We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“they are great”
Review of Celtic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

we came in a small plane late in evening, they picked us up at airport (no taxis in Foxton) , sred a beer with us, took us back next day

the unit was super clean and obviously prepared with care

professional, friendly, helpful and they went the extra mile to help us

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for the review.
Look forward to seeing you when you next fly into Fabulous Foxton!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 113 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Travel to NZ and foxton for family reasons a couple of time a year and always stay at Celtic. Lesley and Paul cannot do enough for you. Amenities are great and rooms are fantastic. I am little paranoid about cleaniness and in most motels I stay at I am never 100% satified. Celtic is the exception it is spotless and has a lovely feel about it. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: You will have no problems with any room you choose. Unit 1 is good for couples - large and with a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John and Tracey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
Always a pleasure when you guys stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

In Foxton for business, and it was a pleasure to get to the Celtic and it's friendly hosts, Paul and Lesley. The rooms were spotless, the hairdryer was brilliant, and the coffee plunger was a bonus! Paul had put the heater on before I arrived, so the room was cosy and warm, and the continental breakfast was brought to the room the night before so no waiting in the morning. All in all a perfect stay, as always. This hotel is easy to recommend - if you're in Foxton, stay here!

Room Tip: All good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Thanks to a problem with our sat nav, it took us a while to find this motel, as it is situated down a quiet street off the highway, with the town centre on the western, opposite side. This quiet location is one of the best features of the Celtic Motel; there was little, if any, traffic noise, and it had an almost rural quietness.
The unit we had was a large studio, with a queen and two single beds. A semi wall separated the two sleeping areas. There was a small kitchenette and a good sized bathroom. Very clean and comfortable, with good provision of those handy extras ; iron and ironing board, hair drier, a good heater, plunger coffee and a few complimentary biscuits. Our host was very welcoming and gave us a quick tour through the unit, explaining things like how to use the TV and heater etc. He also gave us advise on local places to eat; in short, nothing wrong with this well maintained, tidy motel.
The difficulty with staying in Foxton is a severe shortage of suitable dining options. It turned out that there were no restaurants or cafes in town, and only a few takeaway places open. Deciding to eat after 7.30pm may have meant even fewer options, as, after a drive through town (Friday night) we only found one place open; a Chinese takeaway. The meal we got there was very forgettable .... a good thing neither of us were too hungry! Staff at the local New World were friendly , but I also noted that they shut at 8pm, an hour earlier than in most centres.
We ordered a continental breakfast at the motel. For the $13 we paid, there was ample food, and I was grateful for the yoghurt that was included when I asked for some, at no extra cost.
If I had to stay in Foxton again, I would be happy to return to the Celtic Motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Kiwi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your feed back.
With reference to the limited evening dining options in Foxton:
Just to clarify Foxton has two evening dining options unfortunately at the time of your visit both were closed.
One of these has new owners and they are in the middle of an upgrade.
As i undersatnd it this will open November 1st 2013.
The other option the lease is up for sale so will be closed until new tenants can be found.
(So anyone out there who is looking for a life style change an opportunity exist on SH1 in Foxton.)
One other option for evening dining is Simply Balmy at Foxton Beach some 8km from the motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Found by chance, and what a good find. You will not be disappointed.It would have been a good 30 years ago since I have stayed in a motel as this one. Excellent parking, quiet, friendly couple,spotless, spacious, and very warm, very accommodating. Was a nice suprise to find this and we will definitly stay there again, and let others know about it.

Room Tip: you will not be disappointed .no tips needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20frangipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Apologies, i have missed answering your review.
Many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We would recommend Celtic Motel to anyone requiring a motel in the Foxton area.
The unit was spacious, very clean and very very quiet. Everything that we require in a motel.
Paul and Lesley are the perfect hosts and very willing to help with anything they can.
We had arrived with a frozen quiche and they had it heated and delivered back to our
motel. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irelandnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We thank you for your kind comments.
Your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I booked this as a stopover on our way to Wellington as we prefer rural locations in NZ. What a great surprise ... not what we expected of a motel Nice location away from the busy SH1 but easy to get to ... very good size rooms and well equipped ... very clean and comfortable.

The room that we were given had a large double bed and a sofa that converted to another double ... loads of room in the unit. They also had family rooms with a double bed and two screened off singles that would be ideal for a family.

The owners were really great and very helpful. It is well worth booking breakfast which they will deliver to your room at the selected time. It was delivered on time and was freshly cooked.

Foxton is a quiet town and has limited dining options. Be aware that people eat early and restaurants get fully booked and sometimes don't open every night. We were there on a Saturday night and went out to eat at 6.30pm ... we ended up having fish and chip takeaway. However, the fish and chips were very nice but the fish portion was not large ... I would order two fish portions next time with my chips.

Don't miss going to Foxton Beach ... beautiful flat sand ... but it is brown not the usual golden colour. The surf looked fairly safe when we were there but there were life-guards on duty and they had a sectioned off swimming area, so care clearly was needed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Celtic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Motel

Address: 29 Purcell Street | Foxton, Foxton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Foxton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foxton
Price Range: $90 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Celtic Motel - a quiet, comfortable gem to be found in the sunny Horowhenua township of Foxton - where friendly hospitality is guaranteed. Located on the beautiful lower west coast of the North Island 10 minutes from Foxton Beach and 12 minutes north of Levin, the Celtic Motel is the ideal place to stay for interisland ferry stopovers. Our price range starts $135.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing