tell you we had the most awesome stay in this wonderfully situated and beautiful log cabin. iain and candy have left a folder full of suggestions on how best to keep the cabin during your stay [esp during winter this is essential as it gets very cold and it was thus during our stay with a couple of fair snow falls] and also suggestions and recommendations on things to do around the cabin and along and around the loch. the cabin was clean, bedding clean and comfortable with extra bits in store room. superb log fire with plenty of wood for burning and was just enough for our weeks stay with more being available from the farm/owners. sofas comfy, lighting nice, plenty of space for everything. there are lots of kitchen essentials; cooker, fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster, pans etc. the electric meter seemed fair and didnt eat too much; i think we spent around £15-£20 for the entire week. we visited lots of amazing places from the very beginning of our trip all of which can be read on our little review page in the comms folder at the cabin, but some of our favourite moments were the drive up from glasgow along the banks of loch lomond, the devils staircase along the west highland way where we built a little snowman right at the top just off the pathway, ben nevis [only from bottom/visitor centre]. we visited ancient sites; torbreck stone circle [a must and only a couple of miles from the cabin, heading toward inverness], druidtemple and the fairy glen. we walked the south loch ness trail along to foyer falls through boleskine and many other places. also, food is great down at the dores inn. all i can say is you have to, you must visit this area and these log cabins are the most perfect place to stay. thank you iain and candy! [oops, ticked the swimming pool box by mistake]

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

When we walked into the cabin we were welcomed by a wonderful wood burner and a bottle of wine. There were baskets of logs for us to use and you could have more for a very small fee. We were not disturbed by any one it was lovely and quiet but you had lots of wild life because the cabin is set in the woods. I would definitely go back and would recommend to anyone to go in fact we have some friends who have booked on our recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have just recently stayed in one of the log cabins and was more than pleasantly surprised by the standard of quality in the cabin. It was very well equipped with everything you would require on a self catering holiday and the location is superb. It is clean, tidy and the owner very attentive without being intrusive. Although there are three cabins, you still feel as if you are alone in the woods. Was surprised to see a Roe deer about 10ft from the door on my last day, shame my camera was too far away from me to take a photograph. What i liked was the fact that you could have complete solitude but still be only 15 mins from the real world. Would most definately recommend the Log Cabins to anyone wanting quality and solitude which is also within easy reach civilisation, but why would you want to be near civilisation when you choose a tranquil holiday. Overall i would give the Log Cabin 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dores
0.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
5.8 mi away
Lodges on Loch Ness
Lodges on Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Foyers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spring burn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Morlea B&B
Morlea B&B
#5 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Log Cabins

Property: Loch Ness Log Cabins
Address: Drummond Farm | Dores, Dores, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Dores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dores
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three 2-bedroom Log cabins in a secluded location high above Loch Ness. The surroundings are woodland, pine and native broadleaves, and wildlife abounds. Deer and red squirrels are frequently seen, and pine martens and badgers have been known to come right onto the cabin porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Log Cabins Dores, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing